We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay; handicap accessible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We stayed here for 7 nights. My wife is handicapped and we were in the handicap accessible room. The room worked well for her. The bathroom was very accessible and she had no problems. There were two beds in the room which we liked but it was a little small. It would have been nice to have a desk but there was just no room for it. It was great to have the refrigerator and microwave and we were able to make lunches every day to take with us. We also had our dinner there as well sometimes which helped with the budget. The staff was friendly and helpful. We liked the underground parking. Now for the down side which has been mentioned by numerous others. The breakfast: you had to get there early or all the food would be gone. The people who were there on the tour buses had to leave at 8 so they were up early and got first picks. (I got there early and took the food back to our room) The pancake machine is a good idea but often it wasn't working . Before we left they got another machine so hopefully this will alleviate some of the problems. Also they need more help during the breakfast time. A single employee was running around trying to keep up but he couldn't be everywhere at once. i felt sorry for him. The WiFi signal was weak; it wouldn't work in our room and I had to go out to the breakfast room to get enough signal. Even there it was so slow I gave up. These problems have been mentioned by many others and they still haven't been fixed. Overall though the price was reasonable (for this area), it is convenient and close to Yellowstone west entrance. In spite of its downsides we really enjoyed our stay hence I rated it very good. If the problems were fixed I would have rated it excellent. No fitness center or restaurant.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (805)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

558 - 564 of 805 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2013

Our family booked two rooms for three nights while vacationing at Yellowstone National Park. The rooms were large (King bed with a sofa each), clean, and had a small refrigerator and microwave oven. We had plenty of room to stretch out and watch TV or use WIFI with our laptop. The largest downside was the advertised free deluxe continental breakfast. On 2 days, the pancake makers were not functioning and they ran out of muffins and bagels by 7:00 (just toast and cereal left).

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Mason883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013 via mobile

Motel is nice. Everything is within walking distance. Staff was friendly. Only down side was the breakfast selection progressively got less each morning. Hot tub was nice not too hot. Pool was very cold.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2foxs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights during our trip to Yellowstone. The accommodations were average. We felt the price was reasonable. The room was clean and spacious. The location was nice, right across from the discovery center. We could technically walk to town, it is only a few blocks away. The main issue we had with the hotel, was that the bathtub had a draining problem. We reported it to the front desk, and it was never taken care of.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liv2trl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights while on our Yellowstone vacation. The hotel location is 14 miles from the west gate. There are a few restruants next door. The IMAX, bear, and wolf center is next door. Rooms are clean and modern. The staff upgraded us due to crowding and we booked early.

Stayed: May 2013
1  Thank howelldw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

The people at check inn and out were very friendly and helpful. Very good value in early May. Rooms are very well furnished although I found the remote of the Vizio TV very hard to operate. The hotel has underground parking if you need it, plus a jacuzzi which I didn't use

Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
Thank travlinman1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

You will be charged first night as deposit. Well I needed four rooms for one evening. So I assume I will be charged one room for one night to reserve the entire order. Wrong. I was charged full price for all rooms, now charged interest and have to collect money from others for 3 rooms. What a pain! I saw a 2bd suite that would be cheaper than 2 rooms. So reserved 2bd and canceled 2 rooms. Cancelation became a disaster! 2 rooms $360.80 vs 2bd Suite $327.91, credit of $32.89. Still waiting on the credit.... Reservations denied any problems, wouldn't allow me to talk with manager. So I called to cancel entire order, they don't care their lose of $721.60. Hope White Buffalo was a good choice....review will be available in July.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Judylyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicia O, Director of Sales at Gray Wolf Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

Judy, thank you very much for taking my telephone call a few minutes ago. We sincerely apologize for the frustration with our reservation deposit policy. We also should have offered you our two-room suites, as you required four rooms. We wish you and your group the most wonderful vacation to Yellowstone National Park this summer. We would love the opportunity to earn back your business on a future trip. Best, Alicia Thompson (Regional Director of Sales & Marketing)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.1 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
744 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
613 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#3 of 39 in West Yellowstone
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Desert Inn
Best Western Desert Inn
#6 of 39 in West Yellowstone
778 reviews
0.4 mi away
Stage Coach Inn
Stage Coach Inn
#29 of 39 in West Yellowstone
574 reviews
0.3 mi away
Three Bear Lodge
Three Bear Lodge
#9 of 39 in West Yellowstone
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gray Wolf Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gray Wolf Inn and Suites

Address: 250 South Canyon Street, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in West Yellowstone
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in West Yellowstone
#7 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range: £70 - £276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Gray Wolf Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just blocks from Yellowstone National Park's West Entrance, we are a modern, amenity-rich "base camp" from which to explore Yellowstone National Park. Amenities include a free, limited continental breakfast, underground parking, suites, indoor pool, hot tub, in room microwaves, mini fridges, coffee makers and free WiFi. Open year-round. New to Gray Wolf Inn and Suites, is a complimentary electric charging station! It is located in our underground parking, and features two (2) Tesla vehicle charging units, and one (1) for other standardized electric vehicles such as a Chevy Volt, Nissan Leaf, or Toyota Prius. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gray Wolf Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gray Wolf Hotel West Yellowstone
Gray Wolf West Yellowstone
Gray Wolf Inn And Suites West Yellowstone, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing