We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super helpful staff”
Review of Whitefish KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitefish
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Whitefish KOA
lethbridge
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Super helpful staff”
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

Right from the get go the staff bent over backwards for us. We were first given a site for our camper van with no electric and water, having settled ourselves with camping chairs etc out! No problem- we were immediately given another site at no extra charge? (W&E sites are more)
On our 2nd day there, our van's fuse panel blew! So could not start it or move it. The whole team was mobilized to help us find the problem and as we had to be back home, advised us on a great car rental company, arranged for the van to be towed and kept in a secure spot at the KOA,plus find someone to fix it.We were so appreciative.
The campsite itself, we have stayed in many times, mostly in the off season. We did find it busy this time(July), not overly noisy. Most sites are treed and shady,great nature walk which our dogs loved( the designated pet area is miniscule and unfenced)The main toilet fascilities are four separate rooms with shower,toilet and hair dryer in each.
The prices may seem high but this is a popular area and price includes a great breakfast. There is a lovely patio area to eat, as well as huge indoor dining area .
The swimming pool is partially covered- large doors close it off at night .
Lots to do for kids- volley ball net, putting green, petting zoo etc.
All in all - a great experience - we are in our 60's!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doreenmbrazier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    18
    11
    13
    7
See reviews for
24
23
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed in one of the simple cabins while on vacation with extended family. The cabins are nice and most of them have trees around them.
Young children will love the shallow swim pool and playground as well as the petting zoo.
Continental breakfast was good but would greatly benefit by adding just a little varietyeach day. 5 days of the exact same fruit, eggs, gravy, biscuits, and overcooked Frenchtoast sticks became monotonous, but easier than cooking over a camp stove if you don't have an RV.
Be careful if you have a long RV. Our group of 3 families/ RVs made reservations 6months in advance but got put in shorter spots down tight roads that took a lot of maneuvering to get in and still didn't have room to park their trucks.
The free WiFi worked good by the office, pool etc but not really at all in the middle of the camp for our phones and tablets, but laptops did ok.
Staff are all very friendly but only a couple really know the area well if you are looking for advice on things to do in the area but they are all willing to talk with you to help you out.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fotobutler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Leandro, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Very nice KOA in a very pretty location. Very well kept and friendly staff. My only complaint is that this is a very, very tightly packed KOA.

I would stay here again, but perhaps earlier or later in the season to avoid the crowds.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bibndum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Stayed here one night in July with my son and we were given a nice tent site that is well away from the RV area, up a short dirt road and nicely situated in a small forest.

It's a short walk from there to the pool, playground, paddle boats hot tub and restaurant.

Buffalo Bob's Pizza restaurant is attached to the pool and has decent grub and cold beer on tap. This is also where they serve the breakfast which is included in the price. Breakfast is nothing fancy, but not bad.

This is one of the only KOA's I've been to that had decent WiFi (most are dial-up slow).

Staff were super friendly too!

Room Tip: Quite nice tent sites for a KOA- up a short dirt road and well away from the RVs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T0nyBKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

After checking the website for this campground we thought it sounded great for the kids so we booked a 2 room cabin. Being the middle of September we didn't expect it to be too busy...it wasn't. Actually, most of the 'activities' were shut down for the season. The website stated an indoor/outdoor pool in operation until October 1st, but upon check-in, we discovered it had been drained. Uh, we wouldn't have booked if we knew that! When I told the lady this, she shrugged and told me she'd let the owners know.
Aside from the pool disappointment, the mini-putt was in a sore state (and there were no clubs or balls available??), the petting zoo was a few llamas and ponies, and the hot tub was dirty (at least there was water in it!).
Buffalo Bob's was completely shut down, so we did not have access to the computers or the restaurant.
The 'huge' playground isn't really huge at all, but the kids appreciated it nonetheless. Buffalo Bob's dog was roaming around the playground (even though there is a no pets sign...), which scared my 4 year old and deterred her from playing most of the time.

On the plus side, the cabin was fun to stay in and the bathrooms were clean.

If the advertising had been correct, it wouldn't be so frustrating. But to pay for something and then have it turn out to be a dive? Not fun for a vacation.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank normilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We stayed here with our two kids and dog. Originally we had thought this park would be a great way to entertain our family for a couple days. Disappointment set in when we discovered the pool to be dirty, and cold,the playground was minimal and in poor condition. The facilities were dirty (I took my daughter into use the restroom in the restaurant area and was disgusted to find she couldn't even use any of the toilets as they were all covered in feces) and the complimentary 'hot' breakfast was ice cold. The sites are small and very close together but also very steep, not allowing the kids (toddlers) space to move around and play. The vehicle traffic was very inconsiderate and ( in my opinion) drove way to fast at most times. The day we checked in we were advised that campfires we not allowed after 11pm. On the plus side, it kept the campground quiet however for $68/ night being told when we have to put out our fire and essentially go to bed can put a damper on a trip. It would have been nice to have had se forewarning of the campfire times when we booked out site, not after driving 4 hours and upon check-in. In summary, the campground is dirty and in disrepair and definitely not worth the price.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Whitefish hotels

Spokane, WA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We recently stayed at the Whitefish KOA and were sorely disappointed with the property. If you have a big rig (motorhome over 35 ft.) there are very few sites that are easily accessible.
We found the sites themselves in poor condition i.e. trash around, dirty. The adult only hot tub was shut down and in poor repair. The Campgrounds were very noisy till late at night. We felt it was very pricey for what we got!

We will not be staying there again but going up the road 20 miles to a different site. This is very much a family KOA.

Room Tip: Check out other KOA's in 20+ mile radius. Better prices and much nicer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank valskis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitefish
3.5 mi away
Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge
18.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Flathead Lake Inn and Suites
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Whitefish
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Kalispell, MT
5.9 mi away
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
#2 of 16 in Whitefish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
6.4 mi away
Meadow Lake Resort
Meadow Lake Resort
#1 of 4 in Columbia Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitefish KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitefish KOA

Property: Whitefish KOA
Address: 5121 Highway 93 South, Whitefish, MT 59937
Region: United States > Montana > Whitefish
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Whitefish
Number of rooms: 120
Also Known As:
Whitefish KOA Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing