We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best places we've ever stayed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gray Wolf Inn and Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
butte
1 review
“One of the best places we've ever stayed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2010

Our stay at the Gray Wolf was very enjoyable. The rooms were very clean and pleasant and the beds were the most comfortable beds away from home that we have slept in in a long time. Employees were very friendly and helpful and made our stay very relaxing. The Gray Wolf is a very classy place to stay and we will be recommending it to all of our friends.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debbie_driscoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    254
    116
    45
    30
See reviews for
277
244
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
idaho
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2010

The hotel was okay - a little dusty and the dish washer did not work. It was the lady that the front desk people called their boss...... She was in the back room - but I could still see and hear through the open door. I was not impressed. -- sorry.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank puddingpieIdaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2009

Read mixed reviews on trip advisor but decided it looked ok and it ticked our backpacking minimum criteria; location, cost, internet and breakfast. We stayed in a room with 2xdouble beds, fridge, microwave and sofa. The sofa was a bonus as it felt like we could relax in the room. There was also a pool with a hot tub which we needed as we had spent the day freezing in Yellowstone, it was record low temperatures whilst we were there so the the pool was a welcome bonus. All in all great for us and a lot better than some of the shacks we have stayed in. But then we are not staying in 5 star hotels but I would recomend it for backpackers heading to and from yellowstone.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Addscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, UT
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2009

I've stayed here three or four times and the last time was the last straw. We were sent up to a room, opened the door and it was occupied! We hauled our luggage back downstairs to talk to the front desk and they sent us to another room - this time it was dirty. I don't mean it was not quite clean, I mean it hadn't even had maid service yet. The third time they sent someone up with us to find us a room. This same visit the pool and hot tub were broken and the staff couldn't or wouldn't keep up with the amount of snow, ice and mud being tracked in from outside. The hall carpets were all soggy and dirty and the elevator had an awful smell we couldn't identify.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pixelpushr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacific Northwest
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2009

We booked a one room bedroom suite because we were staying for five days (four nights). The room was somewhat clean but little nooks and crannies were not kept up. We found the kitchen to be useful and didn't expect China-wear or anything. It was sufficient.

The beds were comfortable but the pull out hide-a-bed was kind of bad. Not very supportive, not that most are anyway.

The breakfast was mediocre but it filled our bellies and that's what matters.

The pool is tiny and loud and freezing cold. No heater?

The room had air conditioning which is a necessity to me and my family for summer visits.

Check out was very difficult as they attempted to charge us a rate that didn't match our online booking price. After about 30 minutes they finally set it right. That was annoying to say the least.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jangaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2009

We read the reviews before booking our stay. There were mixed opinions and our options were limited due to a last minute trip. We decided to try it out.

We spent $200 a night on a 1 bedroom suite.

The room was disgusting. When we first entered the rooms, the children asked why the floor hadn't been vacuumed. (Pretty bad when a 5 yeard old notices.) When we pulled out the sofa bed, we discovered dirty bedsheets still on the bed. We called the front desk who was kind enough to bring some sheets down. However, when we said we were disappointed to find the dirty room, his response was that 'He wasn't responsible for housekeeping."

Next, we went into the bedroom. We found dirty earplugs in one of the queen beds. If that's not enough, we then found a dirty sock on the floor covered in dirt and grim. Last, but certainly not least, there was a lot of mold growing on the ceilings and around the fixtures in the bathroom.

This place was absolutely filthy. If we would have been able to find other accomodations, we would have left. I will NEVER stay here again nor would I recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OregonAmanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoDak
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2009

When considering the price differences between the Gray Wolf and some of the other name-brand hotels in West Yellowstone we didn't have very high expectations for the Gray Wolf -- we were pleasantly surprised. The rooms were nice, the breakfast was good, and most importantly it's only a couple of blocks away from all the shops of West Yellowstone and the entrance to Yellowstone Park. It is expensive, but the folks on here who complain about the price should look at the comparables in town -- It's West Yellowstone, not West Fargo.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wblewett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.2 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
#6 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#3 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#10 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
0.4 mi away
Stage Coach Inn
Stage Coach Inn
#27 of 39 in West Yellowstone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gray Wolf Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gray Wolf Inn and Suites

Property: Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Address: 250 South Canyon Street, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in West Yellowstone
#2 Green Hotel in West Yellowstone
#7 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Gray Wolf Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just blocks from Yellowstone National Park's West Entrance, we are a modern, amenity-rich "base camp" from which to explore Yellowstone National Park. Amenities include a free, limited continental breakfast, underground parking, suites, indoor pool, hot tub, in room microwaves, mini fridges, coffee makers and free WiFi. Open year-round. New to Gray Wolf Inn and Suites, is a complimentary electric charging station! It is located in our underground parking, and features two (2) Tesla vehicle charging units, and one (1) for other standardized electric vehicles such as a Chevy Volt, Nissan Leaf, or Toyota Prius. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Gray Wolf Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gray Wolf Hotel West Yellowstone
Gray Wolf West Yellowstone
Gray Wolf Inn And Suites West Yellowstone, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing