We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing but still nicer than a regular hotel”
Review of Duck Inn Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Duck Inn Lodge
Ranked #5 of 11 Whitefish B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing but still nicer than a regular hotel”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

The Duck Inn easily charges upward of $200 per night, for an atmosphere that is a cut above your typical Best Western. Each room has a name, which is sweet, and at least my room had a jacuzzi tub that was wonderful as well as a great view of the river and across the river to the green lawns and trees. However, my tab curtains wouldn't fully close, leaving large gaps between each one, and it was frustrating not to feel the room was fully private! It was very warm, but the only air conditioner they had was this stand alone swamp cooler stuck in one corner, very noisy and hardly romantic - and I think I even had to ask for it - it didn't seem like it came automatically with the room. No mini fridge in the room. No bucket of ice. If you want to bring your own food, she suggested hauling in an igloo cooler? This is not camping, madam, this is $200 per night and the complimentary breakfast is worse than your standard motel offering. The worst? There seems to be only ONE staff member and you can never find her. It was an odd vibe - patrons wandering around looking irritated and confused wanting to check in or out or ask questions and I only ran into house-cleaners once and they were ill informed.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    33
    14
    16
    14
See reviews for
22
92
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Snohomish, Washington
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Positives:
Very cute boutique hotel. The room was immaculate. I liked that each room had their own private balcony. Beautiful granite vanity in the bath, with nice, thick towels.
The king size bed was very comfortable. I also liked being able to leave the windows open at night to let the fresh air in rather than having the AC run all night.
The breakfast was just OK. Muffins, toast, make-your-own waffles, bananas, apples, oranges, yogurt, hard-boiled eggs. The coffee was delicious and the mugs were huge. While it was nice to have the hard-boiled eggs, more low-carb/gluten-free options would be appreciated.

Negatives: I did not like their cancellation policy. Unlike what is posted on the Booking.com website (2 wks), I called to find that they require a full 30 days notice or you lose your deposit (one night charge). While I can understand 30 days notice for a condo in Hawaii, this is excessive for a hotel room in Whitefish, MT. Given the fact that this hotel has no pool, spa, or exercise room, all you are paying for is a quiet room off the main drag. I think the $179 we paid for one night is too high.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justme856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

It is not really a bed and breakfast. But you can grab the continental breakfast and bring it to your bed :) I got the honeymoon suite and it came out to about $250 a night. The room was huge! It had a large Jacuzzi tub and a fireplace (fireplace didn't work, probably turned off because it was summer time). It felt very romantic! It was nice to have a large wall mounted flat screen TV that pivoted so you could watch the TV from bed or from the jet tub. It also had a dvd player which was cool because you can rent movies from the Safeway up the street. The bed was amazing and everything was very clean. It was probably the nicest room I have ever stayed in. It was nice and quiet and within walking distance from a Safeway and Walgreens. The room also had a little back porch that overlooked a little river. The water was murky and kind of looked unnatural (maybe even polluted), but we did get to see a beaver building on a damn which was cool. Staff was friendly and I have nothing bad to say about my experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swivaljaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bozeman
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 February 2013

We stayed two nights. We were told it served a full breakfast.......not even a complete continental breakfast with no hot coffee or cereals until 8 am. Built fire in fireplace ourselves as ceiling fan couldn't be shut off so it was always cold in area that should be warm and inviting in main room. Incoming loud guests in middle of night arrived that woke up entire hotel. Not worth the asking price. Needed snow and ice removal. Where's the property manager?? Stretch to call in a B & B.

Great comfortable beds & a view of wild turkeys and ducks on river. Comfortable wood tables and chairs in main room but too cold.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sm2bozeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottage Grove, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

We stayed 2 nights here. The room and facility are nicely furnished and the bed was very comfortable. Several things disappointed us though - We were the only guests at the property the first night, yet were put in a room with a queen and single bed when we had booked as a couple requesting one bed. This made the room less spacious than it would have been otherwise. Our room was not refreshed after the first night, so the bed wasn't made and we didn't receive fresh towels. The breakfast was all purchased foods - cold sweet cereals, instant oatmeal, bread/English muffins, yogurt, and instant decaf coffee for those unable to have caffeinated beverages. This was a disappointment from the "made especially for you" statement on the Web site. All in all, we would not recommend this hotel, and agree with other reviewers that it is not worth the room price.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roi1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Stayed one night and the place is done up really nicely. On first impression was WOW. DID NOT like the NO REFUND policy if cancelled 30 days of less of your reservation, and is a bit over priced.

Considering the price what I didn't like were the small things they should be on top of and are not.
first, the vertical blinds in our room had several tabs missing, letting anyone out back to look in. 2, the whirlpool tub didn't work and the breakfast in the morning was no different that at a chain hotel. A tub of eggs, some bacon, fresh fruit, yogurt, and you can make your own waffles.... This is not what I expected from a place that charges as much as this place does.

Room Tip: Rooms are good, they just need to keep them maintained!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler12594351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynden, WA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We spent four days in the Whitefish area visiting Glacier Park and taking in other sites. Duck Inn Lodge was our "home base". We enjoyed the comfy room with balcony and fireplace. The bottle of wine was a nice touch too. We met several couples at breakfast and enjoyed sharing our travel experiences. We found the staff friendly and helpful. The EPA was doing remediation work on the Whitefish River while we were there so the river was clouded with sediment. We did enjoy watching the beaver at work while sitting on our balcony one evening.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tron26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitefish hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Whitefish
0.7 mi away
The Firebrand Hotel
The Firebrand Hotel
#7 of 16 in Whitefish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pine Lodge
Pine Lodge
#5 of 16 in Whitefish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
#2 of 16 in Whitefish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grouse Mountain Lodge
Grouse Mountain Lodge
#6 of 16 in Whitefish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duck Inn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duck Inn Lodge

Property: Duck Inn Lodge
Address: 1305 Columbia Ave, Whitefish, MT 59937-2956
Region: United States > Montana > Whitefish
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Whitefish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Duck Inn Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, HRS and Agoda so you can book your Duck Inn Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duck Hotel Whitefish
Duck Inn Lodge Whitefish, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing