We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice stay-very pleased”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Ranked #13 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Really nice stay-very pleased”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stayed here for 4 days. It is located just minutes outside the West Entrance to the park. The room was nice and clean. The woman who ran breakfast was very efficient and nice. The staff was accommodating. The locations was great, at the end of the street away from the village so it was super quiet.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor and I knew there were a lot of people staying here but it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgideonkellyinns, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our Hotel. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope you will visit again real soon.
Janet Gideon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    189
    112
    34
    19
See reviews for
258
167
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

A good hotel, clean, friendly staff, well situated for Yellowstone Park, breakfast is available from 6.30am which is important when wishing an early start to see the animals in the park. Kids loved the swimming pool.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Alan_F3063IX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgideonkellyinns, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell others about your stay with Yellowstone West Gate Hotel. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope you will visit again soon.
Janet Gideon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The staff was very friendly. The room was very clean. Nice new furniture. The location was good. The town was charming.
There were groups of tours staying at the hotel and breakfast was a very busy time. The staff working breakfast were very warm & welcoming and worked very hard to make sure things were full and everyone got what they needed.
We stayed 3 nights and we were pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgideonkellyinns, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for commenting on your stay. We're glad you enjoyed your visit to West Yellowstone. Our staff is very good at recommending restaurants and activities in town. We hope you will visit again soon.
Janet Gideon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manteca, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Clean! Perfect spot to stay to enter west yellowstone! West entrance is a good side to enter the park! See a lot of stuff right away old faithful near this entrance. Good breakfast. Would stay again. Friendly stuff

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nsouza81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgideonkellyinns, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for your comments. We strive for "perfect" we're glad you enjoyed your stay, we hope to see you again soon.
Janet Gideon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

While this hotel was nothing particularly special, it is clean and comfortable and centrally location in the town and close to the Yellowstone entrance. The staff were all friendly and there was nothing wrong with the room, however the walls are very thin so you can hear conversations and TV from the next rooms. The breakfast is complimentary, but there's nothing much if you want to eat healthy (no fresh fruit and the only cereal is full of sugar). While there's no wow factor with the hotel, it was all we needed for our trip to Yellowstone, and the town itself was really nice to stay in.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Luke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgideonkellyinns, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. We try to provide some good healthy breakfast options like, yogurt with fruit cocktail, oatmeal and wheat toast or bagel. We've had several guest that enjoy our waffles with berry cobbler on top instead of syrup. Your comments help us improve, we'll look for more healthy options.
Janet Gideon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westlake, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This hotel was the disappointment of an otherwise perfect vacation through Cody, Yellowstone, Snowy Range and Cheyenne, Wyoming. The hotel is old and the circa 1970's air conditioning unit rattled violently to life approximately every 45 minutes. There were two settings, low and high and the only option was to unplug the unit, which we chose not to do. This was an expensive and poor quality experience. I will stay at hotel chains in the future that offer a better value.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon6619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgideonkellyinns, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for your comments. Maybe you can make another trip to visit in the fall when rates are discounted due to lower demand. If you let the front desk know that the air conditioner was not operating correctly we would be happy to move you to another room or replace the air conditioner. We respond to problems as quickly as we know about them.
Janet Gideon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We were looking for a hotel with 3 beds, a pool & breakfast with good reviews. This had it all! We had a 3rd floor suite. The room was very clean & the beds were comfortable. Room had a fridge to put our cooler items in. Hotel staff very helpful with area questions & our additional needs. Recommend & would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hermanmom5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgideonkellyinns, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment about your stay. We love hearing from our guests and we hope you return soon.
Janet Gideon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.7 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
732 reviews
0.6 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#1 of 39 in West Yellowstone
683 reviews
0.5 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#9 of 39 in West Yellowstone
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#6 of 39 in West Yellowstone
558 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Desert Inn
Best Western Desert Inn
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
688 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stage Coach Inn
Stage Coach Inn
#27 of 39 in West Yellowstone
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellowstone West Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowstone West Gate Hotel

Property: Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Address: 638 Madison Ave, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9547 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yellowstone West Gate Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWLY REMODELED IN 2011. 79 Rooms, large family rooms available, non-smoking facility, large indoor heated pool & spa, complimentary deluxe HOT breakfast daily, complimentary high-speed/Wi-Fi internet, guest laundry, business room, free parking, information about Yellowstone Park tours. Only 6 blocks from entrance gate into Yellowstone National Park. AAA and AARP approved. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Yellowstone West Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel West Yellowstone
Comfort Inn West Yellowstone
West Yellowstone Comfort Inn
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel West Yellowstone, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing