We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant surprise”
Review of Hibernation House

Hibernation House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hibernation House
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Whitefish
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A very pleasant surprise”
Reviewed 3 September 2011

After reading some very negative and mixed reviews ,our expectations were low. However the accomodation was clean, roomy and the staff were friendly and helpful.
The Hotel was in a quiet ski village, we ate at a neighbouring high end hotel within walking distance and had a great evening in their bar.
We would return to Hibernation House.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank samantha m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    52
    15
    3
    5
See reviews for
35
39
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alamogordo, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
475 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 314 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We stayed here on a 2 week trip to Glacier National Park. The rooms were very clean, great bed. Good breakfast with plenty of variety, and the Hot Tub was great after a Raft Trip. Be sure to try the Back Room restaurant, behind the Night Owl.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChuckBrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz,CA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

We stayed here for one night in the summer and were very impressed by the low price in an expensive area. In an area of where summer rates in Whitefish are in the $200 and above, the $75 rate at Hibernation House is a super value. It is not fancy but the rooms are clean and roomy. It includes a good continental breakfast, Hot tub, Wifi in the lobby area and a friendly staff. I recommend staying here and with the money you save, have a fantastic but expensive gourmet dinner at the Kandahar Cafe next door.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jthomas119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

Apart from friendly staff, we found Hibernation House to be below
what we expected. The rooms were very old, clean enough, but OLD.
As stated in another review, the TV was a laughable joke, and beds
were very noisy whenever you moved. No elevator, so don't go twisting
an ankle or have sore legs from hiking. All in all, we'll be staying at
another place next time.l

Room Tip: A very noisy hallway and don't stay close to the stairs!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MTnsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Pathetic. I felt like I was in an old rundown apartment. For the price of 115$ this place is downright appalling. You can hear anyone who walks down the hall or stairs (no elevator). The beds are old and unless you like springs in our back and a lot of loud sounds anytime you move don't stay here. They ( the owners) assume you must not stay in the room as there is an old CRT (tube) tv at a whopping 17 inches! For your viewing pleasure!!! And the remote didn't work. Staff are very friendly and the location on the mountain is nice bur being tucked to the side of the real mountain resort beside support/mechanical buildings certainly takes away from the grandeur. Sorry hibernation house, I'd rather buy a tent and camp in the snow than stay with you again.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MadMarty911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2011

We stayed here for one night. It's way up the mountain! The rooms are small and the shower is tiny. The breakfast was excellent and everyone is nice and helpful. I would feel cramped if we stayed for several nights.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawis02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lacombe, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2011

We stayed at Hibernation House for 3 nights, and 3 days' skiing at Big Mtn. The hotel is just what the reviews say it is - nothing fancy, but friendly, comfortable, and super affordable. The staff is so friendly and helpful, and the place is clean and quiet. Breakfasts are excellent, and the large common areas make up for the small rooms. It felt more like a bed and breakfast than an impersonal hotel. The shuttle picks you up at the door, and at the end of the day, you can ski right to the side of the building. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lacombe_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitefish
0.1 mi away
Kandahar Lodge
Kandahar Lodge
#8 of 17 in Whitefish
306 reviews
5.9 mi away
Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Whitefish
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Stumptown Inn of Whitefish
Stumptown Inn of Whitefish
#14 of 17 in Whitefish
93 reviews
5.5 mi away
Pine Lodge
Pine Lodge
#5 of 17 in Whitefish
339 reviews
15.1 mi away
Under Canvas Glacier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hibernation House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hibernation House

Property: Hibernation House
Address: 3812 Big Mountain Rd, Whitefish, MT 59937-8624
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Whitefish
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Whitefish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hibernation House 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Start each morning with a hot home-cooked breakfast at the Hibernation House, the best secret and best lodging value on the mountain. With walk out, ski in access to the slopes, each room offers one Queen bed, a set of Twin bunk beds, TV, phone, mini fridge and a private bathroom with a shower. The buffet-style breakfast features morning staples like cereal, pancakes, French toast and bacon. Round out your "Hibe" stay with an indoor hot tub, wi-fi and guest computer and a cozy reading area next to the lobby fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hibernation House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hibernation House Hotel Whitefish
Hibernation Hotel Whitefish
Hibernation House Whitefish, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing