We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yellowstone west gate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Ranked #12 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Vanves, France
1 review
“Yellowstone west gate”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I stayed in this hôtel 4 years ago and when I came back this year with friends, I didn't hesitate to choose this hotel. Very well located to visit Yellowstone national park. We appreciate the business center.
The breakfast room is too small.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Pierre_Henri_1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgideonkellyinns, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for your comments, we are glad you are a repeat customer. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you return soon.
Janet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    181
    107
    33
    19
See reviews for
243
162
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This is a decent hotel if you want a standard room, essentially a place to crash. They have decent comfort inn style breakfast. However, if you, like us, want an ADA accessible room then good luck. Not that they don't have such rooms, but the facilities are not at par which I have seen in other similar hotels. For e.g., the toilet seat is too low, the shower is a tub rather than a roll in.

Also, we booked a two room suite and it turns out one of the bedrooms didn't have ac (it was broken). They didn't even bother informing us about it at check in. When we figured it out the hard way and called the front desk, they acknowledged that it's broken and suggested that they can provide a "cooler", not an AC. The cooler was super noisy, but better than sleeping in hot muggy weather.

So, as I said, for a standard hotel with standard rooms, it seemed to be okay. But beware of special requests.

Another thing, the wifi is very patchy. We pretty much didn't get any coverage in our room. But you can get coverage in the lobby area and it's free.

That being said, they were very nice and tried to do what they could. However, it would have been best if they had been upfront initially.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Varun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgideonkellyinns, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you for your comment, I'm sorry you were confused about the room type on your reservation. We explained that the room type you booked was not an ADA room, but the room type was compatible with the number of people in your group. The air conditioner was in working order and we supplied an additional cooler for the separate bedroom because with the door closed the air condition in the main room would not cool the separate bedroom. If you visit again I would suggest one of our ADA rooms for two people and the rest of your family in one of our deluxe rooms. Then everyone would be cool and comfortable. We hope we can accommodate your family in the future with a better room selection.
Janet Gideon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed here for 4 days while we were on vacation visiting Yellowstone National Park. The hotel is very close to the West entrance of Yellowstone National Park which was a Big Plus. Our room was very clean and when we came back for the day room service always took care of our room. Breakfast was another plus so that we could eat and then go on our way for the day. The staff "Jan" and "Mary Lou" were exceptionally "AWESOME". They both went out of their way to help us as needed. We would highly recommend this hotel .

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite which was quite , lot of room, full kitchen which came in very handy..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank sassy0076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgideonkellyinns, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you for your comments. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope you can visit again soon.
Janet Gideon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederikssund
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Okay hotel with good swimming pool, spa and wifi. Walking distance to restaurants. Breakfast can be a challenge, because there are only a few seats. West gate is close to the park without actually being there

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ibkpede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgideonkellyinns, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you for your comments. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. Our breakfast room seats 40 people and is in operation from 6 am to 9 am. Sometimes everyone comes at once so it fills up fast. We have provided extra seating outside on the patio. We hope you will visit again.
Janet Gideon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHANGHAI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The location is just a second away from western entrance of yellow stone natioan park. The room is clean and tidy, the breakfast is simple but yummy, the facility is quiet good. Most importantly, the staff there are always nice and friendly (We met a staff whose name is Jan ans she is so nice and helpful), very impressive.

Room Tip: Location is wonderful, service is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank bonniezhubb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgideonkellyinns, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your comments. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. All of our staff (including Jan!) goes out of their way to make your stay more pleasant. And we know all the best places restaurants in town. We hope you will visit again soon.
Janet Gideon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west deptford, nj, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed for 2 nights at the Yellowstone West Gate Hotel with family and had an enjoyable stay. No real issues with the hotel and breakfast was great. Hotel was at 100% capacity during the peak season. The price was a bit high but I guess they can charge those rates when you have demand.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgideonkellyinns, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us, we're glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again when you vist Yellowstone.
Janet Gideon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The Yellowstone West Gate, as described by someone else, is fine. The room was well decorated and clean. The beds were comfortable. The walls were thin as we heard the TV from the room next door. Staff is friendly and accommodating. Very overpriced, but that is the norm in an area with fairly limited lodging.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank RalphFDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgideonkellyinns, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thank you for staying with and leaving your comment. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon.
Janet Gideon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.5 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#10 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
0.6 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#3 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
0.5 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#6 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
0.5 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#14 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellowstone West Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowstone West Gate Hotel

Property: Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Address: 638 Madison Ave, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9547 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yellowstone West Gate Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWLY REMODELED IN 2011. 79 Rooms, large family rooms available, non-smoking facility, large indoor heated pool & spa, complimentary deluxe HOT breakfast daily, complimentary high-speed/Wi-Fi internet, guest laundry, business room, free parking, information about Yellowstone Park tours. Only 6 blocks from entrance gate into Yellowstone National Park. AAA and AARP approved. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Yellowstone West Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel West Yellowstone
Comfort Inn West Yellowstone
West Yellowstone Comfort Inn
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel West Yellowstone, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing