We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Duck Inn Lodge
Ranked #4 of 10 Whitefish B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Curtains in the room that do not close, a jacuzzi that doean't work, no WIFI in the room and a lot of lame excuses but no action from the innkeeper. For $190 a night we expected more. We definitely do NOT recommend the place!

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Erwin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2012

We first want to say that the live in grounds keeper was wonderful! Becky I believe was her name, she busted her but around that place and her friendly demeanor and delicious breakfast was the best part of our stay. HOWEVER...it is the management that is the downfall of this place. The owner was the one who checked us in, she was eh somewhat friendly but kept us waiting while she finished her conversation with another worker ( I believe it was about a complaint) we found that a bit rude. Our room was small and the lake was more of a pond with some big piece of trash in it.
The first night our smoke alarm went off at 330 am! We were told that has been happening and they were looking into it. Our room was off from the kitchen and lounge area and we could hear people talking and clanging about...by the water were on our honeymoon. For the money we spent on this place we could have stayed at white fish lodge which is so much more superior to this inn. Get Gordon Ramsey to come revamp and we may consider coming back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twograves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We had a perfect stay...our suite overlooked the river... had an awesome jacuzzi tub, sitting area & lovely king sized bed, little balcony where we sat and had wine. Breakfast was perfect...freshly baked muffins and plenty of choices, juice, coffee cereal, fruit, yogurt, cheese,waffle batter ready to just through on the iron...we loved it

Room Tip: We stayed in the Honeymoon suite...it was perfect as we were celebrating our 40th wedding anniversar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJ729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Everything about our stay at the Duck Inn Lodge was exceptional. The accommodation overlooking the river was superb - comfortable, clean and relaxing. The "common area" where the guests gathered for a delicious hot/cold buffet breakfast was so welcoming, and even during the day and in the evenings guests gathered to talk, share stories and get to know each other. We decided to stay another night (making it 3 in total) and even then did not want to leave. Shawna and Beckie (the day and night Inn Keepers) were exceptional with their hospitality, knowledge of the local area, and generally making us feel like valued guests. We have not stopped telling people about this Inn and look forward to returning again in the near future. Thank you Shawna and Beckie - you helped us make special memories.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sasha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We booked The Duck Inn based on a recommendation of a friend. We enjoy bed and breakfast establishments and looked forward to the stay.
When calling the property's call-handling system, I would have benefitted more from hearing about the property policies and less about how rejuvenated we are going to be. This raised a tiny flag for me. The emailed confirmation did not have the basic innkeeper’s policies (check-in/check-out, directions, accessibility, pet rules et al). It was clear on cancellation policies and that was appreciated.
We found the basic amenities analogous to past ski resort stays; there were no bathrobes, ironing boards, no guest directory en suite (to tell us about ordering ironing boards), basic/generic bathroom amenities. No “Privacy please/make up room” tags to remind other guests returning at night that people might be sleeping. They did have decent towels though and the room was spotless. That said, there wasn’t anything to really inspire us to unwind in our room.
The pillows had no bone, so after an awful first night's sleep we requested at least two non-feather pillows. For us, the “best beds in Whitefish” were hard and uncomfortable. The Essex room was very hot, even when we left the noisy air conditioner on for the evening and turned it off when we retired. The first night we couldn’t open the window as home owners across the river left their dog out to bark until roughly 0130 hrs. Of course this is no fault of the property, but something to consider when booking the river view.
Walls are paper-thin, so the following evening we woke up to the grunts of a howler several rooms down (maybe even on a different floor?). We could hardly keep a straight face when other guests arrived for breakfast and carried on as if no one else heard a werewolf wandering the hallways the previous evening.
Breakfast was basic and did the job. My partner and I generally don’t eat chocolate chip muffins at 0730 hrs in the morning, so we passed on the breakfast highlight. My partner’s waffle was an epic failure and inedible.
We looked forward to checking out and were done with the Duck Inn by 0830 hrs. No folio at check out (still haven’t received the promised final bill). Since the balance was run when we checked-in, we found it odd we have yet to receive our closing statement. I have never left a property of any type without a final statement before; this was a first.
That said, the two staff we met are eager to please and really want to ensure everyone has a great stay in Whitefish. I think it’s difficult to expect one wonderful staff member host breakfast and manage check-out at the same time. This is the property’s saving grace; otherwise the promised “romance and charm” was lost on us. We’ll stay elsewhere next time.

Room Tip: Perhaps a suite vs a room? Maybe avoid noisy neighbours and not choose the river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Notam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We had a reservation, confirmed at the Duck Inn and were looking forward to a nice king room with a river view. What we got was moved! Went to check in and was told by desk, they had overbooked and had to move us, across the street to the Best Western. No phone call no email. Just a "sorry, but we got you a king suite. You're lucky, we may have had you stay in Missoula ( about 2 hr ride away).
Just poor customer service. Would not chance booking here again.Best Western was dated and noisy.
Go someplace else if you are visiting Whitefish.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank corgikids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

My friend and I stayed here for one night only, as I was visiting Whitefish to see the town where my mum had lived. Duck Inn was a lovely stop, and very friendly. Very clean too and comfortable.
Very quiet when we stayed, so it was hugely peaceful, with no other noise.

Room Tip: Any.... really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jazzibing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitefish
0.3 mi away
Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Whitefish
5.7 mi away
Kandahar Lodge
Kandahar Lodge
#8 of 17 in Whitefish
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Cedar Creek Lodge & Conference Center
0.7 mi away
The Firebrand Hotel
The Firebrand Hotel
#7 of 17 in Whitefish
176 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
#3 of 17 in Whitefish
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duck Inn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duck Inn Lodge

Address: 1305 Columbia Ave, Whitefish, MT 59937-2956
Region: United States > Montana > Whitefish
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Whitefish
Price Range: £64 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Duck Inn Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Duck Inn Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duck Hotel Whitefish
Duck Inn Lodge Whitefish, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing