We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Honeymoon at the Garden Wall Inn”
Review of Garden Wall Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Whitefish
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Garden Wall Inn
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Whitefish
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 2 April 2013

If you are seeking an elegant, world-class experience snuggled into a small town Alpine environment this is it!

From the moment we arrived to even the final minutes of our departure, this Inn surpassed our every expectation. My husband and I have traveled extensively to the very best locations the U.S. has to offer, and we both agreed that the attention to detail here is exceptional.

We arrived late in the evening via the Amtrak terminal and walked the 6 convenient blocks through the downtown area in order to fully absorb the Whitefish atmosphere. The Inn stands out even before you arrive as we turned the corner and saw the soft white lights draped around the building sparkling in the evening snow. Upon arrival, we were personally and warmly greeted by Chris with a "real" fire prepared in the fireplace and soft jazz playing in the background. Quite a sight and sensation for weary travelers!

When we entered our room, we had champagne, fresh flowers, and chocolate with hand-written notes of congratulations that had been left for us on silver serving trays. The chocolate is local and is also left with a handwritten note at turn-down each evening.

The Inn, rooms, and individual bathrooms are vintage - with meticulous surprises in decorating at every turn. If you enjoy a great collection of books, there are many to choose from during your stay.

Having been a lifelong resident of Whitefish, Chris is eager to share not only local history, but entertaining and informative personal and family experiences about Glacier National Park with anyone that inquires. Should you desire, they offer ideas for dining and day trips that you may not have known about or considered. Chris is also an amazing Chef - our breakfasts and appetizers [served daily in the afternoon] were delicious and creatively presented - most with local ingredients.

Upon our very early morning departure, we were left a personalized note with a breakfast that had been prepared in advance of the other guests - this included very thoughtful items that took into account our personal preferences [learned and remembered during our stay]. Two words: Wow and amazing in today's world!

We enjoyed meeting the other guests and learning about their daily hiking excursions and skiing adventures.

Don't miss this unique opportunity to pamper yourself and/or your family.

Well done Chris and Rhonda - we will return and send many referrals your way!

Room Tip: Call the Inn direct - they are very helpful and can offer further information about the individual r...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee Ann E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
There are newer reviews for Garden Wall Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2013

My wife and I stayed here in October 2012. We are both in the restaurant business ( I am a chef and she is a FOH manager). We travel often and the stay we had at the Garden Wall Inn was one of our finest stays anywhere. The little things like coffee or tea delivered in the mornings and chocolates on the bed at night make a big difference. Chris is a very devoted inn keeper that has perfected his art.
My wife and I will return!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

The Garden Wall Inn is a must when you are in Whitefish. The host Chris excelled in exceeding all expectations. Upon arrival there are refreshments at the fireplace. Breakfast is probably one of 'the' best breakfasts I have ever had! The home has an interesting library and is within walking distance to Whitefish. I really enjoyed the commitment to local businesses and food producers.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

My husband and I came to Whitefish to celebrate our 35th anniversary. Our stay of 3 nights at the Garden Wall Inn were so relaxing.... we were pampered and made comfortable. We loved the morning coffee- bought 2 pds in town to take home. Breakfast is very special. Any help or advise we needed while there was perfect, but they also know when to let a person have time to themselves... not at all overbearing.
We enjoyed the short walk to town, great food and shopping. The train does get you to Whitefish in the morning....0730, we went to Amazing Crepes for breakfast, they have a spa in the back.... so massage and pedi were a good way to kill some time until check in.

Room Tip: We had the king and were very comfortable. Might bring earplugs if road noise bothers you.... It is...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Suz243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here 2 years ago, and returned Labor Day weekend 2012 with our 21 year old son on college break. We would not consider anywhere else in Whitefish or around Glacier Natl Park. The accommodations are outstanding, and Chris and Rhonda are phenomenal hosts. Guests are treated like family. An example, our son slept past breakfast on the first morning after a late night flight. No problem, as breakfast was saved, and served to him as we were leaving for our hike. Chris and Rhonda are extremely plugged in, and their recommendations on restaurants and hiking were perfect. We are already planning our next visit. Trust us, you will not find a better B and B with friendlier hosts anywhere.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TMACMemphis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012 via mobile

I have never stayed at a bed and breakfast. I have been pampered by Marriott rewards all my traveling life. Rhonda an Chris make you feel like a guest and a friend. I don't think I would ever stay anywhere else. Just when you think it doesn't get any nicer, Chris will pour a glass of wine an put another log on the fire. After that You snuggle into a comfy bed and wake up to one of Rhonda's amazing breakfast!

I will stay nowhere else

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ronixwake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Great B&B option in Whitefish. Very convenient walk to town. Excellent access to restaurants and jogging trail. As other customers have stated Chris and Rhonda have developed a great B&B model focusing on personal service and a gourmet breakfast. French pressed coffee delivered to your room 30 minutes prior to breakfast .... what more can I say.
I will take exception to several reviewers’ comments with regard to the Garden Wall's physical location. The front of the Inn is located on highway 93. Over the years this road has become a major north/south though fare running through Whitefish. Road noise caused by the large volume of traffic passing in front of the Inn is noticeable. Several guests that had rooms on the front side of the Inn mentioned this to me.
Overall if you are looking for a B&B experience in Whitefish, Mt. the Garden Wall would be a good choice.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tryon_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitefish
0.2 mi away
The Firebrand Hotel
The Firebrand Hotel
#7 of 17 in Whitefish
160 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Whitefish
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Kandahar Lodge
Kandahar Lodge
#8 of 17 in Whitefish
323 reviews
0.2 mi away
Downtowner Inn
Downtowner Inn
#16 of 17 in Whitefish
71 reviews
17.5 mi away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Wall Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Wall Inn

Address: 504 Spokane Ave, Whitefish, MT 59937-2781
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Whitefish
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Whitefish
#1 Green Hotel in Whitefish
#1 Romantic Hotel in Whitefish
#4 Family Hotel in Whitefish
Price Range: £107 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Garden Wall Inn has been catering to discerning travelers since 1987. The impeccably restored 1920’s inn offers five luxurious guestrooms, each furnished with period antiques. Scrumptious three-course breakfasts are prepared by chef/owners Rhonda Fitzgerald and Chris Schustrom. The Inn is a convenient one-block walk from downtown Whitefish’s excellent restaurants, shops and nightspots. Only 25 minutes from Glacier National Park, the Inn is the perfect base for exploring the Park. The Inn is built in the "Colonial Revival" style with a gambrel roof and clapboard siding. The interior is accented by original solid maple flooring, arts-and-crafts fir moldings, and beveled-glass french doors. The guestrooms’ private baths boast huge claw-foot tubs, pedestal sinks, and black-and-white art-deco tile. Oriental carpets and fine antique furniture complement the lovely rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Garden Wall Inn Whitefish, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing