We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic value at a fantastic place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Ranked #12 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A fantastic value at a fantastic place!”
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

My wife, our chihuahuas and myself arrived at the West Gate Hotel, at West Yellowstone, MT in a late afternoon rain storm. The staff graciously helped us with our luggage and we were soon in our comfortable room on the ground floor, warming up. Ready for dinner, the desk staff gave us several recommendations, advising us to be prepared for a slight wait for service no matter where we went and they were accurate.

We opted for the Outpost Restaurant and only had a 25 minute wait. Excellent chili and dessert. Arrived back at the hotel at 8:30 pm and enjoyed a quietly restful night.

Up early next morning to go to Yellowstone, we lingered at the hotel's breakfast. A full hot breakfast, scrambled eggs, sausage and gravy biscuits, fresh waffles, coffee and fruit. Delightful!

The hotel was our ideal base from which to explore Yellowstone's majesty for the next four days. We had a great time, in large part because of the great staff at the West Gate. They were very helpful in suggestions of what to see and when to see it, what to expect and how to avoid the crowds, where to dine, just about everything. A great organization!

All in all, the West Gate was a gem for us and we plan on returning when we come back to the park!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Soldierjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    198
    119
    37
    20
See reviews for
280
174
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Great staff, Jerry, Terry, Mary Lou in breakfast all staff is wonderful. Housekeeping does a really good job in the rooms. The hotel is kept up in maintance. The pool is nice and huge and indoor heated. Breakfast is very filling. All staff is knowledgable in the area and great references to eat. They also have the Kelly inn and Club House inn. I will defiently be coming back and sending people here. Say Hi to Jerry :)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aom o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Draper, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Used to be a Comfort Inn, I think. Got bought out or something. An owner now owns multiple hotels in town and this Comfort Inn was part of the deal with like three other hotels in the city. It was very nice for the price. Big pool for the kids in the winter time after snowmobiling all day at Two Top. Good location on the west end of town. It is a great location if you are there for the races that take place at the World Snowmobile Expo that they have there in West Yellowstone every year. Definitely would stay there again. Had electrical engine heater hook-ups in the parking lot for my diesel truck when I was there. Have not been there since they changed the name of the hotel, but it was a great place to stay when my family was there!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RooneAlredge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

This was our first trip to Yellowstone. There were 3 friends traveling. Our room was two queens with a sofa bed and it had a table with two chairs. Very big room but the layout was very strange. The bathroom (toilet and tub) were at the entrance door and it was a tight squeeze to get into the bathroom. The sink however was in the main part of the room and was high almost looking like a bar sink. It worked out fine but we had never seen a setup like this one before. We were on the ground floor and did hear a lot of noise from the family with children that was above us until we went to sleep. The room was clean and the staff very helpful and gave us menus of the places that would deliver food since we were exhausted that night. Breakfast was very good although the room was so crowded we took the food back to our own room to eat.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrance, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Our family has made the Yellowstone West Gate Hotel our Yellowstone National Park vacation base eight times over the last seven summers. The accommodations are comfortable, with a remodel the rooms of this former Comfort Inn property taking place about two years ago. We have stayed here for up to two full weeks at a time and have had very positive experiences each time. A lot of that has to do with the people employed by the hotel, from Terry and Debbie behind the front desk, to Mary Lou at the morning breakfast buffet. The staff have watched my two girls grow up over the those years (now 11 and 13) and each summer my girls look forward to this trip as much as my wife and I do.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Spivey, GA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This is our hotel of choice when we stay in West Yellowstone. There rooms have been renovated in the last two years and provide ample space to unpack and store clothes. There are three large drawers and two closets. Breakfast buffet is excellent. But the best park is Mary Lou. She makes for a great experience. She always greets you with a smile and makes sure you have everything you need. Terry is the night manager and was very courteous and always had a story for us.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santee, California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Got to West Yellowstone the night before the government shutdown and checked into the Yellowstone West Gate Hotel. It is the last building of any kind on Madison Street. This is the street that runs into the park entrance. I considered this a positive. The hotel was previously a Comfort Inn and has been taken over by Kelly Inns and has been totally renovated. The front desk personnel were pleasant, professional and helpful. The room was excellent in all respects but one. The bathroom (toilet & tub) is kinda small. You have to turn sideways to close the door.
They have great in room Wi-Fi, a microwave and refrigerator, great closet and drawer space, and brand new flat screen TVs. Also a swimming pool that we didn't use and a laundry that we did.

They serve a great hot breakfast each morning and can seat 30 plus people at a time.

We had an experience on our last night that demonstrates the hospitality of the town on West Yellowstone and the West Gate Hotel in particular. My left her gloves at Pete's Pizza and Pasta after dinner. She called the front desk and asked for the phone number for Pete's explaining the situation. Jan offered to call and ask if the gloves were there, and in a few seconds called back and told us the gloves were on the way. We called back down to the desk within three minutes, asked if Jan would send the person from Pete's up to the room so we could tip him/her. We were informed that the gloves were all ready at the hotel, and she personally brought them up to the room.

I want to do a review of Pete's Pizza & Pasta also and am waiting for Trip Advisor to approve it.

Didn't get to go into Yellowstone after three months planning this road trip and 6 days on the road, but my stay at the hotel alleviated the disappointment some what.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pastrebob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jschoenhard, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Yellowstone West Gate Hotel. I am sorry that the goverment shut down affected your vacation. I am glad to hear that our staff and Jan at the front desk took care of you and was able to get your gloves back. I hope you can schedule a future trip and enjoy the park when our federal goverment gets the park open again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.7 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
762 reviews
0.5 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
577 reviews
0.6 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#9 of 39 in West Yellowstone
730 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stage Coach Inn
Stage Coach Inn
#30 of 39 in West Yellowstone
558 reviews
0.5 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#16 of 39 in West Yellowstone
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellowstone West Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowstone West Gate Hotel

Property: Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Address: 638 Madison Ave, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9547 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yellowstone West Gate Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWLY REMODELED IN 2011. 79 Rooms, large family rooms available, non-smoking facility, large indoor heated pool & spa, complimentary deluxe HOT breakfast daily, complimentary high-speed/Wi-Fi internet, guest laundry, business room, free parking, information about Yellowstone Park tours. Only 6 blocks from entrance gate into Yellowstone National Park. AAA and AARP approved. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Yellowstone West Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel West Yellowstone
Comfort Inn West Yellowstone
West Yellowstone Comfort Inn
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel West Yellowstone, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing