We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Ranked #12 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Room was very big, beds very confortable. Our view was to the woods behind. This hotel is far from downtown but that was not a big deal, 15 min walking or 2min drive.
The worst was breakfast. Not good enough. Scramble eggs came in a bag and heated in the microwave. Coffe was dirty water. Poor variety on fruit. We ended having toast with butter.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeraGarciaMuro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgideonkellyinns, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for your comments, we strive to offer the best breakfast in town. We have many items to choose from both cold, cereal, fruit, yogart, danish, toast and hot, such as our eggs, biscuits and gravey, sausage. We're sorry you did not find something you liked. We hope you will stay with us again when you are in the area.
Janet Gideon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (603)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

483 - 489 of 603 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

I ended up doing a quick trip to the Yellowstone and found that most of the cabins and hotels inside the park were taken. On a friend's suggestion i explored the hotels in West Yellowstone and found West Gate to be a best option.

I would say I was lucky that I picked this hotel for my overnight stay. It was well maintained and I enjoyed my stay here. Breakfast was excellent. Would highly recommend this place.

And on the flip side, i am not sure if this happens frequently ... the city lost power sometime in the morning, luckily i had my flash light. I guess the hotel should plan for having backup options just for the amenities like lights on the staircase and elevator.

Room Tip: Breakfast ends at 9. Have flashlight handy as this town might loose power at times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunil N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgideonkellyinns, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for your comments. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. It was unusual to have such a long power outage, if the power does out it is normally fixed in a very short time. We did however take the opportunity to look at our emergency procedures and update our lighting so if you visit us again in the future and the power goes out we will be well lit.
Janet Gideon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This was the worst experience so far regarding a stay. We have spent around $600 for 3 days, which was the waste of money. We are disappointed on all aspects of the hotel service. We had booked this hotel well in advance, yet we had gives a room for disabled instead of normal room. When we checked in, We had to clean the bathroom, it seemed as if somebody had taken shower. The fridge was not working. It says free Wi Fi, but it did not work for one day. The breakfast was of low quality, and it was not sufficient for all the people who were staying, the fruits were very bad and rotten. We would not recommend this hotel to anyone. We had preferred this hotel over other similar hotels, but it was a bad idea.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sweety2201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jschoenhard, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

I am sorry your experience at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel was not what you expected. You did make managment aware of the issues and we took care of those things right away and hopefully the rest of the stay was enjoyable. The WiFi was out all over town due to a power outage but that was also fixed within 24 hours. The reservation you booked on line was for our Handicap Accessible room and we were not able to upgrade you because we were sold out. I hope if you are in this area again we will get the opportunity to make your stay more enjoyable.
General Manager
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We were impressed by how quiet and comfortable this hotel was. It was spacious with 2 queen size beds for us. It was very clean and comfortable. We would definitely stay there again. We stayed 1 wk before peak season at W Yellowstone Park, so wasn't as expensive as otherwise could have been. Breakfast was fabulous and coffee fresh and hot every morning and throughout day. we were able to utilize wash/driers that were available until 11pm to wash my son's clothes who we were moving from college to W yellowstone to work. Very friendly staff!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jschoenhard, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for your comments, we appreciate you giving us such wonderful feed back. Please visit us again when you are in West Yellowstone.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We recently returned from a trip to Yellowstone. During our stay, we spent 3 nights at the Yellowstone West Gate Hotel. We were very impressed by the hospitality of the staff and the cleanliness of the hotel. The hotel is very well maintained and the pool area is clean. The staff always greeted us and remembered our names when we came into the hotel. During breakfast every morning, we were greeted by the most wonderful woman. Mary Lou is a great asset to the hotel, she goes above and beyond to make every guest feel welcome and right at home. We would definitely stay at this hotel again!

Room Tip: Always read reviews from past guests!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jschoenhard, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I know other guests will read your review and come stay with us.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

very nice staff, awesome service, good location although the internet connection is not good.

If I go to west gate next time, this will be my choice again. Did not have time to try the fitness center time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Zhenhua W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jschoenhard, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for your comments, we hope you will stay with us again.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We spent 3 days in Yellowstone West Gate Hotel. The staff is nice and the facility is brand-new. The spa and swimming pool really help us in relaxation. Highly recommended for all travelers. The breakfasts are awesome.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank YupengLin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jschoenhard, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for your comments, we take pride in our hotel and are happy that you enjoyed your stay. We hope you will stay with us again when you visit West Yellowstone.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.5 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
613 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#8 of 39 in West Yellowstone
805 reviews
0.6 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#3 of 39 in West Yellowstone
1,001 reviews
0.5 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#10 of 39 in West Yellowstone
771 reviews
0.5 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#15 of 39 in West Yellowstone
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellowstone West Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowstone West Gate Hotel

Address: 638 Madison Ave, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9547 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range: £155 - £263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yellowstone West Gate Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean, comfortable and friendly 79 Rooms, large family rooms available, non-smoking facility, large indoor heated pool & spa, complimentary deluxe HOT breakfast daily, complimentary high-speed/Wi-Fi internet, guest laundry, business room, free parking, information about Yellowstone Park tours. Only 6 blocks from entrance gate into Yellowstone National Park. AAA and AARP approved. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Yellowstone West Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel West Yellowstone
Comfort Inn West Yellowstone
West Yellowstone Comfort Inn
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel West Yellowstone, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing