We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very thoughtful and kind”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Ranked #13 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We had two children in wheelchairs and the clerk let us eat our supper in the breakfast area. It was late and we were all hungry. It was very thoughtful of her. The breakfast waitress also was very helpful in getting breakfast for the children in wheelchairs. Thank-you for your kindness.

Room Tip: Hotel is away from the center of town. The 3 queen room only has one bathroom... not good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rod W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgideonkellyinns, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Thank you for your comments, we're glad we were able to help in anyway to make your stay more comfortable.
Janet Gideon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (603)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

454 - 460 of 603 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

Good location to Yellowstone West entrance. Nice big rooms
. The only problem was a very slow internet connection, it took more than 15 minutes to get connected and Then the connection was very slow. Breakfast room was a bit crowded.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rune F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgideonkellyinns, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Thank you for staying with us. Sorry you found the internet to be slow. During peak hours with many of our guests checking emails at the same time it can slow the system. We also offer a business center with with two computers available to our guests. We're glad you found everything else as a "good experience".
Janet Gideon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Not many places to stay in this town when busy, so we take what's available. The rooms are nice, but pricey. You have to scramble to get to breakfast, which was the normal style, as it is crazy busy. Would probably look around before spending money on this hotel again.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank sunriser1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgideonkellyinns, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Thank you for your comments, summer is our peak season and things are very busy. A great time to visit Yellowstone for less crowded accomodations and lower rates would be May and Sept. The fall season in Yellowstone is beautiful we hope you will try us again during the slower season.
Janet Gideon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed 3 nights. After 5 nights in Yellowstone cabins, this seemed luxurious! There are plenty of places to eat in West Yellowstone, and though the hotel is on the edge of town, nothing is far away. It is about a 45 minute drive to Old Faithful, so this is a reasonable alternative to staying in the park. The rooms were large and clean with a refrigerator. The AC fan would stay on all night to drown out the noise, which was useful. The place was not designed with noise suppression in mind. You can hear your neighbors, and it sounded like we had tap-dancing Clydesdales above us. Ask for the top floor. The pool was fairly large, clean, and warm! The kids loved it. Breakfast was the average hotel deal with waffle makers, scrambled eggs, and those miniature muffins. The breakfast room needs to be larger since people had trouble finding a place to sit. Wi-Fi could be painfully slow in the evening, to the point of being unusable. There are many hotels in West Yellowstone. This one is a good balance between cost and large enough for a family.

Room Tip: A room on the top floor will decrease the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WXRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgideonkellyinns, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Thank you for your comments. We've added outdoor seating and seating in the pool area to help accomodate the busy morning breakfast crowd. There are also table and chairs in each guest rooms. Some guests come down early to avoid the crowd, breakfast is served between 6 am and 9 am. We hope you will stay with again in the future.
Janet Gideon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We just returned from our second trip to the Yellowstone/Grand Teton area in 2 years. After moving around to 4 different hotels the last time, we decided to make West Yellowstone our home base for the duration of our stay this time. Jan and the front desk staff did a super job of making us feel right at home. They recommend some great places to eat dinner in town. The hotel breakfast was good and Mary Lou was so friendly and helpful. Every day she would ask us about the prior day and what we had seen and done.
I also want to make note of the cleanliness of the bathroom in our room. We have stayed in a lot of hotels over the years, but I can say this was probably the cleanest bathroom we've ever had.
would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgideonkellyinns, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

We're glad you enjoyed your stay and commented on the cleanliness of our rooms. We know that other vistors will read your comments and stay with us.
Janet Gideon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

A clean, convenient hotel close to Yellowstone NP and it is located in West Yellowstone, a very small town right at the entrance to YNP. Perhaps West Yellowstone is the BEST place to stay if you are visiting YNP (unless you get the lodging inside the Park). You enter the Park immediately after leaving town and its a 12 mile drive to the various intersections in YNP. Complementary breakfast in the hotel so you don't go out in the morning looking for places to eat (there is big M in town).

Room Tip: Go early for breakfast before the tour groups arrive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank vetpathologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgideonkellyinns, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

We're glad you enjoyed your stay, we pride ourselves on our clean, comfortable rooms. West Yellowstone is a great location for visits to the park. We hope you visit us again soon.
Janet Gideon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My friends lived here felt very conveniet and comfort. Serveice people are kind. We will be back and book this hotel again. Hoping by the time we get there in Sep, 2014, you will have rooms for us. Thank you!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank luojiancass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgideonkellyinns, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you for your comments and we're gald you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your visit in Sept. but remember that Autum in Yellowstone is a special experience so reserve early so you don't miss the beauty of the season.
Janet Gideon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.5 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
613 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#8 of 39 in West Yellowstone
805 reviews
0.6 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#3 of 39 in West Yellowstone
1,001 reviews
0.5 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#10 of 39 in West Yellowstone
771 reviews
0.5 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#15 of 39 in West Yellowstone
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellowstone West Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowstone West Gate Hotel

Address: 638 Madison Ave, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9547 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range: £155 - £263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yellowstone West Gate Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean, comfortable and friendly 79 Rooms, large family rooms available, non-smoking facility, large indoor heated pool & spa, complimentary deluxe HOT breakfast daily, complimentary high-speed/Wi-Fi internet, guest laundry, business room, free parking, information about Yellowstone Park tours. Only 6 blocks from entrance gate into Yellowstone National Park. AAA and AARP approved. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Yellowstone West Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel West Yellowstone
Comfort Inn West Yellowstone
West Yellowstone Comfort Inn
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel West Yellowstone, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing