We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great place to stay in West Yellowstone, MT” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yellowstone West Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Ranked #12 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
WA State
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“great place to stay in West Yellowstone, MT”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

This hotel is a bit off the beated path but clean , quiet and really nice rooms. You will need a car to drive to places to eat or shop. We just picked up our food and brought it back to room after a day in the park as we had a small table and chairs in the room. Was not expecting as nice as this place was for a Comfort Inn. Has been remodeled and up dated, very comforable place to stay.
We were just there in first week of Oct, so we had lower prices, (80.09 AARP) lower than other Comfort INN in Gardiner and much nicer.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank islandgirl6333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    178
    106
    33
    19
See reviews for
238
162
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

we had a suite at the top of the hotel, it was really large and soooo comfortable, all the fixtures and fittings were first class, we really enjoyed our two day stay, we really could not find any fault, so very well done Comfort Inn, we shall be back again for some more of your friendly service, thanks

Room Tip: we did not try the restaurant and fitness center. Top floor suites are very large and very comforta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jillhazeljill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jschoenhard, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
I am glad you liked our large Queen deluxe rooms with a sofa pull out bed. These are great rooms if you have a large family and need a little space to spread out. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savage, Minnesota
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

This is a nice Comfort Inn--Dont get me wrong. But for $170 per night, low season, it's not worth the price. Give your money to one of the locally-owned hotels that need and appreciate it. The front desk clerk was not exactly excited to see us, the chain tries to charge you extra money per day for a crappy little safe...You just get the feeling you are being fleeced. I apologize to the locals that I didnt take more time to research and stay at one of them.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TAmbroz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jschoenhard, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
I am sorry that you did not like the prices of our rooms during your stay with us. July and the first three weeks of August is the "peak" of our peak season but September is also a very busy month in Yellowstone and is not by any means a "shoulder season". We are competitively priced with other hotels in our area. May and October are great times to visit as rates are lower during this time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OSPREY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

We did not have high expectations for West Yellowstone lodging, and we chose Comfort Inn because it said they had newly updated rooms. That was true. But at $180 a night in shoulder season, the price/value was not there. The Inn is located off the main drag and has horiible curb appeal. Wrought iron tables and chairs are right by the entrance for smokers, so you walk through the smell into the dark lobby to register. There is one elevator, and to reach it, you have to walk through the smokers again. At several times during our stay, the elevator was congested. We walked the three floors. Our "new" room had a stain on the bedspread, two thin bath towels and PAPER THIN WALLS. I could hear everything our neighbors said and did, plus hall noise. Not a good night's sleep. The small breakfast room was jammed with people and impossible to get anything to eat. We grabbed a Danish and ran. The fact that people are captive entering and leaving Yellowstone does not give these third rate hotels the right to charge first class hotel prices. Free enterprises is alive and well in West Yellowstone, but consumer be ware. I'd stay in Big Sky, Bozeman or Cody and make the extra drive to Yellowstone.

Room Tip: Try to get a room against an outside wall so you can't hear your neighbors. If you want breakfas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ViajaOsprey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jschoenhard, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
I am sorry to see that you did not like the price of our hotel rooms during your stay. However, the time of your stay is not a "shoulder season" for West Yellowstone. Many properties in Bozeman are over $100 during this time period. The property did just invest $700,000 in remodeling last year with new furniture, carpeting, TV's, wall covering, floor covering etc.

We recenlty added some tables and chairs outside to help with seating during the 'rush' times of breakfast and noiticed people were smoking in this area and have just made this a non smoking area to solve this issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ontheroad
Level Contributor
63 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

Be sure to check your rate when you check in - they automatically added $4-5 above what our reservation confirmation said for "optional" fees that they removed upon our request. I'd rate them very good, but adding charges is a no-no. Sign says "remodeled". Smells new. Comfortable, clean 2 queen beded room. Busy property with large breakfast area, yet still not enough space so be prepared to take up to your room. Very good breakfast selection. They keep a handy book of menus to the local restaurants at the front desk.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelsalotaplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Findlay, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

Lodging in West Yellowstone is priced at whatever the market will bear. This was a nice hotel, but the amenities were on the cheap side for $220 a NIGHT. The remoteness of Yellowstone National Park should not be an excuse for most all of the lodging in the small tourist town to be outrageously priced. Local taxes don't help!

Room Tip: Find one of the smaller, more traditional, lodging "downtown"
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davebrik44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paso Robles, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

we were there for 5 days,the front desk staff was cordial,assisted me when i hurt my ankle trying to get a picture of animals went as far to call the local med clinic so they could see me,the food was good and the rooms were very clean,i will stay there again if we are ever in that area,i highly recommend this hotel to all

Room Tip: stay here you won't be sorry
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.5 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#10 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
0.5 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Weston Inn
BEST WESTERN Weston Inn
#11 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.5 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
#6 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellowstone West Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowstone West Gate Hotel

Property: Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Address: 638 Madison Ave., West Yellowstone, MT 59758 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yellowstone West Gate Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWLY REMODELED IN 2011. 79 Rooms, large family rooms available, non-smoking facility, large indoor heated pool & spa, complimentary deluxe HOT breakfast daily, complimentary high-speed/Wi-Fi internet, guest laundry, business room, free parking, information about Yellowstone Park tours. Only 6 blocks from entrance gate into Yellowstone National Park. AAA and AARP approved. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Yellowstone West Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel West Yellowstone
Comfort Inn West Yellowstone
West Yellowstone Comfort Inn
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel West Yellowstone, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing