We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Rooms, Great Pool, and Close to Yellowstone”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Ranked #13 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
West Chester, OH
Level Contributor
124 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Nice Rooms, Great Pool, and Close to Yellowstone”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed 3 nights. After 5 nights in Yellowstone cabins, this seemed luxurious! There are plenty of places to eat in West Yellowstone, and though the hotel is on the edge of town, nothing is far away. It is about a 45 minute drive to Old Faithful, so this is a reasonable alternative to staying in the park. The rooms were large and clean with a refrigerator. The AC fan would stay on all night to drown out the noise, which was useful. The place was not designed with noise suppression in mind. You can hear your neighbors, and it sounded like we had tap-dancing Clydesdales above us. Ask for the top floor. The pool was fairly large, clean, and warm! The kids loved it. Breakfast was the average hotel deal with waffle makers, scrambled eggs, and those miniature muffins. The breakfast room needs to be larger since people had trouble finding a place to sit. Wi-Fi could be painfully slow in the evening, to the point of being unusable. There are many hotels in West Yellowstone. This one is a good balance between cost and large enough for a family.

Room Tip: A room on the top floor will decrease the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WXRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgideonkellyinns, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Thank you for your comments. We've added outdoor seating and seating in the pool area to help accomodate the busy morning breakfast crowd. There are also table and chairs in each guest rooms. Some guests come down early to avoid the crowd, breakfast is served between 6 am and 9 am. We hope you will stay with again in the future.
Janet Gideon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    186
    108
    34
    19
See reviews for
250
165
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wylie, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We just returned from our second trip to the Yellowstone/Grand Teton area in 2 years. After moving around to 4 different hotels the last time, we decided to make West Yellowstone our home base for the duration of our stay this time. Jan and the front desk staff did a super job of making us feel right at home. They recommend some great places to eat dinner in town. The hotel breakfast was good and Mary Lou was so friendly and helpful. Every day she would ask us about the prior day and what we had seen and done.
I also want to make note of the cleanliness of the bathroom in our room. We have stayed in a lot of hotels over the years, but I can say this was probably the cleanest bathroom we've ever had.
would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgideonkellyinns, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
We're glad you enjoyed your stay and commented on the cleanliness of our rooms. We know that other vistors will read your comments and stay with us.
Janet Gideon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2014

A clean, convenient hotel close to Yellowstone NP and it is located in West Yellowstone, a very small town right at the entrance to YNP. Perhaps West Yellowstone is the BEST place to stay if you are visiting YNP (unless you get the lodging inside the Park). You enter the Park immediately after leaving town and its a 12 mile drive to the various intersections in YNP. Complementary breakfast in the hotel so you don't go out in the morning looking for places to eat (there is big M in town).

Room Tip: Go early for breakfast before the tour groups arrive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank vetpathologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgideonkellyinns, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
We're glad you enjoyed your stay, we pride ourselves on our clean, comfortable rooms. West Yellowstone is a great location for visits to the park. We hope you visit us again soon.
Janet Gideon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My friends lived here felt very conveniet and comfort. Serveice people are kind. We will be back and book this hotel again. Hoping by the time we get there in Sep, 2014, you will have rooms for us. Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank luojiancass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgideonkellyinns, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for your comments and we're gald you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your visit in Sept. but remember that Autum in Yellowstone is a special experience so reserve early so you don't miss the beauty of the season.
Janet Gideon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitefish, Montana
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

High season so paid a premium. Room was clean with a convenient location on the first floor for our dogs. Overall a good overnight stay after our visit to Yellowstone. Free parking in the front of the hotel and a complementary breakfast. We did not eat breakfast so cannot comment on the food.

Room Tip: First floor if you have pets - rooms 115-127
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasTravellingMiMi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgideonkellyinns, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
We're happy you enjoyed your stay. Our location at the edge of town is great for pet owners because there is so much open space to walk and play with your dog just across the street. It's their vacation too! We hope you will visit us again soon.
Janet Gideon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We booked this hotel at the last minute after a scheduling mixup with another hotel (my fault). I was thankful they had a room, but it sure was expensive. We booked a two-bedroom/three queen suite for three nights and the total was around $850. However, the hotel was beautifully clean and furnished, the staff was kind and helpful, beds were very comfy, indoor pool clean and warm. It was pretty neat to swim in the pool while it was snowing outside! Breakfast was really good for a free hotel breakfast, especially since a simple breakfast of a few "value" items for four at McDonald's in West Yellowstone ran us $25. The breakfast area was quite large, even though it seemed like all 300 people in the hotel came down at 8am sharp. Overall, we were very pleased with the West Gate, but next time we'll be sure to not book the last room in town.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgideonkellyinns, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Thank you for visiting Yellowstone West Gate Hotel. Our 3 queen guest room is great for families and we're glad it fit your last minute needs. We hope you will visit again in the future.
Janet Gideon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Staff was very nice. Breakfast ok. that the dining area was clean and well stocked. Rooms nice and clean. It was a comfortable stay.
The West entrance to Yellowstone is only a couple of minutes away. so the location is great

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank TonyShi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgideonkellyinns, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Thanks for you comments. I know future guests will appreciate your experience and make their reservation with us.
Janet Gideon
Yellowstone West Gate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.7 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
732 reviews
0.5 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#9 of 39 in West Yellowstone
699 reviews
0.6 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#1 of 39 in West Yellowstone
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#6 of 39 in West Yellowstone
558 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stage Coach Inn
Stage Coach Inn
#27 of 39 in West Yellowstone
548 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Desert Inn
Best Western Desert Inn
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellowstone West Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowstone West Gate Hotel

Property: Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Address: 638 Madison Ave, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9547 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yellowstone West Gate Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWLY REMODELED IN 2011. 79 Rooms, large family rooms available, non-smoking facility, large indoor heated pool & spa, complimentary deluxe HOT breakfast daily, complimentary high-speed/Wi-Fi internet, guest laundry, business room, free parking, information about Yellowstone Park tours. Only 6 blocks from entrance gate into Yellowstone National Park. AAA and AARP approved. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Yellowstone West Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel West Yellowstone
Comfort Inn West Yellowstone
West Yellowstone Comfort Inn
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel West Yellowstone, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing