We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint BBQ”
Review of Piggyback Barbeque

Piggyback Barbeque
Ranked #20 of 90 Restaurants in Whitefish
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$21
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Takeout
Whitefish, Montana
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Quaint BBQ”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My fallback for good BBQ. I usually do takeout but they have a cool indoor area and some picnic tables outside. Check out the menu for different sorts of items. The cole-slaw is different than anywhere else - I like it. They always seem to be busy. A couple of times they forgot part of my order so it would be good to check it before leaving if ordering out.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMLinne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    92
    41
    15
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Real BBQ”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I traveled for the day from Kalispell while on vacation, to look around Whitefish, coming back from the hill we saw the sign and smelled the smoke, this place is great real BBQ food not like Famous Dave's in Kalispell. I had the Grit sandwich was huge I only ordered a half still could not finish it.
Looking for a real BBQ place its worth the trip.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Juneze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
181 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Try another place...The Backroom in Columbia Falls”
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

We were not pleased with: dry, dry brisket with saucing that appears to be an afterthought. The sauce was great, though. The hushpuppies were over cooked, too sweet and denser than rocks in the river. I thought the Cole slaw was sub par, others said just okay. The brews were fresh; that worked. Service slower than molasses in January, although friendly. Too much activity at the teeny tiny bar, seemed to occupy the waitperson. We've had much better tasting food with a full bar in Columbia Falls. Plus the fry bread there is out of this world.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hood River, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Barbeque”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Good Casual Dining. All homemade bbq sauses. Yummy buffalo chips (fried potatoes ;) The service was as friendly as I think the entire state of Montana appears to be.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank KBHORRELL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“"True Grit!!"”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

First let me start off by saying that I'm a true BBQ afficianado. Everything they make is good. Pulled pork, brisket, ribs all very good. I do love the "True Grit Sandwhich"!! Are you man enough to try one??? I would say if you like BBQ and you are headed to Whitefish, Piggy Back is a must!! If you go FlyBoarding with FlyBoard of Montana we always get them for lunch!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Justin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Piggyback Barbeque also viewed

 

Been to Piggyback Barbeque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing