We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Very nice experience. Clean, comfortable room. Easy check in. Highly recommended. This was our first hotel of our trip, and only stayed one night. Would have stayed longer. This was in walking distance of the Grizzly and Wolf center, and several restaurants.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meredith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Gray Wolf Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Hello, Meredith
Thank you for your recommendation and for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Gray Wolf Inn & Suites. Your thoughts and comments help us know what we are doing right and doing wrong. We are thrilled that to hear that you had a very nice experience overall. We truly hope you come back and visit us again in West Yellowstone!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (790)
There are newer reviews for Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

526 - 532 of 791 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2013

Our room was very clean, bathroom updated and spacious. There were fluffy bathrobes and slippers available. The rates are a little high, but there is not much availability in this area. We would have stayed in one of the new cabins had one been available. Dinner at the nearby Branch restaurant was very good and reasonable

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Jacana54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Gray Wolf Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you for the excellent review, Jacana54! We are glad you found your room to be clean, well presented and that you appreciated the updated bathroom. We would love for you to come back and stay with us again or in the neighboring Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone.
PS- We will gladly pass your compliments on your dinner experience along to the Branch Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

Overall, very good hotel. After staying in a tiny room in Jackson Hole, it was nice to have space. Our room was spacious, clean and a very nice staff. Loved convenience to Yellowstone. Made our decision to go to Yellowstone at the last minute so we were not able to get rooms in the park. After seeing the crowds at the lodges in the parks we were really happy to stay in West Yellowstone. Very nice town. Much calmer than Jackson Hole. Now the down side....tour bus crowds in the dining area for breakfast. BTW. Breakfast was good but you couldn't get to it. We stayed at the Wolf 3 nights. You are paying for the breakfast you should be able to access. On the last morning we gave up and went to the Outpost Restuarant on the Main Street. Very good food, friendly service. Other downside, Internet was not accessible for three days. We chose to stay here because my husband needed Internet to conduct business. That didn't happen. So some things to think about if you have some specific needs.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 823Raerae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Gray Wolf Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Greetings 823Raerae, thank you for your review and for choosing to stay with us at the Gray Wolf Inn & Suites. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your room and that you found our staff to be pleasant. We are currently working to improve guests’ breakfast experience. We will also immediately pass your feedback on the Internet issues along to our tech team for them to make changes. Your thoughts are truly appreciated. We look forward to see you in West Yellowstone again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Our family of 5 stayed in a 2 bedroom suite between Christmas and New Years. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The underground parking is a huge plus in winter. The kitchen facilities were more than adequate. We shopped and stocked the fridge on arrival. We were able to snow mobile for 2 days prior to heading in to Old Faithful Snow Lodge to celebrate New Years. The Xanterra snow coach pick up is right at the Inn. We were able to leave our rental car in the underground parking facility while we were gone and when we arrived back at the inn we were able to come in and use the laundry area to re-pack our gear. I would recommend this place for families traveling yo YNP

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisag921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Gray Wolf Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Thank you for your review, Lisa! Your positive review and pleasant comments are very much appreciated. We are thrilled to hear you had a great family vacation during the holidays in Yellowstone National Park. Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Gray Wolf Inn & Suites. We truly hope you all come stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location- a step away the park and the extremely busy town, but it is below average as far as quality. It is noisy and parking can be tricky.
The couch, which was I believe a hide a bed, was like sitting on a slab and had seen better days.
We also stayed in the cabins which are "associated" with this hotel. Housekeeping could be better..

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheKingsX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Gray Wolf Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Thank you for your feedback and recent review of your time with us at The Gray Wolf Inn & Suites. We strive to provide quality hospitality and a pleasant experience for all guests; your comments help us take actions to increase quality and service levels. We are addressing all your mentioned concerns for the upcoming season. We hope to see down our way again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I'm going to be a Debbie Downer today with this place. I was NOT a fan. Upon arriving at our room, we found our door open. The door was not adjusted properly to shut on its own and the cleaning people would just walk out and not check to see if door latched. Not a real comforting/safe feeling. Advised the front desk but they really didn't care and never came to fix it. To go a step further, the staff consistently would prop the outside doors (sides and back) open all day and at least until late night (10 p.m.). Not a real safe practice. Pool is really small and walls in rooms are really thin. Don't get me wrong -- it's okay but with so many other choices in town, I'll go somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3pies-travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren P, General Manager at Gray Wolf Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Dear 3 Pies Travel,
I am sorry to hear of your experience at the Gray Wolf. I can assure you the issue you had with your door was addressed the following morning after it was reported to our maintenance staff. We here at the Gray Wolf have an extensive security system to assure our guests feel safe and comfortable, the doors being propped open are by other guests checking in and out with luggage, sometimes the doors do not get closed in a timely manner but cameras monitor the entrances when this occurrs. We appreciate your concern and feedback, these comments only make us better serve our guests.

Thank you,

Darren T. Pohorenec
GM Gray Wolf Inn & Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stayed at four different hotels on our vacation and this one was the worst stay on our trip.

We booked this hotel through National Park Reservation.com (first huge mistake and another whole different story - TIP do not EVER go through the National Park Reservation line) We arrived one day early and that seemed to mess everything up for the front desk staff especially for rude, rude, Susan. She seemed to very annoyed and impatient when trying to sort out that "they" (this is the key work here) booked us under (2) different reservations numbers due to arriving one day early. The second day into our stay my husband decided to stay back in the room and have an afternoon rest while I walked into the town area. The walls are so paper thin to start with you can hear everything being said on the other side of the walls. It was brutal. Then they knocked on the door and kept calling the room as he was trying to sleep. He finally answered the phone and they told us that we were suppose to be out of the room and checking out. He explain that - no, we were staying 3 nights at the hotel. Then they called him by some other last name? Apparently this goes back once again to having us booked under two different reservations. Next our rooms were not cleaned properly and the pillows were the worst EVER!! We joked that cookie sheets were a good comparison. The complimentary breakfast was another whole other experience. Not even going to touch that one. We would NOT stay here again as there are much nicer places to stay at the rate that you will pay at this hotel. Tip - look around at other options.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Gray Wolf Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Hello Diane,
We are sorry to hear that your stay with us at the Gray Wolf Inn & Suites was unpleasant. However, thank you for letting us know about your experience so we can make improvements to raise the level of service for all our future guests. We apologize for your experience at check-in and in general with the booking of your stay. All of your comments have been discussed with management and noted to ensure better service from our staff. Thank you again for taking the time to review your stay with us, we hope you visit West Yellowstone again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.1 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
718 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
596 reviews
0.4 mi away
Stage Coach Inn
Stage Coach Inn
#30 of 39 in West Yellowstone
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#3 of 39 in West Yellowstone
983 reviews
0.2 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#9 of 39 in West Yellowstone
744 reviews
0.7 mi away
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
#12 of 39 in West Yellowstone
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gray Wolf Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gray Wolf Inn and Suites

Address: 250 South Canyon Street, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in West Yellowstone
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in West Yellowstone
#7 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range: £72 - £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Gray Wolf Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just blocks from Yellowstone National Park's West Entrance, we are a modern, amenity-rich "base camp" from which to explore Yellowstone National Park. Amenities include a free, limited continental breakfast, underground parking, suites, indoor pool, hot tub, in room microwaves, mini fridges, coffee makers and free WiFi. Open year-round. New to Gray Wolf Inn and Suites, is a complimentary electric charging station! It is located in our underground parking, and features two (2) Tesla vehicle charging units, and one (1) for other standardized electric vehicles such as a Chevy Volt, Nissan Leaf, or Toyota Prius. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Gray Wolf Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gray Wolf Hotel West Yellowstone
Gray Wolf West Yellowstone
Gray Wolf Inn And Suites West Yellowstone, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing