We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My favourite week so far!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bay Point on the Lake

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay Point on the Lake
Whitefish, Montana
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“My favourite week so far!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

Even though the air conditioning and decor could do with a spruce up, this place was wonderful and I would definitely go back again. The lake was wonderful and the staff always helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Make sure the a/c is working ok or at least is quite new!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    4
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
9
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

Though there was nothing posh about it, Bay Point on the Lake was the perfect place for a weekend getaway in Montana. "Rooms" are more like 1 bd condos, and lake-view rooms not only have lake VIEWS, but direct lake access complete with balcony, gas grill, and private beach. Many rooms are pet friendly, and the grounds are spacious and green. Our only complaints: daily housekeeping is not included, but is available for an additional fee, and customer service desk hours are very limited. The soundproofing between rooms could use some work, but thankfully we had relatively subdued neighbors. :) Overall, we definitely recommend this resort for its location, comfort, and amenities.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bourbun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

This place is a collection of condos owned by different individuals, so each condo may look different than the next. The unit where I stayed was clean, comfortable. It is decorated in a cabin/rustic theme while still looking fairly modern. It had a fully furnished kitchen, lots of towels and toiletries. The overall facilities on the grounds, which include a swimming pool, hot tub, sauna and laundry, are a bit dated. The beautiful lake is only a few steps away, and the view of the lake and the mountains is very nice. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VaneTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lvoregon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

I stayed here on a whim. I was late with planning my trip to Glacier and just wanted a place off a busy road and had a kitchenette. And well, I'm not disappointed. We stayed in a condo up from the bay on the bottom floor, we can hear the neighbors occasionally, but nothing that interfered with sleep or reading. The kitchen is well stocked for something that probably gets a lot of traffic. It has a good stove with oven, dishwasher, blender, coffee maker, silverware, plates, etc. Mom and I were able to go to grocery store and actually cook, it gets tiring and expensive to always eat at restaurants while on vacation. It's a little bit of a drive to glacier parks, but the city of Whitefish is really nice and quaint. However, be prepared for tight parking for those with big cars, and it is within walking distance of central Whitefish but not a convenient distance.

Room Tip: You can pay a little more for a better bay view, but its worth saving money to save the views for Gl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lvoregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2010

This was our 5th and last summer staying there. We used to go for 2 weeks in July and 2 weeks in August but will be heading to Lakeside on Flathead for our next trip. For starters the extra charge for a boat slip is outrageous, how can they justify charging such a hefty fee over and above the $175 a night. This year during our 2 week stay we were not allowed fresh towels or linens mid-stay unless we wanted to pay a fee for the service!!! How outrageous is that??? To do laundry on site was a cost of $6.50 to wash and dry a load, the laudry in town cost me $1.75 a load...travelling with a family of 5 we had at least 2 loads a day. Then there was the toilet paper issue, we had to go buy a case as they would not let us have any over and above the 3 rolls in the unit at check in! Can you make 3 rolls last 5 people 2 weeks??? At first we didn't mind the age of the property but now that we've stayed in nearly every unit in the rental pool we are tired of old run down furniture, tv's from 1982 etc. I saw a quote and agree with it 100%, beware, you are getting Motel 6 quality accommodations at a 5 star Hyatt price!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MonicaT1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olympia, WA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2010

We absolutely love this place! My family has come back every summer for the past six years. These are converted condos, which makes it nice because each unit has a private living room, bedroom(s), kitchen, deck and bathroom. The resort is right on Whitefish Lake with beach and dock privileges. Additionally, there is an indoor pool and hot tub, as well as volleyball court and small playground. Each and every day there were deer on the grounds. This is a part of our family tradition, and I can't say enough good things about it. Please don't expect a five-star resort, because this it is not. However, we couldn't ask for more for a family-friendly destination. We ♥ Montana!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theresacasper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golftraveler50
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2009

Just finished a one week stay at Bay Point. The location is nice, but the units are really on the low end. Very cheaply constructed, very low-end appointments, appliances, etc. and no real attention to details. Woke up one night with a screeching noise - the bearings on the hot water heat pump had burned out. Dryer made such a racket that it couldn't be run if anyone was trying to nap.

A/C in only in the main room so the downstairs and the main floor bedroom are not cooled. It didn't work when we arrived because the filter had 1/4 on dust on it.

Perhaps other units are better maintained, but this one wasn't.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Golftraveler50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Whitefish hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitefish hotels
1.1 mi away
The Firebrand Hotel
The Firebrand Hotel
#7 of 16 in Whitefish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rocky Mountain Lodge
4.1 mi away
Kandahar Lodge
Kandahar Lodge
#8 of 16 in Whitefish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
#2 of 16 in Whitefish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grouse Mountain Lodge
Grouse Mountain Lodge
#6 of 16 in Whitefish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pine Lodge
Pine Lodge
#5 of 16 in Whitefish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Point on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Point on the Lake

Property: Bay Point on the Lake
Address: 300 Bay Point Drive, Whitefish, MT 59937
Region: United States > Montana > Whitefish
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Whitefish
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Point on the Lake 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vacation Rentals on the water and the snow. Welcome to the Montana Experience! At Montana's Best Vacation Rentals we deliver inspiring accommodations and adventure filled experiences. We are proud of our dedicated professional staff who always go the extra mile to ensure you get the most out of your vacation. We are located in the heart of Northwest Montana in Whitefish, MT and Bigfork, MT. The Flathead Valley is home to Glacier National Park, Flathead Lake and Whitefish Mountain Ski Resort. The properties we offer are hand-selected and personally managed. When you step in the door of one of Montana's Best private vacation homes, condos or cabins we ensure that you will be entering - not just a house - but a home. We think the rental process should be easy. There is no office to check into, and no keys to pick-up. All the conveniences of home are supplied in each rental unit for your leisure. Whether you come to Montana to enjoy the splendor of nature, the company of loved ones or just to have a little relaxation, you can rest easy knowing that we are available 24/7 to personally answer your phone calls. This is professional service; this is Montana's Best Vacation Rentals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Bay Point on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Point On The Lake Hotel Whitefish
Bay Point On The Lake Whitefish, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing