We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional Service and Food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Garden Wall Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Whitefish
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Garden Wall Inn
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Whitefish
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Morton, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Exceptional Service and Food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Over the top service that is friendly, helpful and engaging (but not intrusive). Food is amazing. Can walk to any downtown dining or shopping places. One morning we got up early for hike in Glacier and missed breakfast and they had everything set up for us to have a packed breakfast to take with us for hike. The breakfast there are AMAZING. The little touches made it.

There were window fans which kept room cool, but did allow in a little noise.

Would go again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
137
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

The garden wall inn is located 2 blocks away from the downtown core of Whitefish. It is close enough to stroll into downtown and have dinner or go shopping, and far enough away to be quiet and relaxing.
We enjoyed our stay and really appreciated all the little special touches. Your day begins with a coffee or tea tray 30 mins before breakfast downstairs. The breakfasts we had included a fabulous fruit salad & then a main course. In the evening they offer snacks and a beverage (wine, beer, pop etc) and you can relax in their lovely living room before heading out for dinner or drinks. When you head to bed there is a chocolate and a note on the pillow.
In addition, Chris & Rhonda who run the place were fabulous and full of great suggestions for what to do & where to go.
I have told all my friends about this B&B!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, AB
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

My friend and I stayed at the Inn for a quick girls' getaway. We loved the place. The location is great, super quick walk to the shops and restaurants downtown and with ample parking. My only complaint is that it is next to a busy road so there was a little road noise with the windows open at night. However, that is my only complaint about the inn and it's pretty minor.

The room was a good size with ample closet space and comfy beds. We loved the bathroom with the claw-foot tub, rain head shower and fluffy towels and robes. The overhead heater option is a nice touch for when you pop out of the shower. The provided soaps and shampoos were good quality.

Even if our room had been terrible and the location was poor, I would return for the food and service. They cover every detail and it's nice to be pampered. From the civilized wake-up tea/coffee in the morning (super nice touch), AWESOME breakfasts which are big enough to skip lunch and are made with locally sourced ingredients, to the evening hors d'oeuvres the service is 5 star.

Loved it.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AliciaStevenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Our stay at the Garden Wall Inn was wonderful. They attend to every detail of your stay, to the 5 o'clock wine & cheese, right down to the chocolate on your pillow turn-down service. The only reason I could not give them a perfect 5 star rating was the bit of traffic noise from the busy street out front. I suggest bringing something for white noise if you are an especially light sleeper, as I am. And as everyone can attest, the breakfasts are excellent!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

We recently stayed at the Garden Wall Inn for a weekend and could not have been happier. Chris was an amazing host and the breakfast's we had blew us away. We loved the fact that they support all the local food suppliers and the ingredients were second to none. The location was perfect and we will most certainly be back soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

From beginning to end, our stay at the Garden Wall Inn was very, very nice… Both Chris and Rhonda were very welcoming, warm, accommodating and friendly. The home was quaint and very warm and inviting. Our room was well-appointed....neat as a button! The wine and appetizers - sensational. The breakfast - superb. Our total experience was a delight. We look forward to returning - same time next year! Thanks for a top-shelf experience...

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Liplocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
232 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

I did not stay at the property. I did have a reservation that I was forced to cancel when one of the members of our party became unable to travel.

The way this was handled by Chris was very kind. He went above and beyond.

Based on my experience with this reservation, I am convinced that the service offered at the Garden Wall Inn is truly amazing.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitefish
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Whitefish
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rocky Mountain Lodge
0.2 mi away
The Firebrand Hotel
The Firebrand Hotel
#7 of 16 in Whitefish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Kandahar Lodge
Kandahar Lodge
#8 of 16 in Whitefish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
17.5 mi away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
#2 of 16 in Whitefish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Wall Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Wall Inn

Property: Garden Wall Inn
Address: 504 Spokane Ave, Whitefish, MT 59937-2781
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Whitefish
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Whitefish
#1 Romantic Hotel in Whitefish
#1 Best Value Hotel in Whitefish
#4 Family Hotel in Whitefish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Garden Wall Inn has been catering to discerning travelers since 1987. The impeccably restored 1920’s inn offers five luxurious guestrooms, each furnished with period antiques. Scrumptious three-course breakfasts are prepared by chef/owners Rhonda Fitzgerald and Chris Schustrom. The Inn is a convenient one-block walk from downtown Whitefish’s excellent restaurants, shops and nightspots. Only 25 minutes from Glacier National Park, the Inn is the perfect base for exploring the Park. The Inn is built in the "Colonial Revival" style with a gambrel roof and clapboard siding. The interior is accented by original solid maple flooring, arts-and-crafts fir moldings, and beveled-glass french doors. The guestrooms’ private baths boast huge claw-foot tubs, pedestal sinks, and black-and-white art-deco tile. Oriental carpets and fine antique furniture complement the lovely rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Garden Wall Inn Whitefish, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing