We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check in very inefficient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
wrexham
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Check in very inefficient”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We arrived 3.30 ish and were told our room would not be ready until 4pm....as stated on our booking form.We didnt have a problem with this and sat in the dining area adjacent to reception and waited.By 4.15pm we were still waiting so we asked the guy on reception whether our room was ready......he didnt really know, or appear to care ( he was the receptionist we spoke to on arrival ).Luckily his colleague stepped in and she informed us our room still wasnt ready but she could allocate us another identical room on a different floor which was ready !!!! Why the first receptionist didnt do this ????? Our room was spacious and comfortable though a little tired ....the whole place could do with a tidy up .....as could the receptionists !!We wouldnt recommend this hotel, there are other options in the area.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Gray Wolf Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Greetings Stephen,
Thanks for the review and for sharing your feedback on your recent stay at the Gray Wolf Inn & Suites. We are very sorry to hear that our service level at check-in was not very pleasant. We have made note of your comments and we will make sure and work with our staff to ensure improvements. Getting a guest checked-in to a room a little early is rarely a problem and we truly appreciate your patience in the matter. Thank you again, please come stay with us again anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    278
    128
    51
    31
See reviews for
305
276
23
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Staff was very friendly and mostly helpful. Rooms were clean and adequate...nothing fancy. Room rate included continental breakfast. Breakfast was nice (coffee, juices, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, muffins, cereals) But not nearly enough seating for the size of the hotel. Front desk staff suggested that we sit outside...it was 48 degrees. Many people juggled their cups and little plates and took food upstairs to their rooms. We learned to go to breakfast very early if we wanted to sit.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CandidMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Gray Wolf Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Hi CandidMom,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Gray Wolf Inn & Suites and for the review of your stay. We are very pleased to hear that you thought our breakfast selections were nice. We are sorry to hear that the breakfast area was not so pleasant. We are working to try and optimize our space and appreciate your patience, we have had a rather chilly summer all in all and normally sitting outside would be an ideal location. We wish you safe travels and hope that you can make your way back to West Yellowstone very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

August is NOT the time to visit Yellowstone N.P. but there we were. We arrived a day earlier than reserved due to rain storms at our campsite, but the hotel graciously put us up in their last available room. The breakfast scene was extremely crowded at 6:30am due to tour groups, and they ran out of a lot, but the coffee was fresh and there were enough noshies to last until lunch. Surprisingly quiet for such a crowded hotel, and the staff was very helpful and cheerful. Funny that most of the staff was from another country (varied) and all expressed a desire to stay after just working for incredibly low wages. I would stay here again and recommend it for families.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mccolleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Gray Wolf Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Hello Mccolleen,
Thank you for your review and for choosing to come stay with us at The Gray Wolf Inn & Suites. We are very pleased to hear your recommendation, thank you that means a lot to us. Our breakfast area is a very busy place early in the morning, thank you for your patience and grace. We try to offer the best service and food offering we can, especially fresh coffee. We are thrilled to hear that you were able to get some quiet rest while staying with us. We sure hope that you can make your way back to stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

We had a great stay at this hotel. The rooms were large with great views and everything was clean and comfortable. It has a wonderful family environment and is pet friendly. We had easy access to the park and could walk to lots of shops and restaurants. We enjoyed breakfast on the front patio and listening to the wolves howling. The kids loved the swimming pool and I was thankful for the on-site laundry facilities. We could not have picked a better place, we loved it at Gray Wolf.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fergusonja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Gray Wolf Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Hello Fergusonja,
Thank you for the great review, we are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Gray Wolf Inn & Suites. Thank you for your comments and for choosing to come stay with us, both really mean a lot to us. Hearing the wolves in the mornings is also one of our favorite things about our location, we are very glad that you were able to enjoy breakfast with some background music! Thank you again for your stay and review, please come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bountiful, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We've stayed in West Yellowstone about 4 times in the last 10 years. This last trip 2014 we stayed at two different hotels, one was the Gray Wolf Inn. Gray Wolf is one of the best located hotels: Closest to the park entrance, Across the street from the Grizzly Discovery and the visitor's center, and just around the corner from the Museum. The main strip for shops and food is on the same street about 2 blocks up so you are in walking distance of just about everything and therefore don't need to fight for a parking space. In the lobby you can have milk, hot chocolate, coffee, oatmeal, and cereals 24/7 with was nice. The rooms were clean. The indoor pool was clean with plenty of towels. The staff were nice, friendly and helpful (though not necessarily quick - we asked for a toothbrush and had to call back after a 1/2 hr and then it showed up about 1/2 hr after that 2nd call). This hotel was a little more quiet than the other ones we stayed at in West Yellowstone, but we could still hear people in the halls opening and closing doors, kids running and laughing in the AM. (My wife likes to sleep in - so we brought ear plugs and one of those plug-in sound makers which helped). The hotel itself isn't romantic but the city and park would make it a nice for couples. The beds were better at this hotel than others we stayed at and there is a sink in the bathroom and outside the bathroom which was nice for the family especially at bed time. There are microwaves and fridges in the rooms. The rooms were a little larger than other hotels of similar quality so there was better space for our luggage and move to move around. The internet was slow but the rooms were clean. There is parking around the hotel and underneath. They close the garage doors underneath at night keeping your item safer. Everything in W. Y. is about double the price of what is in a regular city like Rexburg and the hotels are no different. This is about the same quality of a $100-$125 hotel in a city - but as this is a summer resort town you pay double. (McDonalds is about double, Pizza's are $25 for a large, Steaks are $19-$30 on average - so bring your own food in a cooler and heat in your microwave or bring extra cash)

Room Tip: The 2nd floor is preferred for a little less noise. The lower level closer to the lobby is preferred...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Gray Wolf Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Hello Brian,
Thanks for choosing to stay with us and for reviewing your time with us. We are thrilled to hear that you find The Gray Wold Inn & Suites to be one of the best places to stay in West Yellowstone, that means a lot to us. It sounds like you were able to make the best of our location and the town of West Yellowstone. We have noted all your comments and appreciate hearing what you found to be enjoyable and not quite so during your stay. We hope that you can make your way back to stay with us again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Bermuda
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Excellent base for week visiting Yellowstone National Park - 5 minute drive to West entrance.
Walking distance to food, shopping and entertainment in town of West Yellowstone.
Excellent continental breakfast served early (6am -9.30am) so you can get into park and have a full day out. Staff are friendly and eager to help. Child friendly and amazingly quiet!
Would recommend to friends and family and would stay here again.

Green Features: Nice to stay in an environmentally friendly hotel - options for changing bedding linens and towels. Reminders to conserve water and recycling containers available.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Gray Wolf Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Hi Karen,
Thanks for the great review, we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed staying with us at The Gray Wolf Inn & Suites. Thank you for mentioning the complimentary breakfast service, we work hard to offer guests a great start to their days of exploring Yellowstone National Park. We will pass your compliments along to our staff, they will be tickled. We hope you can make your way back to see us again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Staff was great. Facility was always clean. We felt that location warrented them to charge $230 . To me the Hilton in Denver that was $99 a night was just as nice or nicer the close acces to Yellowstone was nice and the community was nice.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schunka21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Gray Wolf Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Hello Schunka21,
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us at The Gray Wolf Inn & Suites. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our location. Our prices are determined by regional seasonal demand and our commitment to providing a superior place to rest in West Yellowstone. We wish you safe travels and hope that you can make your way back to stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.1 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
705 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
576 reviews
0.4 mi away
Stage Coach Inn
Stage Coach Inn
#30 of 39 in West Yellowstone
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
#12 of 39 in West Yellowstone
571 reviews
0.2 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#8 of 39 in West Yellowstone
728 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Desert Inn
Best Western Desert Inn
#6 of 39 in West Yellowstone
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gray Wolf Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gray Wolf Inn and Suites

Property: Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Address: 250 South Canyon Street, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in West Yellowstone
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in West Yellowstone
#7 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Gray Wolf Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just blocks from Yellowstone National Park's West Entrance, we are a modern, amenity-rich "base camp" from which to explore Yellowstone National Park. Amenities include a free, limited continental breakfast, underground parking, suites, indoor pool, hot tub, in room microwaves, mini fridges, coffee makers and free WiFi. Open year-round. New to Gray Wolf Inn and Suites, is a complimentary electric charging station! It is located in our underground parking, and features two (2) Tesla vehicle charging units, and one (1) for other standardized electric vehicles such as a Chevy Volt, Nissan Leaf, or Toyota Prius. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Gray Wolf Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gray Wolf Hotel West Yellowstone
Gray Wolf West Yellowstone
Gray Wolf Inn And Suites West Yellowstone, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing