We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mary Lou/Terry”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Ranked #12 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Lake Spivey, GA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mary Lou/Terry”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This is our hotel of choice when we stay in West Yellowstone. There rooms have been renovated in the last two years and provide ample space to unpack and store clothes. There are three large drawers and two closets. Breakfast buffet is excellent. But the best park is Mary Lou. She makes for a great experience. She always greets you with a smile and makes sure you have everything you need. Terry is the night manager and was very courteous and always had a story for us.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    181
    107
    33
    19
See reviews for
243
162
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santee, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Got to West Yellowstone the night before the government shutdown and checked into the Yellowstone West Gate Hotel. It is the last building of any kind on Madison Street. This is the street that runs into the park entrance. I considered this a positive. The hotel was previously a Comfort Inn and has been taken over by Kelly Inns and has been totally renovated. The front desk personnel were pleasant, professional and helpful. The room was excellent in all respects but one. The bathroom (toilet & tub) is kinda small. You have to turn sideways to close the door.
They have great in room Wi-Fi, a microwave and refrigerator, great closet and drawer space, and brand new flat screen TVs. Also a swimming pool that we didn't use and a laundry that we did.

They serve a great hot breakfast each morning and can seat 30 plus people at a time.

We had an experience on our last night that demonstrates the hospitality of the town on West Yellowstone and the West Gate Hotel in particular. My left her gloves at Pete's Pizza and Pasta after dinner. She called the front desk and asked for the phone number for Pete's explaining the situation. Jan offered to call and ask if the gloves were there, and in a few seconds called back and told us the gloves were on the way. We called back down to the desk within three minutes, asked if Jan would send the person from Pete's up to the room so we could tip him/her. We were informed that the gloves were all ready at the hotel, and she personally brought them up to the room.

I want to do a review of Pete's Pizza & Pasta also and am waiting for Trip Advisor to approve it.

Didn't get to go into Yellowstone after three months planning this road trip and 6 days on the road, but my stay at the hotel alleviated the disappointment some what.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pastrebob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jschoenhard, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Yellowstone West Gate Hotel. I am sorry that the goverment shut down affected your vacation. I am glad to hear that our staff and Jan at the front desk took care of you and was able to get your gloves back. I hope you can schedule a future trip and enjoy the park when our federal goverment gets the park open again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2013

When we drove up I was not very impressed and worried I had made a mistake booking here. There was no curb appeal and the pool was a room out front with big windows facing the street.
When we walked through the hallways it was a bit worn and nothing special at all. Just a basic hotel needing some updating. Although it was very clean.
But then we got in the bedroom and it was just lovely! We had reserved the 3 queen room. It was a decently spacious room with a small clean restroom (bathtub and toilet in a room) and the nice sink was in the main room. There was a fridge and microwave and a nice large armoire and tv. The room was very tasteful and all white linens (big plus) nicer than usual artwork, cool mirrors. Nice furniture... definitely modern and updated. And then there was a separate room attached with another queen bed. It had it's own tv and desk. The separate room was an unexpected bonus!
Cable wasn't great, maybe it's the remote location.
Pool was very comfortable and warm and there was a hot tub.
Two guys came in from outside while we were in the pool to go swimming. It was a bit of a weird distracting situation, they were waiting outside the door for about 20 minutes (they didn't have keys as though they weren't staying at the hotel but a worker eventually let them in). Maybe people from town can use the pool or buy a pass for it or something.
The breakfast was a standard, good breakfast. Waffles, eggs, very very spicy sausage, cereal, muffins, juice, awesome hot cocoa machine! and coffee with to go cups - it was really nice. the eating room was standard, but clean.
Because the bedrooms were updated, stylish and clean I would definitely book here again. It turned out to be a great hotel! It is a bit expensive for what you get, but the location of the town explains it. It is on the "far" side of town, but drive to downtown area takes a minute or two, so is not a problem.
Yellowstone park was incredible! The town was cute and nice to walk around. Lots of activities.
There was a family of at least 7 staying above us and they were very loud - running around and slamming doors until 3 am and two of the little kids banged on our door at 8am thinking it was their room. But that wasn't the fault of the hotel and we didn't hear anyone else - just that room above.
We had told the hotel we would be a late arrival. We got a phone call when we were 10 minutes away, they were just calling to make sure we drove carefully (it had started to snow a bit) to watch for animals and were given last minute instructions on finding the hotel. Very friendly touch.
Overall would recommend.

Room Tip: Three queen room on second floor had lots of space and was on a corner!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenzy81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jschoenhard, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We do have direct TV at our property as the area has very limited cable servcice. I am glad you were able to enjoy the room with 3 queen beds, we just have 3 rooms of this type in our facility and are great for families. I hope that you will stay with us again on your next trip to Yellowstone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Our room was good size,standard type chain hotel,clean,modern and well equipped,exactly what we expected, Wifi, etc. I cannot fault that what we got was what we were expecting at the place and time of year.
Also the reception staff when we checked in she was lovely,welcoming, unfortunately I didn't get her name.
Breakfast was better for us Brits than expected, as it was included in the price, but the best part was Mary Lou in the breakfast room, who was amazing, working so hard,would put many others to shame, and absolutely lovely with our teenage son trying to work a waffle machine!!!
Went on to stay in Dunraven Lodge in the park.(Another review coming)
Then onto Cooke City (we loved it and the food so much better than West Yellowstone), one night all the restaurants in West yellowstone were full or having to wait ages to get a table and the menus were poor, I really feel they need to up their game, I realise they have a captive market , but I think everyone should go over to Cooke City because it is sooo much better. (more reviews to come)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OpenSkies4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jschoenhard, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you for your review of our property. I will forward Mary Lou our breakfast attendant your comments, she takes great pride in our property and does a wonderful job for us. I am glad to hear you had a great vacation in Yellowstone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

This hotel is nowadays part of Kelly Inn hotels. Their rooms are fully renovated and very nice, but it's still a 2-star accommodation for a price of around $200 per night. Breakfast is surprisingly broad and they have a free (and fast) wifi in the rooms. Parking is free and easy, but the location is at the far end of West Yellowstone (however, it's a small town). The biggest problem is that their walls are PAPER THIN and you must be whispering after 10pm. Watching television is very difficult without disturbing your neighbors.

Still, overall a pleasant experience.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Klazu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jschoenhard, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Thank you for your review of the Yellowstone West Gate Hotel. We are just a few blocks away from the main street area and 5-6 blocks from the west gate entrance into Yellowstone. We offer waffles, sausage, scrambled eggs, yogurt and many other items for our continental breakfast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Plainfield, New Jersey, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This was my best hotel experience during mine and my girlfriend's trip out west! After getting lost in yellowstone park, and a bad experience in another motel, Terry was very accommodating to us. He lowered our price on two different stays. Not to mention he has exceptional customer service! He is very friendly. I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel to anyone doing a Yellowstone trip. Thank you TERRY!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Manda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jschoenhard, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Thank you for staying with us and recognizing Terry during your stay. I am glad that we were able to take care of your lodging needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California,USA
Level Contributor
115 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed 5 nights at this hotel. They gave us a king bed room that was very small but than immediately upgrade us to a double queen that was much better ( and the price was even lower). The hotel is clean, the bathroom is small but clean as well. Breakfast is included ( nothing special...) as well as wi-fi. You need a car to go " downtown" for dinner but it take few minutes. Overall, a good hotel for West Yellostone

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank giogio42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jschoenhard, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Thank you for staying 5 nights with us and making us your vacation headquarters for visiting Yellowstone. I hope you had a great vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.5 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#10 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
0.6 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#3 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
0.5 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#6 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
0.5 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#14 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellowstone West Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowstone West Gate Hotel

Property: Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Address: 638 Madison Ave, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9547 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yellowstone West Gate Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWLY REMODELED IN 2011. 79 Rooms, large family rooms available, non-smoking facility, large indoor heated pool & spa, complimentary deluxe HOT breakfast daily, complimentary high-speed/Wi-Fi internet, guest laundry, business room, free parking, information about Yellowstone Park tours. Only 6 blocks from entrance gate into Yellowstone National Park. AAA and AARP approved. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Yellowstone West Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel West Yellowstone
Comfort Inn West Yellowstone
West Yellowstone Comfort Inn
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel West Yellowstone, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing