We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Moose Creek Inn(West Yellowstone)
US$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Weston Inn(West Yellowstone)(Great Value!)
US$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone(West Yellowstone)(Great Value!)
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites(West Yellowstone)(Great Value!)
US$176
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn West Yellowstone(West Yellowstone)(Great Value!)
US$217
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$196
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone(West Yellowstone)(Great Value!)
US$410
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$285
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yellowstone Park Hotel(West Yellowstone)(Great Value!)
US$186
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Desert Inn(West Yellowstone)(Great Value!)
US$183
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$150
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Three Bear Lodge(West Yellowstone)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Official Website
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (605)
Filter reviews
605 results
Traveller rating
205
210
129
41
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
205
210
129
41
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmary loucomfort innroom was cleannice hotelsmall townlittle priceyin townbiscuits and gravyfresh fruitstay there againthe breakfast areafridge and microwavehot tubroad tripfree breakfasta great place to stayindoor pool
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
504 - 509 of 605 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This was my best hotel experience during mine and my girlfriend's trip out west! After getting lost in yellowstone park, and a bad experience in another motel, Terry was very accommodating to us. He lowered our price on two different stays. Not to mention he has exceptional customer service! He is very friendly. I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel to anyone doing a Yellowstone trip. Thank you TERRY!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Manda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jschoenhard, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2013

Thank you for staying with us and recognizing Terry during your stay. I am glad that we were able to take care of your lodging needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed 5 nights at this hotel. They gave us a king bed room that was very small but than immediately upgrade us to a double queen that was much better ( and the price was even lower). The hotel is clean, the bathroom is small but clean as well. Breakfast is included ( nothing special...) as well as wi-fi. You need a car to go " downtown" for dinner but it take few minutes. Overall, a good hotel for West Yellostone

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank giogio42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jschoenhard, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2013

Thank you for staying 5 nights with us and making us your vacation headquarters for visiting Yellowstone. I hope you had a great vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

My husband and I stayed here one night before leaving to stay in a camping under the stars ranch close by. We enjoyed having the King bed and hot shower before heading out for our day at the park. We did not have the free breakfast as we really wanted a large hot breakfast to hold us over for the full day and had stayed in several other hotels along the way that had the same breakfast set up. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuckyandTina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jschoenhard, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2013

Thank you for staying with us, i hope you had a great camping night the next day. I do hope that you will see us again on your next trip to Yellowstone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We had a great full week at Yellowstone, staying at this hotel. Our reservations were easy to make, thanks to Jan, who answered all of our questions. Kids loved the pool and breakfast was pretty good too. Will definitely stay here on our next visit to Yellowstone!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jschoenhard, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2013

Thank you for staying with us, we have either the largest or second larges indoor pool in town so it is great for kids and we supply a few pool toys for them to play with.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

This hotel is a rip off, very overpriced for what it is and clearly taking advantage of the proximity to the West Yellowstone entrance. We stayed one night in August as part of our visit to Yellowstone. The room was small, the bathroom tired and dated. The air conditioning unit was very noisy and made sleeping difficult however there was worse to come.

After an inadequate sleep the horror that is breakfast awaits you. First, all that's provided are paper plates and flimsy plastic cutlery that are woefully inadequate to eat with. Rubbery microwaved scrambled eggs and partially browned sausages of poor quality are the hot choice. Cereal is of the cheap, generic variety and the orange juice is a horrible reconstituted concoction. Yoghurts are also available. This is breakfast done on the very cheap and anyone who claims that the food is good has very low standards. Substandard food and drink accompanied by inexcusable paper plates and plastic cutlery make this a very expensive and miserable stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PompeyJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jschoenhard, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

I am sorry to hear that you did not have a good stay with us. Our prices are in line with our competition, and you stayed next to a very popular national park during the peak of the peak season. West Yellowstone is a small town that is surrounded 3 sides by national forest and one side by Yellowstone park. The property just spent over $700,000 two years ago on a complete renovation including new tile, granite vanity, wall covering, fixtures, etc. so I do not agree with your comment that the bathroom is tired and outdated.

Actually we have received a lot of good comments about our breakfast and breakfast attendent that you will see in other postings and we have achieved a Certificate of Excellence from Trip Advisor for 2013.

Again, I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews