We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, and quiet and peaceful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Ranked #12 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Very close to YNP west entrance, yet quiet due to its location at the end of its street. Nice woodsy area across street from the hotel, great for walking the dog. Room was great: clean, fresh, average size, and good price. Welcoming to pets and their owners. Dining area was clean and large, with a good variety of breakfast items included in the room charge. We would definitely stay here again, as room, accommodations, amenities, and GREAT STAFF made this location wonderful for us!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luv2Bonthesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (603)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

562 - 568 of 603 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2012

First let me start by saying that most decent hotels in the Yellowstone area are pretty expensive. We paid an average of $200 a night to stay at this place for 3 nights but the location was excellent as you're just a few miles (5 minutes) from the West gate of YNP.
The hotel was completely remodeled and the rooms were very clean and spacious. The furniture was brand new and the TV and wifi worked great. The laundry room and heated pool were also very nice.
All that said, the breakfast which was included in the price was pretty awful and aside from the yugurt the food was really bad.
There were NOT enough tables and sitting for everybody. It was like a "Yellowstone ZOO" in the morning with people standing all over the place, food on the floor and NOT nearly enough staff to keep the place organized and clean.
The hotel staff seemed to be pretty friendly except for the old grumpy lady at the reception who was rude and unwilling to give us any detailed information about local attractions, restaurants, etc...Although we spent over $200 a night, we did NOT get the customer service and attention we deserved!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SanDiegoLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Recently renovated room product was surprisingly well done. Simple, Clean and current. Hotel is near many quick restuarant and services.

Room Tip: Radio Shack right down the road when you lose your memory stick after spending time in yellowstone.
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
4  Thank msneen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

200 bucks a night for a plain jane room seemed like a rip to me...... the spa didn't seem to clean, yuck..... the hotel is kind of far off the downtown shops etc...

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 June 2012

Thank you for staying with us during your vacation. During late June, then into July and first few weeks of August is our peak season and many Hotel properties are in the $200 range during this time. The Holiday Inn is around the $250 range. The town of West Yellowstone is located adjacent to the West Gate entrance into Yellowstone park. Our property just completed a $700,000 renovation for 79 guest rooms so we have brand new rooms to offer. Our location is just 4 blocks away from downtown.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012 via mobile

Old west appeal. Carpeting reminded me of western atmosphere. Had a 3 queen suite so it was spacious. Very clean. Separate bathroom and vanity which helps in terms of getting ready quicker. Linens were clean. Only complaint is upon checking out, the housekeeping staff had their carts blocking the hallways making it quite hard to leave with the luggage cart. Location was away from town. Quiet area, but not walking distance from town. Coin laundry was clean, but expensive. Typical for resort town. No major complaints.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AllieGMAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jschoenhard, Regional Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2012

Thank you for staying at our property. I hope you enjoyed your vacation in Yellowstone National Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

My Husband and I stayed here on our trip to yellow stone national park. We only stayed one night it was clean, simple and quiet. the set up of the hotel was a little weird because of the way u had to get to your room some you could stay in the main entrance others you had to go out side to a side door to get to your room. the ice machine was old but it worked. The breakfast was simple like ceral, toast, coffee there were some resturants in driving distance but not alot to chose from to eat at. west yellow sotne is a very little town

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trisha1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jschoenhard, Regional Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2012

Thank you for staying at our facility. We do offer a large selection of items for our breakfast such as scrambled eggs, sausage links, two flavors of waffles,yogurt.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

After a long and exhausting day in Yellowstone, I was looking forward to our comfortable room at the Comfort Inn. When I walked into the room I was very surprised to see that they placed us in a room that had a wonderful view of a wall. Virtually no natural light at all made its way into the room. It was dark..and felt like we were in an interior room on a cruise ship. Internet service is also poor (writing this using a 3G iPad because the wifi is horrible. Asked front desk staff for a room with at least a normal window and they were unable to accommodate...said we were the last room available in the hotel...so much for our 3 month early reservation. The room was highly overpriced...and was the worst of any hotels we stayed at on this trip.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Colberto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jschoenhard, Regional Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2012

Unfortunatley, we did not have another room to move you too otherwise we would have but we were at full occupancy during your stay. We do receive many reservations a year in advance as families are planning their vacation. West Yellowstone is located in a isolated area of the world so we do have some limits on our bandwidth. We just completed a $700,000 remodel of our 79 room facility last year so I would have to disagree with your comments regarding our facility.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.7 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#7 of 39 in West Yellowstone
800 reviews
0.5 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
610 reviews
0.6 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#10 of 39 in West Yellowstone
758 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#3 of 39 in West Yellowstone
994 reviews
0.4 mi away
Days Inn West Yellowstone
Days Inn West Yellowstone
#19 of 39 in West Yellowstone
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellowstone West Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowstone West Gate Hotel

Address: 638 Madison Ave, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9547 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range: £99 - £263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yellowstone West Gate Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean, comfortable and friendly 79 Rooms, large family rooms available, non-smoking facility, large indoor heated pool & spa, complimentary deluxe HOT breakfast daily, complimentary high-speed/Wi-Fi internet, guest laundry, business room, free parking, information about Yellowstone Park tours. Only 6 blocks from entrance gate into Yellowstone National Park. AAA and AARP approved. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Yellowstone West Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel West Yellowstone
Comfort Inn West Yellowstone
West Yellowstone Comfort Inn
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel West Yellowstone, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing