We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not recommended!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grouse Mountain Lodge
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Whitefish
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Checkin receptionist was apprehensive and inefficient. When I requested that I see two different room choices she said it was not allowed. She had to ask the driver to confirm it was okay because I insisted. She quoted me $189/night for two queens and then said it was a handicapped room and she was not allowed to give it away. She then said it was $199 for a non-handicap room to which I agreed. When she was processing the room while I watched, she said the price changed on the computer to $229 and sorry but she couldn't do anything about it. When I asked to speak to a manager, she said no one was around. She said I had to check in the morning and I insisted that she write a note on my receipt to confirm what happened. The morning manager cleared up the confusion. The room was okay until golf balls started hitting the metal screen that protected the wooden shutters. It made such a loud clang that it made all of us jump thinking there was a bear out the window. Then there was the shower that did not drain and the lack of conditioner in the bathroom. The cleaners did not replace our towels throughout our stay. Also the room was musty and we could not stop sneezing every time we walked in. This is not to mention that the upstairs neighbors kept me awake at night with their heavy walking. I would not recommend your facility based on my experience.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MariaO253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (929)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

573 - 579 of 929 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights on our road trip across Interstate 90 to Chicago ,great location for visiting Glacier Park and Whitefish ,Spacious comfortable rooms well decorated in American Lodge style good amenities with views over golf club.Staff very helpful ( we had to extend our stay in the hotel unexpectedly) Restaurant good choice for dinner and breakfast,service good.Good value for money,spotlessly clean,
Sadly it is a golf resort and the weekend we stayed there was a large male party of golfers who were drunkenly loud in the early hours of the morning and were carousing in the corridor outside our rooms at 300 am banging on doors shouting ,slamming doors and causing a massive disturbance not the hotels fault ,security was called and they were cautioned but they continued for a second night in their drunken antics( I think they should have been asked to leave after the first night). These men displayed a macho arrogance that had to be seen to be believed. Please stay it is a lovely hotel but either go midweek or be prepared for the golf parties.

Room Tip: check if there are golfing parties !!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank berilldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed at Grouse Mountain Lodge on our way into Glacier and Waterton National Parks. I think this is as good as it gets in Whitefish - no insult intended. At this lodge, hot tub means an outdoor fiberglass tub, swimming pool means a kid pool, not a lap pool, and room quality is something like a Fairfield Inn. The walls are really thin and you hear people all around you. If you decide to stay here, pretend you are back in your dorm days.

The lodge does have a complimentary airport shuttle which will take you into Whitefish, but you can also walk. The lodge is next to a golf course which looked nice, and you can rent bikes on Second Street and ride along the river, and of course, you are close to Whitefish Lake.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank CitasDash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Stayed for two nights in mid-June, with our main purpose being to visit Glacier National Park. This is a beautiful resort hotel with spacious rooms. The room was quiet and you can darken it to your liking with the shutters. The bed was comfortable with plenty of pillows. The bathroom was good-sized with an additional sink outside. The shower was a little odd, with a fixed glass panel covering part of the opening but no door covering the rest.
The food in the restaurant was excellent and reasonably priced. When we were there, the wait staff seemed stretched a little thin covering both the dining room and the patio, but they were very friendly and helpful.
This is a first class resort hotel and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. My only reservation about staying here again is that it is about a 30 minute drive to get to the west entrance of Glacier National Park, so be aware of that if visiting GNP is the main purpose of your trip. However, it is very convenient being close to the other shops and restaurants in downtown Whitefish, so you may want to consider which of these is more important to you.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russ N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Nice resort, great entrance with the high ceilings and heavy wood. Room nice sized but ours was a considerable walk from the elevator. Room was quiet and had a good assortment of pillows. Loved the layout of the room -- nice bathroom with separate sink area. Plenty of space for luggage and hanging things. Restaurant was underused but our meal was quite good. There was an initial mix up with my room reservation but the staff was quick to discover their error and corrected it quickly.

Room Tip: Avoid extreme ends of the hotel -- it's a long walk from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlton B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We had a great stay once again, and Mary our server in the restaurant was amazing as usual (actually all the staff were great). I gave this review a 1/5 because of an on going security issue that the manager on our previous visit assured us would be taken care of. The outside door on the north wing is broken and does NOT lock (other doors don't seem close either [stairwell on the golf course side, for example])! With all the renovations they have completed, you think they would have noticed these! I am definitely disappointed that this is still an issue as I brought this up over a year and a half ago!!

Great stay but security is certainly an issue!

Room Tip: Golf course side seems quieter (can't do much about the trains anywhere in the area). Outside do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 1_4_adventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed for 2 nights over the Memorial Day weekend, great super friendly staff and very comfortable room! It was a VERY quiet weekend in Whitefish and the hotel was very quiet as well with very few guests around. We booked the larger room and did not disappoint us!
We were also happily surprised to get a $5 gift card for the hotel's bar for not using the housekeeping services and reusing the towels and bed sheets.
Because the hotel was so empty (the previous weekend was busier with Canadian travelers since it was a holiday in Canada), we wish that we had gotten a sale price for our room, which we booked directly on the hotel's web site. Expedia had their standard room on sale, but because we wanted the bigger room we booked directly with them. Next time, we will try contacting the hotel to see if there is anything they can do. They actually had a room deal starting the week after.
The only thing that was a bit weird was that in the bathroom, the shower had a half glass door so the floor mat would get all wet. The bathroom in general was very small, but it was fine with us.
Anyway, we really enjoyed staying there, would recommend it and stay there again. The shuttle to downtown is very convenient and all the drivers were super nice!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VVegas76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitefish hotels
1.4 mi away
Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge
1.2 mi away
The Firebrand Hotel
The Firebrand Hotel
#7 of 17 in Whitefish
173 reviews
4.9 mi away
Kandahar Lodge
Kandahar Lodge
#8 of 17 in Whitefish
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Whitefish
1.6 mi away
Big Mountain Lodge
Big Mountain Lodge
#12 of 17 in Whitefish
125 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
#3 of 17 in Whitefish
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grouse Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grouse Mountain Lodge

Address: 2 Fairway Dr, Whitefish, MT 59937-3199
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Whitefish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Whitefish
Price Range: £77 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grouse Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our front doors welcome you to upscale comfort and an authentic Whitefish, Montana lodging experience. This fantastic location leads you to exciting year-round adventure. With 143 beautifully appointed guest rooms, fresh and exciting cuisine in Logan's Bar and Grill, an indoor pool, outdoor hot tubs, day spa, and a substantial list of services and amenities, Grouse Mountain Lodge is one of Montana’s finest lodge resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Grouse Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grouse Mountain Hotel Whitefish
Grouse Mountain Resort
Grouse Mountain Lodge Whitefish, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing