We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible. Run, don't walk, r away!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 14 July 2013

My wife and I found this hotel online. It looked good on the Internet, but when we arrived in person a completely different story. We got to our room after having to park underground. Immediately my son who's 12, says what a dump! He was to sleep on the fold out bed/couch. The couch had numerous stains on it. He said " I'll just sleep on the coffee table." The carpet had as many stains along with the main bed comforter. Next, the toilet didn't work. This was the kicker though. I'm looking around the room a little grossed out myself, really just looking for bed bugs and such when I look at the lampshade. There's something on it. With closer inspection I find it is ladies panties, and no they were not my wife's! Needless to say we had the mgmt come up and remove the panties. He was all gloved up and removed them. In the end we got a refund and moved to a different hotel that was wonderful.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank Katz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Gray Wolf Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Katz,
We are truly sorry to hear that your experience while staying with us was unpleasant. And we want to thank you for taking the time to still review the Gray Wolf Inn & Suites. Your comments have been shared and will be used to improve the level of service and housekeeping for all our future guests. We would love the chance to have you stay with us again and to show you our sincere commitment to change based on guest’s experiences. We hope you travel this way in the near future and consider staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (804)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

552 - 558 of 804 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2013

Newer property. Had just done the sod. Room had 2 queen beds(real queen) and easily room for a third. Breakfast was what you would expect. Great location just about 2 minutes from Yellowstone, and 1 1/2 blocks from downtown. A lot of tour buses.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Gray Wolf Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Greetings Walter, thank you for your review of the Gray Wolf Inn & Suites. We appreciate your choice to stay with us, and for taking the time to share your thoughts. We are glad that you found your room to be spacious. The location is one of our favorite aspects as well, thanks for mentioning it. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Stayed in the Gray wolf inn for five nights, could recommend it to anyone. Rooms are big and well equipt with fridge microwave and coffee maker. Staff are friendly and willing to help. Continental breakfast had a good range of food.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Had a great time here and really enjoyed West Yellowstone as a destination! Nice and clean rooms and lobby area and great staff. The room was adequate for our needs and had been taken care of. The hotel is in a good location in town. Thank you!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We stayed for two nights the end of May. The front desk was friendly. Our first room was located next to the elevator. I also found some hair in the bed so I requested that we be moved to a different room. The move was no problem. In room #2 I found a long black curly hair in the sink. There were also two used towels slung over the suitcase stand in the closet. I did have the manager come look at the room. He apologized profusely. He offered to credit us 50 dollars towards our bill. The credit never materialized since the rooms were booked and paid for prior to our stay. The room size was good. The beds comfortable. The inclusive breakfast was below average. I would definitely not stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank JJacky_1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We stayed here for 7 nights. My wife is handicapped and we were in the handicap accessible room. The room worked well for her. The bathroom was very accessible and she had no problems. There were two beds in the room which we liked but it was a little small. It would have been nice to have a desk but there was just no room for it. It was great to have the refrigerator and microwave and we were able to make lunches every day to take with us. We also had our dinner there as well sometimes which helped with the budget. The staff was friendly and helpful. We liked the underground parking. Now for the down side which has been mentioned by numerous others. The breakfast: you had to get there early or all the food would be gone. The people who were there on the tour buses had to leave at 8 so they were up early and got first picks. (I got there early and took the food back to our room) The pancake machine is a good idea but often it wasn't working . Before we left they got another machine so hopefully this will alleviate some of the problems. Also they need more help during the breakfast time. A single employee was running around trying to keep up but he couldn't be everywhere at once. i felt sorry for him. The WiFi signal was weak; it wouldn't work in our room and I had to go out to the breakfast room to get enough signal. Even there it was so slow I gave up. These problems have been mentioned by many others and they still haven't been fixed. Overall though the price was reasonable (for this area), it is convenient and close to Yellowstone west entrance. In spite of its downsides we really enjoyed our stay hence I rated it very good. If the problems were fixed I would have rated it excellent. No fitness center or restaurant.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Our family booked two rooms for three nights while vacationing at Yellowstone National Park. The rooms were large (King bed with a sofa each), clean, and had a small refrigerator and microwave oven. We had plenty of room to stretch out and watch TV or use WIFI with our laptop. The largest downside was the advertised free deluxe continental breakfast. On 2 days, the pancake makers were not functioning and they ran out of muffins and bagels by 7:00 (just toast and cereal left).

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Mason883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.1 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
743 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
613 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#3 of 39 in West Yellowstone
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Desert Inn
Best Western Desert Inn
#7 of 39 in West Yellowstone
772 reviews
0.4 mi away
Stage Coach Inn
Stage Coach Inn
#29 of 39 in West Yellowstone
573 reviews
0.7 mi away
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
#13 of 39 in West Yellowstone
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gray Wolf Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gray Wolf Inn and Suites

Address: 250 South Canyon Street, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in West Yellowstone
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in West Yellowstone
#7 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range: £65 - £280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Gray Wolf Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just blocks from Yellowstone National Park's West Entrance, we are a modern, amenity-rich "base camp" from which to explore Yellowstone National Park. Amenities include a free, limited continental breakfast, underground parking, suites, indoor pool, hot tub, in room microwaves, mini fridges, coffee makers and free WiFi. Open year-round. New to Gray Wolf Inn and Suites, is a complimentary electric charging station! It is located in our underground parking, and features two (2) Tesla vehicle charging units, and one (1) for other standardized electric vehicles such as a Chevy Volt, Nissan Leaf, or Toyota Prius. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Gray Wolf Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gray Wolf Hotel West Yellowstone
Gray Wolf West Yellowstone
Gray Wolf Inn And Suites West Yellowstone, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing