We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Experience at the Comfort Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Ranked #12 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Hurst, Texas
2 reviews
“Great Experience at the Comfort Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012

I spent several nights at the Comfort Inn. The room was well furnished and comfortable and it was obvious that the hotel really had been recently remodeled. Breakfast was good and Mary Lou the breakfast lady was very efficient and helpful and worked very hard to keep everything running smoothly. Melanie the hotel manager was ever present with all sorts of good insight about things to do in town and things to do and see in Yellowstone park. I had a quick and easy check in and had a qhiet room on the third floor. Even though the hotel was pretty full it did not seem that crowded and noise from other rooms around me was minimal. All in all a good visit and I will definately stay here again on future visits to the area.

Room Tip: the third floor definately seems to be the quietest with no one above you and no ice machine rattlin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jschoenhard, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Thank you for staying with us. Yes our property was recently remodeled with new furniture, floor and wall coverings, etc. Basically, we have a brand new property. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    179
    106
    33
    19
See reviews for
239
162
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mirfield, West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
199 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

Nights eight, nine and ten of our 2012 road trip.
I find it hard to relate to some of the recent reviews but accept that personal opinion is what counts. We had very quiet rooms at the back of the hotel which were very typical of other Comfort properties. They were clean and comfortable, being a male I saw no problem with the size or design of the bathrooms which were well fitted and modern (what do you need a bathroom for other than what it is designed to do?). Reception wasn't too warming at the start but improved over time, we had no trouble with the luggage trolley, the pool etc was well worth the visit and the breakfast was fine. Poor Marylou was working her socks off one morning as it appears some bus tour operators do not advise their clientele that for that standard of hotel it is expected that the guests at least clear the table before vacating. If they want waitress service then they should pay for the service. As we were not in a hurry it might have been smart to enquire what time the bus parties were taking breakfast and avoid that time window. The hotel is at the far west end of town.which meant a drive to a restaurant but parking in town was easy. We are unlikely to return but I would use the Comfort again if we did, no problem. .

Room Tip: Take one at the back of the hotel, away from the car park, which is where we were.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jschoenhard, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Thank you for your comments, Mary Lou does a great job for us in our breakfast room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
145 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

While on a cross country road trip my wife and I wanted to visit Yellowstone Park and looked for accomodation within close proximity. We chose the Comfort Inn in West Yellowstone in order to take advantage of using our Choice Privileges Rewards Program points.

While our visit to Yellowstone Park was absolutely amazing, the Comfort Inn in our opinion was not. We did not find the front desk receptionist to be friendly or welcoming during check-in. We had a room on the second floor overlooking the front entranceway and parking lot. Unfortunately when I opened the window to let some fresh air in we would hear the noise and smell the cigarette smoke from other patrons standing outside near the entrance and underneath our window.

Upon checking into our room we found gum on the carpet and the bedspread had several stains on it. My wife notified the front desk and the gum was removed. We are not sure if the bedspread was changed, if it was it appeared to have stains as well.

The breakfast room was crowded and warm, however after a few minutes were able to get a seat. We are fortunate to have been able to use points for this room as I would have been upset had we paid the price they were asking and the value received. We were disappointed and would not recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RickyLeeca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jschoenhard, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
I am sorry to see that you were disappointed with your stay with us. We have a couple of tables and chairs that guests have been sitting at around the location that you described and we have just made this a non-smoking area based on recent comments we have received. Our breakfast room does get busing during the peak summer season and we are looking at adding more seating areas to accommodate the "rushes" in the morning. We do apprecaite your comments and will try to make corrections on the items you have talked about.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

We stayed two nights to see Yellowstone. The room was good-sized, clean, and comfortable, but the bathroom (toilet and tub -- the sink is in the room) was cramped. The soap dish is perfectly placed to bang an elbow when taking a bath.

The hallways struck us as a bit smaller than other Comfort Inns we've tried, and also dimmer. It was difficult to maneuver the luggage cart to the room. I skipped breakfast, but my spouse said the area was far too small to accommodate the morning crowd. Food quality was OK, with good orange juice.

The rate for one of the nights was $10 higher than we were quoted at reservation-time. WiFi was unreliable and on the slow side when it did work. Just two fairly thin bath towels were supplied. The TV is a flat-panel with a decent channel selection, but there's no on-screen guide. Electrical outlets were plentiful.

It served the purpose, and as I said, the room was clean with a comfortable bed, but I don't feel the value is there for the price.

Room Tip: If you're on an upper floor, ask for a room close to the (only) elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WagonFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jschoenhard, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
We are sorry to hear that you are not fully happy with your stay with us. We did just complete a $700,000 remodel last year in all of our guest rooms. West Yellowstone is very limited on internet access options, especially when we are over 100 miles away form any populaton areas so broadband is very limited. However, we are working with a company that is providing some new options to our area so we hope to be providing more boradband in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012 via mobile

Stayed two nights and had to switch rooms due to availability (we added an additional night and king suite was not available anymore so switched to more spacious queen room). The rooms are nice and modern. Pool area OK. Breakfast OK but room too small for such a large hotel. The few round tables for 4 persons took away lots of room and on most only two people are seated... suggest to use smaller two seating tables and square instead of round... Overall nice place to stay at a good rate for this town. The location at the end of the Steffy did not matter as usually one has a car to drive to the city centre.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank spundae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jschoenhard, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Thank you for your comments, we did just recenlty do a $700,000 remodel of our property last year. We will look into your idea of offering more square tables instead of the large round tables in our breakfast area to see if they will provide more seating for us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
133 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

Spent this past weekend at the Comfort Inn, Eagle Rock near Pasadina, California. The room has plenty of space for the 2 of us. Electrical Outlets were plentiful and worked. Wifi was strong and fast. Comfortable bed. I have 2 negatives, could not get the sleep timer to work on the TV and the water pressure in the shower was a little low. However, I also recently reviewed the Best Western Eagle Rock Inn, and this Comfort Inn was far superior. Even had waffles on the breakfast buffet. I will certainly come pack to this Comfort Inn next time I am in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greyhound85034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jschoenhard, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
thank you for your comments regarding hour our new remodeled rooms look like. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WA State
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

This hotel is a bit off the beated path but clean , quiet and really nice rooms. You will need a car to drive to places to eat or shop. We just picked up our food and brought it back to room after a day in the park as we had a small table and chairs in the room. Was not expecting as nice as this place was for a Comfort Inn. Has been remodeled and up dated, very comforable place to stay.
We were just there in first week of Oct, so we had lower prices, (80.09 AARP) lower than other Comfort INN in Gardiner and much nicer.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank islandgirl6333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.5 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#10 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
0.6 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#3 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
0.5 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#7 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
0.5 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#14 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellowstone West Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowstone West Gate Hotel

Property: Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Address: 638 Madison Ave., West Yellowstone, MT 59758 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yellowstone West Gate Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWLY REMODELED IN 2011. 79 Rooms, large family rooms available, non-smoking facility, large indoor heated pool & spa, complimentary deluxe HOT breakfast daily, complimentary high-speed/Wi-Fi internet, guest laundry, business room, free parking, information about Yellowstone Park tours. Only 6 blocks from entrance gate into Yellowstone National Park. AAA and AARP approved. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Yellowstone West Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel West Yellowstone
Comfort Inn West Yellowstone
West Yellowstone Comfort Inn
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel West Yellowstone, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing