We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy Room at the Gateway to Yellowstone”
Review of Stage Coach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Stage Coach Inn
Ranked #30 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Cozy Room at the Gateway to Yellowstone”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I had the pleasure of staying for 2 nights at Stage Coach in mid-spring. The inn is located in the center of West Yellowstone with convenient shopping and dining within walking distance. The staff was helpful in giving directions to the park and gave a cheery greeting whenever I walked into the hotel.

Complimentary breakfast was decent but nothing outstanding. The lobby decor was a taxidermist's delight with a sort of old-fashioned feel to it. The pool was closed for renovations, but to be honest does anyone really go to Yellowstone for the hotel's swimming pool?

As for the room, it had all the amenities you would need for a visit to the national park. I stayed in the standard room, but there were also larger suites available for those who need it. The room was cleaned every day and there was plenty of hot water for the shower.

Nice place!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for your review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. We appreciate your comments about the Location, the Friendly and Helpful Staff, and the Expanded Continental Breakfast. We are eagerly awaiting our final inspection from the State of Montana to open our new pool and fitness center. It was also nice to read your comments about the Historic Room and the Shower. Thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    162
    120
    71
    75
See reviews for
150
251
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pleasanton, California
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The size of the room is great for a family of four (two adults/two teens). As people have mentioned, the wi-fi in the room is pretty much non-existent. Works good in the lobby. The breakfast is nice with waffles, cereal, pastries, fruit and juices. Food is put away immediately at closing time so don't be late. Some laundry facilities are available but only 2 units for the entire hotel. Parking is good and it's within walking distance to everything. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4BandE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. We appreciate your comments about the Size of the Guestroom, the Expanded Continental Breakfast, and the Location. Thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, Kansas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

My family and I recently booked a Yellowstone and Grand Teton trip that included a one-night stay in West Yellowstone. I booked at the Stage Coach Inn for one room at $300. As soon as we pulled up to the hotel, I knew it was a mistake. The lobby was outdated and very musty and moldy smelling. The staff at the front desk doesn't care about the guests - very robotic, no smiles! Wi-Fi does not work in the rooms - you have to go out to the lobby to get a signal. The rooms and bathroom are old and on the same level as a Super 8 or Motel 6 BUT you still pay $300/night. The on-line pictures are misleading. For Yellowstone guests, try Cody or Jackson or ANY OTHER hotel in West Yellowstone unless you want to pay $300 for a terrible experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WadeK2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. We apologize that you were so disappointed in your stay. However, we disagree that the pictures on-line are misleading since they are the actual rooms we are selling everyday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these West Yellowstone hotels

Brunswick, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

If you go here for wifi or pool, my review is NOT for you. Room was basic but decent, actually good considering the other options in the area (area not the same as other places) and right in the heart of town, so you can walk to dinner. The free breakfast had cereal, yogurt, and muffins/bagels what more do you need for free, right. They had neat stuffed animals in the lobby which was cool for the kids. Free parking in back of the hotel was safe and lit at night. The desk staff was at check-in was friendly and they resolved an initial problem with my room key quickly. If you are looking for a 1-2 night stay that is close to the park in West Yellowstone where most of your time is spent in the park this is your kind of place. If you are looking for a week long vacation or resort type stay....you might want to keep looking.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for the review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. We appreciate your comments about the Guestroom, the Expanded Continental Breakfast, the Lobby Décor, and the Friendliness of the Front Desk Staff. Thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2014

They advertise Wireless in the rooms, which does not work. They rooms are not clean. The staff at the front desk does not speak fluent english, the room rates are extremely expensive and worst of all the management is rude and completely unresponsive to simple requests!

Room Tip: Pick another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat1950535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. I am sorry that we did not exceed your expectations for this stay. Your simple request to return items you left in the room at the Hotel's expense or suffer a negative review is now complete. Thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germantown, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I stayed there after finding it as a last-minute booking on Expedia. I see now that the hotel is probably in on it with Expedia and the ad and reviews on that site are far from reality.

The rooms are pretty good BUT they are falsely advertising they have wifi in rooms and actually don't. Even in the lobby, the wifi is generally bad. They are either getting ripped off by their IT company or not giving a s*** (probably both). Something I really didn't like was one of the owners (I guess that's what he is since he's at the counter 3/4 of the day) LIED to me by pretending that many customers could access the wifi without issue, when actually everyone is massed in the lobby trying to get a signal.

Which brings me to the fact that employees and owners do not care at all. They are very unhelpful when told about your issues with the hotel and grossly disregarding customers. I wish I had seen all the others reviews here that say the same thing earlier!

They are also supposed to have a laundry room. I tried to use it, but they have only 2 machines for the whole hotel! Of course they are always full. And they close the laundry room at 10pm. Not convenient when many people come back late from a day of visiting the area. When made aware of the issue, the ppl at the counter still did nothing, although they could have let me use the hotel laundry room used for linens, which has many machines and was empty at the time.

The only good things were the TV, flat screen, the double windows and fridge. The hotel is also pretty clean. The shower was however terrible (bad old unadjustable shower head), which I don't get since the room was the deluxe one. I cannot imagine what the shower could be in the old rooms...

So in short, stay someplace else! If you're going to have no help from hotel staff, and half the amenities are unusable.... why pay that much? Go to a motel nearby instead. Even in summer one or two in that town usually have last-minute vacancies. Don't give money to those uncaring owners!

Room Tip: Unhelpful staff, amenities don't work, no wifi, bad value for the money, stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your review of the Stage Coach In from your recent stay. We appreciate your comments although I have to say that we disagree with your claim of false advertising. Thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagan, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed here for three days at the peak of tourist season. The good news is the room was decent, the beds were comfortable, and the location was great. The bad news is the pool was closed, the wifi didn't work at all, the breakfast had exactly zero items available for low carb diets, and we only managed to coax one smile out of one staff member the whole time we were there. The room was twice the price we paid for comparable rooms in other locations on the same vacation. We were very disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for the review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. We were pleased with your comments about the Guestroom, the Bedding, and the Location. I am sorry that our pool is not open yet - until we receive our approval from the State of Montana - and the problems you had with the WiFI. Thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.3 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
576 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
760 reviews
0.5 mi away
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
#12 of 39 in West Yellowstone
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#16 of 39 in West Yellowstone
348 reviews
0.2 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#9 of 39 in West Yellowstone
728 reviews
0.3 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stage Coach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stage Coach Inn

Property: Stage Coach Inn
Address: 209 Madison Ave, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9512
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stage Coach Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stage Coach Inn is a landmark hotel in West Yellowstone, Montana, originally built in 1948 to meet the needs of travelers and visitors flocking to the Park in their automobiles. Over the years the hotel has seen many changes and acquired a colorful repetoire of stories and myths - ranging from bullet-holes, billiards, secret gambling rooms, and even ghosts - but the one constant has been to provide superior accommodations and service to Yellowstone National Park visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stage Coach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stage Coach Hotel West Yellowstone
Stage Coach West Yellowstone
Stage Coach Inn West Yellowstone, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing