We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old and tired, in desperate need of remodel, overpriced!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grouse Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grouse Mountain Lodge
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Whitefish
Certificate of Excellence
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Old and tired, in desperate need of remodel, overpriced!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

GML must have been an awesome place when it was built in the 1970s. I'm sure this property has made piles of $$$ for the owners but they have obviously forgotten to reinvest in upkeep.
We went to check out the pool and the room smells like mold and chlorine. The jacuzzi tubs aren't even full.
The floor in our room has soft spots where the wood is rotten.
Outside door to north stairs doesn't work.
Beds seem to be ok!
Like All hotels near Glacier N P this place is way overpriced...
Not recommended!!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sleepytime53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan H, Public Relations Manager at Grouse Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Hi Sleepytime53,
Thanks for leaving some feedback about your recent stay. Grouse Mountain Lodge opened in 1984 and has undergone major renovations over the last three years including the lobby, restaurant, bar and all 143 guest rooms. Planned for next year are a new deck and hot tubs to replace the existing structure. We've checked the north end door and it seems to be in working order.
Best regards,
Dan Hansen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    252
    121
    75
    30
See reviews for
192
287
30
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed here for one night on our way to Glacier National Park. Our room was fine - no issues with cleanliness as other reviewers have reported. Bed was comfortable enough, good a/c. The hotel is huge - our room was at the end, so it was a long walk back to the lobby. (There was an exit door on the end, so we could just park over there rather than using the lobby.)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin_Carrying_On
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Loved this lodge…..it's beautiful, welcoming, staff is extremely helpful without being overbearing, great restaurant. I heard the spa was incredible but I waited too long and couldn't get a reservation…I guess it is incredible. Our room was very clean and comfortable, we loved the bed and pillows. Only downside is make sure you book the second floor…..we stayed on the first and so did our friends and we both could hear everything upstairs and when upstairs guests decide to get up at 5:30 and you don't, face it you are up. The location is great, close to the downtown and only about 30 minutes to Glacier National Park and the Glacier International Airport.

Room Tip: As mentioned above….book the second floor because of the room noise. Not much of a view, either park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cinny0823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

I was a little reluctant to stay at this hotel based on the previous reviews that we had read on Trip Advisor. We booked the room back in February 2014 - we wanted to stay in Glacier but the hotels were booked and they suggested this hotel. We wanted to be near Glacier and the reviews back in February were good. The week before we were suppose to go on vacation I was checking other hotels based on the negative reviews but was unable to secure another hotel. When we arrived at the hotel and was given our room I was surprised - I had booked a room overlooking the golf course and got the room I booked - it was a spacious room with two comfortable queen beds and a large bathroom. The rooms do need to be refurbish. We did have a small refrigerator in our room and coffee pot. We noticed that the hall décor needed to be upgraded and get rid of the plastic plants. They are doing road construction near the hotel that can cause a delay in your travels back and forth and railroad tracks near the hotel - don't be surprised to hear a train whistle around midnight and through the night - the first time you hear it you will be surprised but you will get use to it if you stay more than two days. The hotel staff was very nice on check-in and departure. Had dinner on the patio our first night - food was good and not too expensive. Parking is free. Wi-Fi in room. Overall it wasn't a bad experience and we were close to Glacier Park which is why we came for the visit. They do run a shuttle back and forth from downtown Whitefish that saves you from trying to find a parking place.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darlene J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

This place is trying to be a 5 star resort but has 2 star amenities. The room prices don't reflect the amenities associated with this place. The lobby is really nice- great stone fireplaces, The hot tubs were absolutely embarrassing. It would have been better if the resort said they had NO hot tub rather than the two weak hot tubs they offer. At room prices of $250/night, you'd think a hot tub would pay for itself in one night. The pool is drab and the gym had a conference chair acting as workout bench. Just pitiful.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandykl18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan H, Public Relations Manager at Grouse Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Hi Sandykl18,
Thanks for taking the time to leave us some feedback. I'm sorry to hear that the lodge didn't meet your expectations. We do have plans to build a new hot tub deck in 2015 with new tubs to bring the area up to par with the rest of the facility.
Best regards,
Dan Hansen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

This hotel was very nice with clean rooms and friendly staff. We stayed here for 2 nights in a loft suite and it is everything we could have asked for. The only complaint that I have is that the twin beds were somewhat uncomfortable (couldn't get to sleep). I would stay here again

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Josh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenmore, Washington
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

I booked and paid in advance for this hotel several months ahead. I requested a room with a view of the golf course and/or mountains. When we arrived, we had to wait a long time to get checked in because of a bike tour and other golfers. We were given a dark, cavernous room on the second floor overlooking the parking lot. The carpet had not been vacuumed and there was a dirty, damp towel on the floor beside the bed. I asked for another room, but they said they were all sold out. The hotel itself was "tired" looking. It might be okay for a conference or as part of a golf package, but I would not recommend this hotel if you are looking for a beautiful spot to relax and enjoy the views and surrounding area.

Room Tip: I had no luck asking for a room with a view. Perhaps there aren't any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ger203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitefish
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Whitefish
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rocky Mountain Lodge
4.9 mi away
Kandahar Lodge
Kandahar Lodge
#8 of 16 in Whitefish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Firebrand Hotel
The Firebrand Hotel
#7 of 16 in Whitefish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
18.6 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
#2 of 16 in Whitefish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grouse Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grouse Mountain Lodge

Property: Grouse Mountain Lodge
Address: 2 Fairway Dr, Whitefish, MT 59937-3199
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Whitefish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Whitefish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grouse Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our front doors welcome you to upscale comfort and an authentic Whitefish, Montana lodging experience. This fantastic location leads you to exciting year-round adventure. With 143 beautifully appointed guest rooms, fresh and exciting cuisine in Logan's Bar and Grill, an indoor pool, outdoor hot tubs, day spa, and a substantial list of services and amenities, Grouse Mountain Lodge is one of Montana’s finest lodge resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Grouse Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grouse Mountain Hotel Whitefish
Grouse Mountain Resort
Grouse Mountain Lodge Whitefish, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing