We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”
Review of Hibernation House

Hibernation House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hibernation House
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Whitefish
West Cornwall, Connecticut, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

I learned that breakfast is a big draw for this quaint hotel. It was inexpensive, and suited my needs for the night. The staff was very friendly and helpful, rooms were clean, definitely worth the money!

Room Tip: My room on the second floor was quiet, but it was in the summer, not sure if that changes during the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    52
    15
    3
    5
See reviews for
35
39
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

First trip to this area in the summer after many years of winter ski vacations. The Hibe has the same great breakfast and friendly feel. We hiked up the mountain we ski in the winter, great experience.

Room Tip: 2nd floor, far away from stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank giardino1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evans, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Bunk bed and queen in one room. Clean and well kept with private bathroom. Short walk to big mountain summer activities and ski bridge during winter. The staff is awesome, very helpful, different hot breakfast daily. No 5 star hotel but the best buy for the on the go that need a good place to sleep, keep your gear and have a blast on Big Mountain , Whitefish Montana. Can't stress enough, great staff!

Room Tip: You may need to ask to have a room farthest from the Breakfast area which is set up like a large com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alberta
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Hi the purpose of this review is to answer all the questions I had about the HIbernation House that were not answered by reading other reviews, hope this helps. My husband, 14 year old son and myself stayed here July 30-August 3 2014. I was apprehensive staying here because it seemed very spartan. I am not a diva but I was worried about basic comforts. First I will say the rooms and cafeteria are very clean. The kitchen has an A+ rating from the Dept of Health and when I looked into the kitchen you could see why. There were people coming in for breakfast which were not staying at the hotel, I don't know what they charged for breakfast but it seemed to be popular. The rooms are very plainly furnished but the hot water never ran out and again everything was clean. I brought my own shampoo but there was shower gel, shampoo, and lotion in the bathroom. There was also daily housekeeping. Breakfast is definitely stellar, there is a hot entree that changes daily with cereal, toast, bagels, english muffins, fruit salad, yougurt, instant oatmeal and juice every day. The entrees were french toast, scrambled eggs with ham or veggies, hash browns, and sausage( a different one each day.) You can also purchase muffins, brownies or cookies during the day. There is a hot tub that we used several times. Special thanks to Adam for his attentive service and knowledgable answers. In short we were very happy at the Hibernation House, it is budget priced but great value for your dollar!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aquacaliente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This is a great place to stay at Whitefish Mountain Resort. It has a little of a hostel feel to it; a common eating area, common sitting area with TV and computer, very friendly staff. Rooms are clean, good beds, hot water, everything we needed. Breakfast vary every day and were well-prepared and sufficient food to start a long day of outdoor activities.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathuP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

We booked Hibernation Lodge thinking it was very close to West Glacier. In fact, it takes about 45 min to get to West Glacier. In spite of that, it was just what we were looking for. The staff is friendly, helpful and responsive. The rooms are basic but clean and comfortable. The breakfast is good and plentiful, and changes each day.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scsculler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I have to totally echo the review by I8it. This was our second year travelling by AMTRAK from Grand Forks to Whitefish. I suggest you look into the train option, it is a completely different experience than driving.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank giardino1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitefish
0.1 mi away
Kandahar Lodge
Kandahar Lodge
#8 of 17 in Whitefish
306 reviews
5.9 mi away
Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Whitefish
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Stumptown Inn of Whitefish
Stumptown Inn of Whitefish
#14 of 17 in Whitefish
94 reviews
5.5 mi away
Pine Lodge
Pine Lodge
#5 of 17 in Whitefish
340 reviews
15.1 mi away
Under Canvas Glacier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hibernation House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hibernation House

Property: Hibernation House
Address: 3812 Big Mountain Rd, Whitefish, MT 59937-8624
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Whitefish
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Whitefish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hibernation House 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Start each morning with a hot home-cooked breakfast at the Hibernation House, the best secret and best lodging value on the mountain. With walk out, ski in access to the slopes, each room offers one Queen bed, a set of Twin bunk beds, TV, phone, mini fridge and a private bathroom with a shower. The buffet-style breakfast features morning staples like cereal, pancakes, French toast and bacon. Round out your "Hibe" stay with an indoor hot tub, wi-fi and guest computer and a cozy reading area next to the lobby fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hibernation House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hibernation House Hotel Whitefish
Hibernation Hotel Whitefish
Hibernation House Whitefish, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing