We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terry is absolutely wonderful!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yellowstone West Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Ranked #12 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
North Plainfield, New Jersey, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terry is absolutely wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

This was my best hotel experience during mine and my girlfriend's trip out west! After getting lost in yellowstone park, and a bad experience in another motel, Terry was very accommodating to us. He lowered our price on two different stays. Not to mention he has exceptional customer service! He is very friendly. I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel to anyone doing a Yellowstone trip. Thank you TERRY!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Manda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jschoenhard, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Thank you for staying with us and recognizing Terry during your stay. I am glad that we were able to take care of your lodging needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    178
    106
    33
    19
See reviews for
238
162
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California,USA
Level Contributor
113 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed 5 nights at this hotel. They gave us a king bed room that was very small but than immediately upgrade us to a double queen that was much better ( and the price was even lower). The hotel is clean, the bathroom is small but clean as well. Breakfast is included ( nothing special...) as well as wi-fi. You need a car to go " downtown" for dinner but it take few minutes. Overall, a good hotel for West Yellostone

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank giogio42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jschoenhard, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Thank you for staying 5 nights with us and making us your vacation headquarters for visiting Yellowstone. I hope you had a great vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liberty, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

My husband and I stayed here one night before leaving to stay in a camping under the stars ranch close by. We enjoyed having the King bed and hot shower before heading out for our day at the park. We did not have the free breakfast as we really wanted a large hot breakfast to hold us over for the full day and had stayed in several other hotels along the way that had the same breakfast set up. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LuckyandTina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jschoenhard, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Thank you for staying with us, i hope you had a great camping night the next day. I do hope that you will see us again on your next trip to Yellowstone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedona, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

We had a great full week at Yellowstone, staying at this hotel. Our reservations were easy to make, thanks to Jan, who answered all of our questions. Kids loved the pool and breakfast was pretty good too. Will definitely stay here on our next visit to Yellowstone!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jschoenhard, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Thank you for staying with us, we have either the largest or second larges indoor pool in town so it is great for kids and we supply a few pool toys for them to play with.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

This hotel is a rip off, very overpriced for what it is and clearly taking advantage of the proximity to the West Yellowstone entrance. We stayed one night in August as part of our visit to Yellowstone. The room was small, the bathroom tired and dated. The air conditioning unit was very noisy and made sleeping difficult however there was worse to come.

After an inadequate sleep the horror that is breakfast awaits you. First, all that's provided are paper plates and flimsy plastic cutlery that are woefully inadequate to eat with. Rubbery microwaved scrambled eggs and partially browned sausages of poor quality are the hot choice. Cereal is of the cheap, generic variety and the orange juice is a horrible reconstituted concoction. Yoghurts are also available. This is breakfast done on the very cheap and anyone who claims that the food is good has very low standards. Substandard food and drink accompanied by inexcusable paper plates and plastic cutlery make this a very expensive and miserable stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PompeyJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jschoenhard, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
I am sorry to hear that you did not have a good stay with us. Our prices are in line with our competition, and you stayed next to a very popular national park during the peak of the peak season. West Yellowstone is a small town that is surrounded 3 sides by national forest and one side by Yellowstone park. The property just spent over $700,000 two years ago on a complete renovation including new tile, granite vanity, wall covering, fixtures, etc. so I do not agree with your comment that the bathroom is tired and outdated.

Actually we have received a lot of good comments about our breakfast and breakfast attendent that you will see in other postings and we have achieved a Certificate of Excellence from Trip Advisor for 2013.

Again, I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

I have two younger kids so the pool and spa at this hotel was perfect to jump into after a long summer day hiking around Yellowstone! The hotel is a block or two from the 'downtown' area with lots of shops. It is a short drive, actually surprised me how quickly we got there, to Yellowstone's West Entrance. All of the staff were friendly and accomodating. We LOVED the free breakfast every morning. YOU HAVE TO TRY THEIR BISCUITS & GRAVY - peppery sausage gravy and soft perfect biscuits. They were a family favorite. The room we had was on the 1st floor, very quiet rooms, clean and wonderfully equipped with a microwave and fridge. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jschoenhard, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thank you for your comments and staying with us. We have one of if not the largest indoor pools in town. We also have some play toys in the pool for kids to play with. Also thank you for your comments on our sausage gravy, I will make sure our breakfast staff is aware of your comments. I hope you had a great vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fullerton, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

The hotel was very nice, clean room, comfortable bed, and the employees were very friendly.

On our 1st night there the light bulb in the bathroom burnt out about 10pm. Walked down to front desk and talked to Terry, He was more than happy to come up right away and replace it.

The FREE breakfast buffet was very good, large room, and was always well stocked. Breakfast was being taken care of by a nice lady named Mary Lou, Thanks!

Overall I would stay there again, little pricy, but then again all the hotels in west Yellowstone were priced that way for summer.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryanmr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jschoenhard, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thank you for staying with us and your remarks about Mary Lou our Breakfast attendent, she does a great job for us. A great time to visit us is in late August when rates come down from July and early August.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.5 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#10 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
0.5 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#3 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
0.5 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Weston Inn
BEST WESTERN Weston Inn
#11 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellowstone West Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowstone West Gate Hotel

Property: Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Address: 638 Madison Ave., West Yellowstone, MT 59758 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yellowstone West Gate Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWLY REMODELED IN 2011. 79 Rooms, large family rooms available, non-smoking facility, large indoor heated pool & spa, complimentary deluxe HOT breakfast daily, complimentary high-speed/Wi-Fi internet, guest laundry, business room, free parking, information about Yellowstone Park tours. Only 6 blocks from entrance gate into Yellowstone National Park. AAA and AARP approved. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Yellowstone West Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel West Yellowstone
Comfort Inn West Yellowstone
West Yellowstone Comfort Inn
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel West Yellowstone, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing