We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stop on our journey” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yellowstone West Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Ranked #12 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Bethesda, MD
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great stop on our journey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

We only stayed here one night because we were able to get rooms inside Yellowstone for the rest of the trip but after a long drive from SLC, we were looking forward to a nice, comfortable, clean place to rest our heads and that's exactly what we found. The free continental breakfast was great, too. I agree with another reviewer that the wi-fi signal is weak, especially in the rooms, but for us it was just one night so it wasn't so bad. Convenient location in a small town - no complaints!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank spaghetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgideonkellyinns, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for your comment. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope you will return soon.
Janet Gideon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    178
    106
    33
    19
See reviews for
238
162
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Nice hotel situated on Western edge of West Yellowstone. Large, clean, room, with comfy beds. Hotel is maintained well. A little pricey at 300/night in the summer, but all hotels in the area are pricey with close proximity to Yellowstone park!! Hotel's location makes it quiet, and off the beaten path of tourists. Hotel staff will tell you best places to eat on main street. Morning breakfast was very good. Only complaint is they did not have complimentary newspapers at front desk (you would think they would for the price of the room). I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Book early in the summer. If I had waited just a few more days (booked over 2 weeks in advance), the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgideonkellyinns, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for your comment. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and we will look into the possibility of providing a free Bozeman newspaper. We do provide a local free paper in the lobby. Many guests enjoy reading about the local events and activities while they are in town. We hope you are able to visit us again.
Thanks
Janet Gideon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Ramon, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Great services gave me the warm feeling. The pool is awesome and the spa is well too. But people have to book it as quick as possible. Because the room is limited. I strongly suggest here to stay. Also, it is quiet near Yellow Stone National Park. However, if you book the hotel inside the park, it is much more expensive than this one. Enjoy the trip.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank AaronXu311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgideonkellyinns, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
We're glad you enjoyed your stay, thanks for your comments. We hope you will visit again soon.
Janet Gideon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

A dark room without view. A breakfast not very tasty and overcrowed by groups. We were 4 nights and it was expesnive. Fortunately the location is perfect.
Oh I forget ! When the restrooms in the room blocked... they give me at the reception the "tool" to do the job by myself. I made the choice to laugh. It was in August 2014

Room Tip: verify that the rooms are on second floor (american second floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank f283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgideonkellyinns, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thank you for your comments. I noticed that you took advantage of our discounted King room with the obstructed view. We always tell people that this room rate is less expensive because there is not a great view out the window, but so many people reserve it without reading the room description. We have groups in during the peak summer months. Try staying with us in the spring and fall if you would like to avoid the groups. We hope you will visit again during this slower time.
Janet Gideon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rolling Hills Estates, California, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

I stayed with my families.
It located near the West Gate of the Yellowstone National Park, and there are a lot of restaurant nearby. Room was clean and breakfast was fine. But, free Wi-fi was not so good for its speed.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank toshihiko2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgideonkellyinns, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thank you for your comments, we enjoy hearing from our guests. We hope you will visit again soon.
Janet Gideon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Our five nights stay with a two queen bed room was good. The price is high ($300) in the high season of summer YS but comparable to the rest in the small town with just one traffic light.

The room is cleaned very well very day. Unfortunately, wifi signal is very weak in the room.

Staff is very friend. They helped us booking reservation for restaurants, mailing out post cards and providing printed answer for tourist related question.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Juan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgideonkellyinns, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thank you for your comment, we enjoy hearing from our guests. Our staff return year over year and are happy to recommend restaurants and activities around town. We hope you will visit again soon.
Janet Gideon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

The Staff of this hotel is excellent,remarkable and very very friendly.Special thanks to Mr Terry Edwards for his awesome customer service,beside,Jane,Becka and Merry(Breakfast lady) were excellent.I would love to stay in this hotel in future also.I fully recommend this hotel to all tourist visiting yellow stone.
Dr KHALID CHOHAN

Room Tip: Travelers need to book this hotel much in advance to enjoy staying there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Khalid C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgideonkellyinns, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thank you for your comments, we like hearing from our guests. So many people tell us they go to trip adviser before making a reservation and your comments help them decide to choose Yellowstone West Gate Hotel.
We hope you will visit again soon.
Janet Gideon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.5 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#10 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
0.5 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Weston Inn
BEST WESTERN Weston Inn
#11 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.5 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
#6 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellowstone West Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowstone West Gate Hotel

Property: Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Address: 638 Madison Ave., West Yellowstone, MT 59758 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yellowstone West Gate Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWLY REMODELED IN 2011. 79 Rooms, large family rooms available, non-smoking facility, large indoor heated pool & spa, complimentary deluxe HOT breakfast daily, complimentary high-speed/Wi-Fi internet, guest laundry, business room, free parking, information about Yellowstone Park tours. Only 6 blocks from entrance gate into Yellowstone National Park. AAA and AARP approved. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Yellowstone West Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel West Yellowstone
Comfort Inn West Yellowstone
West Yellowstone Comfort Inn
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel West Yellowstone, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing