We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good home base for Yellowstone trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
Ranked #10 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We were at this hotel for 4 nights. It was our home base for exploring Yellowstone. It is only a couple of blocks (about 5 minute drive) from the west entrance to the park. From the outside, it does not look all that special, but our room was spacious, clean, and comfortable for my family of 6 (our kids are 10, 7, 4, & 1). We had 2 queen beds and a sofa bed that opened into a queen bed, ample room for us. Our room also had a fridge and a microwave. The wifi worked without hassle, and was included in the room charge, no "resort fee" bs like some hotels. I appreciated that! My kids enjoyed the indoor heated pool, which was great after spending the day exploring the park. The pool was open late, until 10 PM. There is a small fitness room adjacent to the pool, but did not really step in there. Breakfast was available, which was pretty good. They served pastries, cereal, instant oatmeal, juice, coffee, and milk. They also had a machine that served pancakes. The pancakes were OK. As stated in other reviews, the breakfast room gets crowded in the morning, but supplies are replenished right away. The hotel location is pretty good. West Yellowstone is very small. Mc Donald's is within walking distance (maybe a 5-7 minute walk) and the souvenir shops and eateries are also about a 5 minute walk away. It was nice to take an evening stroll to explore the town. It caters to tourists, so there are souvenir shops everywhere! Still, the townspeople were very nice. We were there during the 4th of July, and the town had fireworks, which we were able to see from the hotel parking lot. Back to the hotel, everyone that I encountered was helpful and courteous. This hotel was an excellent home base for us. With my kids so young, we aren't quite ready to experience the park's rustic lodging options. I needed a home base with the comforts of home--wifi, bathtub, and comfortable beds! Definitely recommended for a family with young kids.

Room Tip: The elevator was a bit slow and we had lots of luggage. Ask for a room on the first floor.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tessrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (744)
There are newer reviews for ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

572 - 578 of 744 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2012

Sorry, but just didn't like this place. Very sterile and front entrance opens into a big parking lot. In an area that's so beautiful, this was depressing. Zero character. Staff was friendly enough and bed was very comfortable - better than some 4 star hotels. Kids would probably like the pool.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoshFriedman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We were at this hotel for 8 nights.The staff,especially Mo and Jeff were extremely kind and helpful.When we decided we wanted to switch to a suite,it was possible.Mo was wonderful during the process.
The rooms were clean and fresh.The pool area was very nice and the water was warm and clean.The breakfast room was small,but was kept spotless and replenished quickly.It was a continental breakfast but quite nice.
The location was great and town was within walking distance.It was great hearing the wolves howl from "Grizzly" when we were outside.
For West Yellowstone I found the price and facility to be totally acceptable.We have stayed in WY before and would choose Clubhouse again.

Room Tip: The suites were large and very nice.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leikoren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Started our Yellowstone visit here, clean hotel with a decent breakfast. Indoor pool, nice for children after a long day of travel. West Yellowstone mostly a tourist area for a beginning or ending point after touring Yellowstone.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

The bed here was really comfortable with nice linens and the room had the advantage of a large fridge and microwave.
Room not big but adequate but the bathroom was quite small.
Breakfast selection good but room is ridiculously small with the tables so close together that we got jostled by ill mannered children who were fighting and the parents chose to ignore them.
Reception staff were lovely and friendly.
Expensive for what it is but this is West Yellowstone in June and very near to the park entrance so guess more can be charged than would normally be expected for this class of hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WirralGibby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

The Clubhouse Inn in West Yellowstone is just okay. Not great, but not bad either. The hotel is conveniently located near the west entrance to Yellowstone National Park and also just a short walk to the restaurants and shops in town.

We had a standard room with two double beds. The rooms were clean, comfortable and rather spacious. Our room had a microwave oven and a small refrigerator.

The other family we were traveling with had a couple issues with their room that the hotel staff failed to address. The air conditioning unit did not appear to be working okay. It wouldn't keep the room cool enough. They also had a problem with the water pressure from the shower. The hotel staff attributed the problem to soft water. We had no problem with our water pressure.

The continental breakfast wasn't great. Very limited options...toast, bagels, mini muffins, juices, milk, coffee, boiled eggs, instant oatmeal, dry cereal and a choice between two kinds of fruit. There was also a pancake making machine that made pancakes by simple pressing a button. It didn't seem to work well as the hotel staff was often working to remove a pancake that had stuck in the machine. By the last day, the machine was out of order. Fortunately, there is a McDonald's restaurant within walking distance just a couple minutes away where you could grab a hot quick hot breakfast.

My daughter had a chance to check out the pool as I supervised. The pool was rather small. We didn't stay in the pool area too long as the fumes from the over-chlorinated pool was too much for me to handle as it caused my eyes to burn.

All in all, the hotel wasn't bad if you just wanted to sleep and take a shower. However, if we ever go back to West Yellowstone, we will look at other hotel options.

Room Tip: There is only one slow elevator in the hotel. So unless you want to use the stair often, try to arr...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Stayed in 3 nights on 2nd floor during weekdays while visiting Yellowstone NP.
Pro: Staff was courteous and helpful.
On site coin operated laundry machine and dryer.
Great location in walking distance from down town restaurants and shops.
Free parking and internet
Coffee maker and mini fridge in room
Indoor pool - didn't try
Complementary breakfast - didn't try

**After a long day visiting the park we tried to get sleep and had on going problem with young kids running back and forth in the hallways jumping/yelling/laughing until late at night (after 11pm) with parents sometimes present! Tried to asked them to ton down and keep quiet but other kept coming. Got quiet for a while after we threatened to call the cops, but this was only temporary then called hotel staff and a big guy came and asked for quiet that solved the noise problem. The hotel staff is not to be blamed for that but the parents. Sadly I see less consideration of others travelers who paid and have needs too.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.2 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#7 of 39 in West Yellowstone
791 reviews
0.0 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
596 reviews
0.1 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
#12 of 39 in West Yellowstone
593 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#3 of 39 in West Yellowstone
984 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Desert Inn
Best Western Desert Inn
#8 of 39 in West Yellowstone
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone

Address: 105 S Electric St, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9528 (Formerly Fairfield Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range: £128 - £266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clubhouse Inn West Yellowstone Hotel West Yellowstone
Clubhouse Hotel West Yellowstone
Clubhouse West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing