We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel for families”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Ranked #12 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice hotel for families”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We had 2 double beds with a pull out sofa. The largest hotel room we ever had! Very nice fro a family of 5. Room was quiet. Beds were comfortable. With 3 kids, continental breakfast and swimming pool/hot tub was a plus. This looked like the best hotel in the area. None of the other hotels looked as new or nice in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Rick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgideonkellyinns, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for your comment. We appreciate the feedback and we're happy you enjoyed your stay.
Janet Gideon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    179
    106
    33
    19
See reviews for
239
162
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Uniontown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

This property was at the west entrance to Yellowstone and only 30 miles away from Old Faithful which was what we were looking for. It was very clean with everything working in the room. The staff was very accommodating to every request we made. The laundry facilities were spotless and available for use at any time. We had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgideonkellyinns, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for your comment, we enjoy hearing from our guests. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope you return soon.
Janet Gideon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

The hotel is located in the center of town and give all necessary services.
Wonderful service basic American breakfast.The rooms are comfortable and clean. Staff were kind and welcoming. Price per nigh/.t is a relatively high level of the hotel

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ronen n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgideonkellyinns, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for your comment. During peak season, demand is very high, our rates reflect that. Spring and Fall are great times to visit Yellowstone, I hope you can take advantage of that season decrease and stay with us again. We look forward to your next visit.
Janet Gideon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

For nearly $300 a night, you would expect the wifi to work. You might also be surprised by the lack of circulation in the private bedroom that is not attached in any way to the room's AC unit. You might also expect the sink to not be located outside the bathroom. Small, expensive, hard beds.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgideonkellyinns, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for your comment. We listen and make improvements becasue of you.
Janet Gideon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

I booked this room because it was the last night of a last minute trip to Yellowstone, and I had been staying in a hotel over an hour away. The room was expensive--about $275 per night, but not the $400 or so bucks per night of other hotels in the area, so I took the room cause I was sick of driving 100 miles just to get to the park. Also, I am from Utah and I have stayed at the Westgate resort in Park City several times, so I was hoping and expecting a similar quality here. I was please with the very friendly and helpful staff but disappointed in the room. This hotel is obviously remodeled from another name brand. It is older and dated. The room was not particularly large, even though it was advertised that way. I had a single queen. There was a microwave and fridge in the room, It was hot and the a/c was really loud. I had a window but the only view was an old wooden fence about 2 feet from the window. The room seemed to be clean, the bedding was okay. Wifi was very slow and took more than one attempt to connect. When I complained about it, I was told that there is only one server for all of West Yellowstone and it gets really slow at night. Once I connected, it was okay. I did not have breakfast or use anything else at the hotel. Like I said the staff was great, but the place is dated and in need of a full remodel and facelift. As it is now, it does not meet up to the Westgate standards. Would I stay there again? Yes if I could not find a comparably priced hotel in that area. Otherwise not.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jjjames0614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgideonkellyinns, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for your comments. We are not a "Westgate Hotel", we are the Yellowstone West Gate Hotel and in the family of Kelly Inns. I'm sorry you were confused. I see that because of your last minute reservation, the only room still available was the barrier free single queen room. The bathroom in that guest room is larger to accomodate a wheelchair so the bedroom area is a smaller than our standard rooms. We were fully renovated 3 years ago in a modern decor with flat screen TV's, microwave, and mini fridge in each room. I'm sorry you did not enjoy your stay.
Janet Gideon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Other than the lack of enough space and tables in the breakfast lounge everything was great! The only complaint I was have it the price. It was a little costly of a nightly rate. I would chose a less expensive hotel unless nothing else is available. The hotel host at night was friendly, but the day staff not as friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weber88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgideonkellyinns, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for your comments, they help us improve and we hope you will stay with us again when your visit West Yellowstone.
Janet Gideon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

I usually try to rate based on experience/price. I think price is really important.
So, here it goes. The room was clean and nice. The walls were paper and I could hear the conversation of my neighbors. The first night there were children all around running (this is their parents fault, not the hotel's). Breakfast was ok, but there was NO fruit, just a fruit salad that looked like two months old (my thought, they don't put fruit so you don't steal it and take it to the park with you for free...). The first day we were not able to find a seat at any table. There are like 10 tables, for a really huge hotel. Our room was by the door and parking lot so I kept hearing people coming and going all night (I thought people in these places just went to the hotel to sleep and then go trekking in the morning, but it looks like they also like partying, hehehe).
I paid 249$ a night + taxes. If I had paid 90$ then my rating would be a 4, but paying this amount of money for this, is not worth it :(
The staff was super friendly, which is also super important to me.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank txilibrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgideonkellyinns, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for your comments. We try to mention to guests that sometimes if they come down early for breakfast there is less of a crowd, when everyone tries to have breakfast at once it does get a bit busy. We have additional seating in the lobby, by the pool and outside. There is also a dining table and chairs in each room.
Janet Gideon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.5 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#10 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
0.6 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#3 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
0.5 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#7 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
0.5 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#14 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellowstone West Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowstone West Gate Hotel

Property: Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Address: 638 Madison Ave., West Yellowstone, MT 59758 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yellowstone West Gate Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWLY REMODELED IN 2011. 79 Rooms, large family rooms available, non-smoking facility, large indoor heated pool & spa, complimentary deluxe HOT breakfast daily, complimentary high-speed/Wi-Fi internet, guest laundry, business room, free parking, information about Yellowstone Park tours. Only 6 blocks from entrance gate into Yellowstone National Park. AAA and AARP approved. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Yellowstone West Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel West Yellowstone
Comfort Inn West Yellowstone
West Yellowstone Comfort Inn
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel West Yellowstone, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing