We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely recommend the Gray Wolf Inn!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Would definitely recommend the Gray Wolf Inn!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Location in West Yellowstone is perfect. Walking distance to shops and restaurants. Staff was helpful and friendly. Room was large and comfortable. Cost was pricey but not surprising for the location. One person in our party left their only phone charger behind. The staff at the Gray Wolf Inn quickly mailed it to our home.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Gray Wolf Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Hello Ann,
Thank you for your review and for choosing to come stay with us at The gray Wolf Inn & Suites. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room and the location. We are glad you got the charger, we all know how upsetting it is to leave things behind. Thank you again, we hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    272
    120
    47
    30
See reviews for
290
266
23
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gresham, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Our room was dirty - spatters on walls and woodwork in both bathroom and main room. Hairs on floor of bathroom. Not enough towels for 3 guests and we had to make the couch bed and request bedding. Pillows flat and were told they had no extra pillows. At breakfast the coffee ran out at 7:30 and no one around to make more, finally front desk staff came over to do it when the line for coffee had 6 people. Noisy - poor installation, could hear people talking clearly and urinating! Room cost $250+ a night but quality was poor - stay somewhere else!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Gray Wolf Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Hello Wayne,
We appreciate your comments and your choice to come stay with us at The Gray Wolf Inn & Suites. We are very sorry to hear that you found your room to be dirty and lacking amenities, that is not acceptable. We have noted your comments and will discuss the issues with our staff. Thank you for your feedback, guest feedback is our best method of keeping our finger on the pulse of our service level. We will also make sure and remedy the lack of coffee service in the lobby, thank you for mentioning it. We hope that you can consider these setbacks singular in nature and consider visiting us again, we would love to show your our commitment to improvement. Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sequim, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2014

A pricey place with little to offer.

Staff was courteous and helpful, and there the plus ends. Requested a pet friendly room and was given a regular room on 2nd floor. No designated pet area outside.

Carpet needed to be swept with a good sweeper. My dog ate several bits left on the floor from the last tenant.

Hotel wifi was not working. When I checked at the desk to see if there was a problem I was told I could go to McDonalds or to another hotel lobby to use their wifi.

Continental breakfast was fair. Waffles that you have to put in the toaster does not work for me. Only one choice of pastry..a very tiny banana muffin, no other flavor. I think for the price they could have offered more.

Do not think the stuffed wolf they have on the bed when you enter is yours to keep...well actually it is with an additional charge to your bill.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Gray Wolf Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Greetings Kathryn,
Thank you for your review and for choosing to come stay with us at The Gray Wolf Inn & Suites. We are very pleased to hear that our staff exceeded your expectations. We are very sorry to hear that you experienced some less than exceptional internet service and housekeeping. We also appreciate your thoughts on our complimentary breakfast, we are sorry to hear that our selections did not last until you arrived. We have noted all your feedback and are working to make improvements based on your comments. Thank you again, we hope that you make your way back to West Yellowstone soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

stayed for 2 nights in this great area just outside Yellowstone Park. Centrally situated for all bars and restaurants Rooms very large and comfortable, Continental Breakfast Included in the room price but we were not too keen on the plastic knives and forks and the area was far too small for the amount of guests in the breakfast area.
Our room was near the front entrance which overlooked the Wolf sanctuary across the road it was great to hear their cries morning and evening.
Went out to the Three Bears restaurant for our nightly meal- so fabulous we had to go on the second night.... wonderfully succulent, tasty and best ever 12oz rib eye steak, served by the super efficient Andrea- you have to get there early as it gets very full quickly.

Room Tip: no high rooms, I think it it was maximum 3 storeys high
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dunworking53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Gray Wolf Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Greetings dunworking53,
Thank you for coming to stay with us at the Gray Wolf Inn & Suites. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the sounds of the wolves that accompanied your stay! We have passed your comment on regarding the breakfast cutlery for possible improvement, thank you for your feedback. We hope you enjoy the rest of your journey, we hope you can make your way back to us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

After much futile searching in West Yellowstone, with indifferent clerks and no-vacancy hotels, we were fortunate to find a remaining room in the Gray Wolf.

Very nice room, good wifi, quiet at night, lovely and thrilling wolf "dawn chorus" from the nearby sanctuary.

Desk manager Scott B. was extraordinarily helpful, competent, and accommodating.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex_Templeton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Gray Wolf Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Hi Alex,
Thank you for your review, we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and your room. Those wolves sure love to put on a wake up call for our guests. Thank you for mentioning Scott, he will be tickled to hear your compliments. We wish you safe travels and hope you come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Kind of pricey but I guess that it's expected for the season. The staff was very courteous and helpful. The room was big with a full kitchen and good continental breakfast that included a variety of pastries, muffins fruits, cereal and hard boiled eggs.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maitely S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Gray Wolf Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Hello Maitely,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Gray Wolf Inn & Suites. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our staff, rooms and especially our breakfast! Thank you, that means a lot to hear that from guests. Please come see us again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bismarck, North Dakota
Level Contributor
138 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Great location! Close to Yellowstone entrance (just a few blocks away). Downtown Yellowstone is a block away. Beds were comfy and room was cozy! Laundry facility was convenient. Only two suggestions I have would be to have a fitness center/room and expand on breakfast items-protein options such as bacon and/or sausage. Pancake would be lovely! The cute stuffed Gray Wolf in our room upon arriving was a huge hit with the kiddos (we purchased him for a nominal fee).

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Off2C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Gray Wolf Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Hello Off2C,
Thank you for the review. We are thrilled to hear that you found the rooms to comfortable and cozy. We truly appreciate your comments. Thank you for your thoughts on the complimentary continental breakfast, we aim to offer guests high quality lodging at a great value and providing a rounded breakfast is essential to that commitment. We wish you safe travels and hope to see you back in West Yellowstone soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.1 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#1 of 39 in West Yellowstone
683 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#6 of 39 in West Yellowstone
558 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#3 of 39 in West Yellowstone
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Desert Inn
Best Western Desert Inn
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
686 reviews
0.2 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#9 of 39 in West Yellowstone
699 reviews
0.4 mi away
Stage Coach Inn
Stage Coach Inn
#27 of 39 in West Yellowstone
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gray Wolf Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gray Wolf Inn and Suites

Property: Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Address: 250 South Canyon Street, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in West Yellowstone
#2 Green Hotel in West Yellowstone
#7 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Gray Wolf Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just blocks from Yellowstone National Park's West Entrance, we are a modern, amenity-rich "base camp" from which to explore Yellowstone National Park. Amenities include a free, limited continental breakfast, underground parking, suites, indoor pool, hot tub, in room microwaves, mini fridges, coffee makers and free WiFi. Open year-round. New to Gray Wolf Inn and Suites, is a complimentary electric charging station! It is located in our underground parking, and features two (2) Tesla vehicle charging units, and one (1) for other standardized electric vehicles such as a Chevy Volt, Nissan Leaf, or Toyota Prius. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Gray Wolf Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gray Wolf Hotel West Yellowstone
Gray Wolf West Yellowstone
Gray Wolf Inn And Suites West Yellowstone, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing