We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Ranked #12 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Spacious”
Reviewed 20 May 2013 via mobile

Very spacious...only had a suite available but very reasonable price..extremely happy and comfortable..great little town and staff and everyone in town very friendly. Great places to dine. Lots of lovely free sample gifts in the rooms. Vending machines cheapest we have come across I our travels across the states

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jschoenhard, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
We appreciate your comments about our property during your stay with us. I hope you had a good time sight seeing in Yellowstone National Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    193
    114
    36
    19
See reviews for
268
171
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
River Falls, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We've been staying at the Comfort Inn in West Yellowstone for about 15 years now for our annual snowmobile trips. The staff makes you feel at home and all the amenities are top notch! From the continental breakfast to the afternoon soup the hotel is great. We always get a 3 Queen suite to cover our needs and it is extremely comfortable. The newly done remodeling has added a comfortable feel of home. The hot tub and pool is just fantastic for the sore muscles and a relaxing evening! Thanks to the entire staff for always treating us nicely.

Room Tip: If you need a touch more room try the 3 Queen suite if you have a group. They're perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snowgov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jschoenhard, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Thanks for being such a loyal guest staying with us all these years. Winter is a great time to visit and snowmobile over 400 miles of groomed trails outside of Yellowstone. The property recently had a major remodel done to all guest rooms and public areas spending over $700,000.

We hope to see you again next winter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billings, Montana
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

24 hour Front Desk... Newly Remodeled every where within the hotel with very nice decor & furniture where each room has microwave, coffee pot, refrig, flat screen TV's, iron & board, COMFORTABLE beds & bedding. There was absolutely nothing grungy about our room, nothing! The Pool is large & WARM, plus the hot tub is fairly large with jets. If its Snowmobile Expo week, don't stay in the West wing because of the noise, but if thats why you are there...it litterly right out from the hotel so that was great!

Room Tip: If its Snowmobile Expo week, don't stay in the West wing because of the noise, but if thats why...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CowgirlMomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jschoenhard, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Thanks for staying with us and for your comments. We have one of the larges indoor pools in town and like to keep it a little extra warm during the winter months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldendale, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We have stayed here for two years in a row on our snowmobile vacation that we take once a year in West Yellowstone and loved it both years. We love the way the staff goes out of their way to accomodate us. The breakfast has such a variety of foods and the kind-hearted lady tending to us provided us the best service we have ever had from anyone. My family and I consider her a new member in our family and we will come back again next snowmobile season just to see her, again. The management was great as well. The manager went above and beyond to provide us with excellent accomodations and personal service. In all my hotel stays in my life (which are numerous) I have never had such excellent personal, kind, and professional service. The front desk, cleaning crew, our breakfast lady Mary Lou, and the management were all so accomodating that we will never stay anywhere for the week in West Yellowstone except the Comfort Inn. I want to thank them all for making our vacation troublesome free by being so helpful and we'll see you again next year! Thank you again and I recommend this place to everyone who likes great treatment and a nice clean hotel.

Room Tip: They accomodate the rooms to fit one's preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jschoenhard, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Thank you for all of your great comments, my staff takes great pride in offering great customer service and I proud to hear that they took great care of you during your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, SC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013 via mobile

This is the hotel our AAA travel agent booked for our travel dates to the park in August 2012. After all the taxes and "fees", I paid more than I have paid at 4-star beach front hotels. I understand that charging ridiculous rates during the Summer is the only way these places can stay open during the Winter but I certainly don't think it's too much to EXPECT friendly staff, comfortable, clean, quiet rooms and good food. This place didn't deliver any of those things for us. The front desk staff was abrupt and clearly annoyed with US when we complained about the constant noise in our hallway. We had to ask housekeeping for extra towels and clean sheets every day (we're a family of 4). The buffet kept running out of certain foods and there was no place to sit. We felt barely tolerated not accommodated, and after paying more to this hotel than we did for our plane tickets to get there, we left wishing we'd booked a cruise instead! Too bad!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Momof2CarolinaBoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon City, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Our family of 4 stayed here for 2 nights. We stayed in a 2 queen suite, which was very roomy and comfortable. The staff were very nice. We waited in a very comfortable lobby one day while waiting on a snowcoach tour. The breakfast was very good but we were disappointed both mornings when there was no orange juice. On the flip side, one evening the front desk was very kind enough to let us get hot chocolate. Also, guests should be aware that the motel charges you for the room safe: it is up to the guests to inform the front desk at checkout that the safe wasn't used. The staff instantly removed the charge when requested.

Room Tip: We chose the larger suite so that we would have a microwave and refrigerator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jschoenhard, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2013
Thank you for your comments. Our orange juice ran out just as we were to change to a new juice machine that required different containers. I apologize that we ran out before the change. I am glad to hear that you had a good stay and enjoyed your snow coach tour into Yellowstone. We are looking into some changes with the in room safes. Our company does not like charging additional fees and these were provided by prior ownership, so we are working with this vendor at what we can do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Had a great time, rooms were nice and clean, comfortable beds, great hot breakfast. Nice indoor pool and spa. Staff at front desk was awesome, very friendly and helpful. The breakfast lady loves to talk. The maids do a great job with the whole hotel and maintance staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aom o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jschoenhard, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. I am glad to hear you had a great stay and fun in the snow that our areas offers during the winter. I will inform our staff about your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.7 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
744 reviews
0.5 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
568 reviews
0.6 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#9 of 39 in West Yellowstone
715 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Desert Inn
Best Western Desert Inn
#7 of 39 in West Yellowstone
704 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stage Coach Inn
Stage Coach Inn
#28 of 39 in West Yellowstone
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellowstone West Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowstone West Gate Hotel

Property: Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Address: 638 Madison Ave, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9547 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yellowstone West Gate Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWLY REMODELED IN 2011. 79 Rooms, large family rooms available, non-smoking facility, large indoor heated pool & spa, complimentary deluxe HOT breakfast daily, complimentary high-speed/Wi-Fi internet, guest laundry, business room, free parking, information about Yellowstone Park tours. Only 6 blocks from entrance gate into Yellowstone National Park. AAA and AARP approved. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Yellowstone West Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel West Yellowstone
Comfort Inn West Yellowstone
West Yellowstone Comfort Inn
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel West Yellowstone, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing