We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Resort” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grouse Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grouse Mountain Lodge
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Whitefish
Certificate of Excellence
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice Resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Nice resort, great entrance with the high ceilings and heavy wood. Room nice sized but ours was a considerable walk from the elevator. Room was quiet and had a good assortment of pillows. Loved the layout of the room -- nice bathroom with separate sink area. Plenty of space for luggage and hanging things. Restaurant was underused but our meal was quite good. There was an initial mix up with my room reservation but the staff was quick to discover their error and corrected it quickly.

Room Tip: Avoid extreme ends of the hotel -- it's a long walk from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlton B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    251
    120
    75
    30
See reviews for
191
287
29
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
138 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We had a great stay once again, and Mary our server in the restaurant was amazing as usual (actually all the staff were great). I gave this review a 1/5 because of an on going security issue that the manager on our previous visit assured us would be taken care of. The outside door on the north wing is broken and does NOT lock (other doors don't seem close either [stairwell on the golf course side, for example])! With all the renovations they have completed, you think they would have noticed these! I am definitely disappointed that this is still an issue as I brought this up over a year and a half ago!!

Great stay but security is certainly an issue!

Room Tip: Golf course side seems quieter (can't do much about the trains anywhere in the area). Outside do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1_4_adventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed for 2 nights over the Memorial Day weekend, great super friendly staff and very comfortable room! It was a VERY quiet weekend in Whitefish and the hotel was very quiet as well with very few guests around. We booked the larger room and did not disappoint us!
We were also happily surprised to get a $5 gift card for the hotel's bar for not using the housekeeping services and reusing the towels and bed sheets.
Because the hotel was so empty (the previous weekend was busier with Canadian travelers since it was a holiday in Canada), we wish that we had gotten a sale price for our room, which we booked directly on the hotel's web site. Expedia had their standard room on sale, but because we wanted the bigger room we booked directly with them. Next time, we will try contacting the hotel to see if there is anything they can do. They actually had a room deal starting the week after.
The only thing that was a bit weird was that in the bathroom, the shower had a half glass door so the floor mat would get all wet. The bathroom in general was very small, but it was fine with us.
Anyway, we really enjoyed staying there, would recommend it and stay there again. The shuttle to downtown is very convenient and all the drivers were super nice!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VVegas76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
291 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Due to the rescheduling of the Amtrak timetable we arrived and departed in the small hours for our 24 hour stay . We were well looked after in spite of the ungodly hour . Shuttle met us at the station , the receptionist was friendly and we were able to access our room immediately . When we came to several hours later we enjoyed breakfast in the restaurant . The building does feel a bit cavernous and the rooms though clean and comfortable are hardly cosy . Lots of helpful advice as to what to do in Whitefish without a car . We went for a long walk in the woods a mile or so up the road and the shuttle appeared again , spot on time , to meet us . We were then taken to Whitefish where we enjoyed its limited attractions , though I must say the museum is a must ! Spun out our fish and chips in a local 'pub' hoping to see California Combo win the Triple Crown . It was not to be . Had another broken night before departing at 3 45 am to rejoin The Empire Builder . The lady on reception was just as friendly and charming as she had been at the same time the morning before . A brief visit but on the whole good impressions .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ALISON H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erie, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
393 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Whitefish is a cute town. This hotel is close but not really walkable. They do have a shuttle that runs to town, but not overly reliable. No set schedule.

Overall, clean and comfortable. The rooms are a bit dated.

The pool area needs a lot of work. Hot tub? Not really. Pretty gross. I would not go in it.

The restaurant sits along the 18th hole. Fun to be on the golf course. We ate across the street at a great restaurant. Only had drinks at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

As previous reviews the location is good with the added bonus of a free shuttle bus into Whitefish itself plus transfer the airport. Staff at check in very good, room was a good size and well presented. didn't really use the bar/restaurant as always looked very quiet with no atmosphere and lacking in staff. Jacuzzi area needs some serious re-furb.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank totally1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Spent two nights here, beautiful location just outside of downtown (within walking distance). I really appreciated the free shuttle service from the hotel to downtown Whitefish. This hotel is very nice, however it is beginning to show it's age an unfortunately there are not enough cleaning staff to properly maintain the rooms or areas. Staff we did see were very friendly, and overall it was good value. Food was average, however there are some excellent restaurants in town.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pomsol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitefish
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rocky Mountain Lodge
4.9 mi away
Kandahar Lodge
Kandahar Lodge
#8 of 16 in Whitefish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Firebrand Hotel
The Firebrand Hotel
#7 of 16 in Whitefish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
1.6 mi away
Big Mountain Lodge
Big Mountain Lodge
#12 of 16 in Whitefish
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
#2 of 16 in Whitefish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grouse Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grouse Mountain Lodge

Property: Grouse Mountain Lodge
Address: 2 Fairway Dr, Whitefish, MT 59937-3199
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Whitefish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Whitefish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grouse Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our front doors welcome you to upscale comfort and an authentic Whitefish, Montana lodging experience. This fantastic location leads you to exciting year-round adventure. With 143 beautifully appointed guest rooms, fresh and exciting cuisine in Logan's Bar and Grill, an indoor pool, outdoor hot tubs, day spa, and a substantial list of services and amenities, Grouse Mountain Lodge is one of Montana’s finest lodge resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grouse Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grouse Mountain Hotel Whitefish
Grouse Mountain Resort
Grouse Mountain Lodge Whitefish, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing