We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gray Wolf Inn and Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Guwahati, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

The hotel is located very near to the west entrance.The rooms are big and very clean.Breakfast spread is modest.The heated swimming pool is small but good enough to relax after a long day at the national park.The room heater was working perfectly.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 931sunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Gray Wolf Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Greetings 931sunny,
Thank you for staying with us at the Gray Wolf Inn & Suites. And thank you for the great review, it means a lot to us. We are thrilled to hear you found our location convenient, and our rooms to be large and clean. We will pass your comments along to housekeeping, they love positive feedback. We hope you come back and visit us very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    254
    116
    45
    30
See reviews for
277
244
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette
Level Contributor
234 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

Was here for the annual winter festival. Several benefits - covered, underground parking, basic breakfast with adequate seating, reasonable price, walking distance to town and restaurants, frig in the room, friendly and helpful staff.

We saved alot of money by buying groceries and making lunch in the room before returning to the festival in the afternoon after a morning of XC skiiing. There was a wax room and laundry facilities on site (although we didn't use it).

Just expect that prices will be high in the summer - Yellowstone lodging is at a premium both inside and outside the park. But during winter, West Yellowstone is a mecca for outdoor snow sports like XC skiing, snowshoeing and biathlon and a real value for the family.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Gray Wolf Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Hello Sharon,
Thanks for your positive and detailed review. We truly love hearing what guests enjoyed while staying with us at The Gray Wolf Inn & Suites. And thank you for the tips for others guests regarding the room amenities We are thrilled to hear that you enjoy a variety of the winter activities West Yellowstone offers! Thanks for staying with us and we hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
357 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

This property is very convenient to the West entrance to Yellowstone. The town of West yellowstone is our preferred place to stay, because it offers quick access to the park, at the mid-point (north/south), making it easy to drive to many places with minimal traffic. (Early morning access is ideal.) All of the motels here are expensive, in season, and this seemed to be a good option based on a AAA discount. The room we had (301) was spacious, with a min-fridge and wave. The big problem with this property is service. The manager admitted that almost all of the housekeeping staff was new for the season, and because were were there at the beginning of the season, they were still learning! After repeated housekeeping problems, the manager kindly issued a credit equivalent to about 1.5 nights (we stayed 10 nights).

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Gray Wolf Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Greetings Steve,
Thank you for your thorough review of the Gray Wolf Inn & Suites and for staying with us for 10 nights. We are pleased to hear that you found the rooms to be spacious and well equipped. But, we are sorry to hear that the issues you had revolved around our level of service. The issues with housekeeping you experienced are inexcusable. We are taking actions to ensure that all guests receive exceptional service from management and housekeeping regardless of the position in the season. Again, thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. We truly hope to see you again at the Gray Wolf Inn & Suites!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

The Gray Wolf is right in town and near the park entrance. Breakfast is included. Restaurants all nearby. We liked the higher floors for a good look at the beautiful sunsets and sunrise! Try flying into the yellowstone airport when it is open during the summer. It is a 7 minute drive to the hotel! We visited the Visitor Center everyday to plan our adventure. The lower rim trail was a great surprise. It is the other' grand canyon. Wheels and Heels a must for the good coffee. The madison crossing restaurant our favorite for dinner. River rafting with Geyser was awesome!

Room Tip: Higher floors for view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kateo90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Gray Wolf Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for the excellent and detailed review, Kateo90. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed so many of the amazing things in and around Yellowstone National Park while staying with us at the Gray Wolf Inn & Suites. We will make sure and mention the sunsets and sunrises to future guests staying on the upper floors, great tip! Please come stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hines, Oregon
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

We arrived later into West Yellowstone than expected due to stop and go traffic! We had booked a reservation in advance and decided to stay 2 nights since we had our car repaired in town by Don. (We highly recommend this mechanic-went above and beyond to help us get our car running well again!)The desk clerk (Oct. 23)at the Gray Wolf was especially friendly and gave us ideas of where to eat at the late hour (with a map). Next to the motel is a Grizzly Bear/Wolf Visitation Center so one morning we woke up to the wolves...loved it!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Gray Wolf Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Hello Bonnie,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Gray Wolf Inn & Suites. We are sorry to hear about your car trouble and glad to hear you were able to locate Don and get moving again quickly. We will make sure to pass your words along to him. We will also pass your compliments along to our front desk staff as they strive to offer the best service they possibly can to all guests. We look forward to seeing you again soon in West Yellowstone!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Churchville, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

The room was nice enough, nothing outstanding but I didn't expect that for the price we were paying. the first morning there was a bus group at the continental breakfast at the same time we were. We ended up grabbing a couple things and took them outside to eat because there was no room to sit with the tour group there. Very inadequate for groups and we were there the last week in August. I can't imagine during the height of the season. Close to the park, that was very nice. My biggest concern was when we saw smoke in the distance (35-50 miles?). I went to the desk to see if/how we would be notified if there was an emergency plan...they have no plan. And then she went on to make fun of my being from New York State and saying how did we plan for the hurricanes that destroyed parts of the city and Long Island? I am from western NY but I wasn't going to explain that to her. After all, she was "in charge" of the hotel at that point and she may have been 21, maybe 22 years old. In closing, it was a nice place to stay while we were sleeping, don't try to eat or talk to the front desk.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Gray Wolf Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Hello Margaret, we sincerely appreciate your review and for taking the time to help us improve our level of service for future guests. We never want to hear that our guests experience the front desk of the Gray Wolf Inn & Suites as anything but a helpful and pleasant resource. We have shared your comments; changes will be made to improve the way with which this situation was handled. The response to your wildfire concern is inexcusable. Wildfires are a serious threat to our whole region and your concern is justified. Thank you for your patience in the situation and for sharing it with us. We truly hope you make your way to West Yellowstone again and consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swanland
Level Contributor
104 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

This hotel is really well situated just outside Yellowstone National Park and within easy walking distance of all the shops and restaurants of West Yellowstone itself. The rooms were comfortable and clean although the air con was noisy - this seems to be a common problem in American hotels.
The staff were exceptionally helpful in providing maps of the town and suggestions as to where to eat.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Gray Wolf Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Hello Janet,
Thanks for your review and for choosing to stay with us at the Gray Wolf Inn & Suites. We are pleased to hear that you found our hotel clean and comfortable, as well as our staff helpful. We are sorry for the noise issue, we have noted your concern will work to come up with possible solutions for future guests. Thanks again for staying with us, please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.2 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#3 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#10 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#8 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
0.4 mi away
Stage Coach Inn
Stage Coach Inn
#27 of 39 in West Yellowstone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gray Wolf Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gray Wolf Inn and Suites

Property: Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Address: 250 South Canyon Street, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in West Yellowstone
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in West Yellowstone
#7 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Gray Wolf Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just blocks from Yellowstone National Park's West Entrance, we are a modern, amenity-rich "base camp" from which to explore Yellowstone National Park. Amenities include a free, limited continental breakfast, underground parking, suites, indoor pool, hot tub, in room microwaves, mini fridges, coffee makers and free WiFi. Open year-round. New to Gray Wolf Inn and Suites, is a complimentary electric charging station! It is located in our underground parking, and features two (2) Tesla vehicle charging units, and one (1) for other standardized electric vehicles such as a Chevy Volt, Nissan Leaf, or Toyota Prius. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Gray Wolf Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gray Wolf Hotel West Yellowstone
Gray Wolf West Yellowstone
Gray Wolf Inn And Suites West Yellowstone, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing