We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Supurb Lodge”
Review of Hidden Moose Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitefish
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hidden Moose Lodge
Ranked #2 of 10 Whitefish B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sun City Center, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Supurb Lodge”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

How fortunate we were to book 2 nights here.....wish it had been more. Our room was comfortable, but the best part was the log bed complete with comforter, hand-sewn quilt and one of the best pillows I've ever laid my head on. Unfortunately it was cold and rainy so we weren't able to take advantage of our private patio overlooking the woods. We loved the happy hour from 4-10 with complimentary beer, wine and soft drinks. The "living room" was beautifully decorated with large windows looking out into the woods and a waterfall. Comfortable couches and chairs were grouped near a huge stone fireplace. It was the perfect place to relax as well as make new friends and share experiences. Breakfasts were very special! The lemon and cream cheese French toast was heavenly; served with thick crispy bacon, fresh fruit, juice and coffee. The owners and their daughter were very gracious and offered assistance in where to shop, dine and sightsee. The lodge is quite close to Big Mountain and only a short drive to the west entrance of Glacier National Park where we did a little hiking below snow-capped peaks. The famous Road to the Sun was not open so we have an excuse to come back to the lodge again! Almost forgot....there are hanging baskets of flowers everywhere as well as lovely planter boxes.

Room Tip: We had room in the adjacent building. If you want to avoid stairs several times a day, you might wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manya O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiddenMooseLodge, Public Relations Manager at Hidden Moose Lodge, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thanks Manya - we appreciate you taking the time to review the "Moose". The Going to the Sun Road is open - so there's your excuse to come back! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    35
    9
    8
    14
See reviews for
62
143
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The Hidden Moose Lodge, is the nicest place we have ever stayed! It is a beautiful property inside and out. The minute you walk up the stairs to the main entrance, you think to yourself, WOW! am I glad I chose this place to stay! The great room is beyond beautiful. If you think the Lodge and its lovely warm accommodations are wonderful, wait until you start to get to know Kim & Kent & Family and their amazing staff! They are very gracious hosts that can't do enough for you! They all do such a fantastic job of running this place. If you want to meet a group of wonderful people go stay at the Hidden Moose Lodge! Hey, I haven't even mentioned the delicious and wonderful breakfasts and the happy hour! You can't go wrong choosing this beyond wonderful place to stay and enjoy!

Room Tip: They are all perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiddenMooseLodge, Public Relations Manager at Hidden Moose Lodge, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Awwww... you're making us blush! We enjoy getting to know our guests as well. Many thanks for your kind words and we hope to see you again soon in the not-too-distant-future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stony Plain
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Never having stayed in one of these before we were a little apprehensive even though it came highly recommended by friends of ours.
What an excellent experience we had, right from the greeting by Clara who explained the Lodge to us in entirety from the room choices to the hours of the breakfast, restaurants to visit in the area for supper, and the happy hour we did not expect where you were given a choice of 2 wine, beer, or non alcohol beverages, at the end of your day, included, no charge. Main Lodge is a 2 house affair with rooms in each with their own bathrooms, The main building where you check in is also a huge living room with a great fireplace where you can sit and talk and enjoy with the rest of your party. The fireplace wall also is mostly glass looking out onto the wooded hillside where deer were seen. This area also contains the kitchen and dining area where the gourmet breakfasts are served, e.g.- blueberry pancakes, quiche, and Grande Marinier french toast, which were our choices one for each of the 3 days we were there. Of course there is also the fresh cut up fruit,individual servings, brought to you, the fresh coffee, toast, orange juice. Need I say more? Great food.
Our room was on the first floor, very well done with a Queen bed our own bathroom, everything done in log style, wooded ceiling. Very comfortable and quiet. Each room has also a small private patio with chairs and a small table. Perfect for sitting outside and enjoying the wooded area where the Lodge is built. There is also an outdoor fireplace and bar seating area adjacent to the main living room fireplace area for those who choose to sit outdoors.
The staff and owners are very friendly and so easy to talk to. Great hosts.
All in all an excellent choice, which we would recommend over a hotel stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaba44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiddenMooseLodge, Public Relations Manager at Hidden Moose Lodge, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Wow! Thanks for the kind review and we're glad you're first B&B stay was a good one! May you have many more :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Just returned from a 3-night stay and thoroughly enjoyed it! The lodge itself is very nice and the common fireplace area is most welcoming; the decor is rustic with lots of interesting antique items - skis, sleighs, skates, photos and metal art by local artisans; the breakfasts are great - during our stay, we experienced a wonderful frittata, huckleberry pancakes, GM french toast and beautiful fruit bowls, juice and great coffee, with a roaring fire in the fireplace. We had a very spacious room on the lower level so access was very convenient and had direct outside access.

And it goes without saying that the owner/managers - Kim and Kent - and their staff are very efficient and hospitable. We enjoyed the opportunity to visit with them over breakfast and it was also interesting to hear that the lodge hosted a segment of The Bachelor during the last season! We would definitely recommend the Hidden Moose Lodge and hope to return.

Room Tip: Rooms on the lower floor have direct outside access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sanjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiddenMooseLodge, Public Relations Manager at Hidden Moose Lodge, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review. You can see pictures from when the Bachelor filmed here on our blog! http://hiddenmooselodge.com/2013/02/18/abcs-the-bachelor-films-episode-at-the-hidden-moose-lodge/
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Six of us went for a last minute trip down to Whitefish. What a find Hidden Moose Lodge was! Fantastically finished with all the mountain comforts and touches you could want. Breakfasts were scrummy too! We are back down that way in June, and had planned to stay in Kalispell, but I think those plans will change now! Kent and Kim and their staff could not have been nicer or more helpful!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KHKabins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiddenMooseLodge, Public Relations Manager at Hidden Moose Lodge, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Sorry for the delay in acknowledging your review - a belated "Thank You!" Much appreciated! We <3 our Canadian neighbors!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I love the Hidden Moose Lodge! It was so cozy, quiet and relaxed. I loved the décor of antique skis,photos, local artwork and lots of Moose objects about. We would sit in the cozy lounge by the big roaring fireplace and look at the deer grazing outside the window. The rooms were comfy, the sheets really nice. The breakfasts were to die for, especially the huckleberry pancakes!! My friends and I were there for a ski vacation from Portland OR, and the owners Kim and Kent were very helpful with local hints and attractions. The girls who worked there were also very sweet. We were travelling by train and unfortunately our train home was delayed 22 hours due to a derailment west of Whitefish. Kim and Kent were very gracious by letting us store our equipment in one of the rooms and let us hang out in the lodge after checkout until 3:00 in the morning!!! That was amazing in my opinion and we will forever be grateful for that act of kindness. I loved the town of Whitefish and I loved the Hidden Moose Lodge!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mapleleafrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiddenMooseLodge, Public Relations Manager at Hidden Moose Lodge, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thanks so much - we enjoyed having you. Sometimes with Amtrak ya just have to roll with it! Hope to welcome you back to the "Moose" and Whitefish in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We went there in the fall for a little long weekend getaway with our dog. (They do allow for dogs, but only in particular rooms.)
The living room/lobby area was a great place to relax, with a wood burning fireplace and big comfy couches. I love that they had happy hour there, it was nice to just relax and sip on some red wine before heading out to a restaurant.
The rooms were comfortable, well sized and clean. It was a little cold, but they provided a space heater which helped.
Breakfast was great and the girls were really nice and helpful.
We didn't have a chance to use the hot tub but there is one there, with big towels provided as well.
All in all, a very relaxing trip and we will definitely be returning!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Islandgirl678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiddenMooseLodge, Public Relations Manager at Hidden Moose Lodge, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review - we really appreciate it and look forward to hosting you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitefish hotels
2.9 mi away
Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge
1.9 mi away
The Firebrand Hotel
The Firebrand Hotel
#7 of 17 in Whitefish
131 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Whitefish
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Kandahar Lodge
Kandahar Lodge
#8 of 17 in Whitefish
307 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
#2 of 17 in Whitefish
1,014 reviews
2.4 mi away
Pine Lodge
Pine Lodge
#5 of 17 in Whitefish
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Moose Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Moose Lodge

Property: Hidden Moose Lodge
Address: 1735 E Lakeshore Dr, Whitefish, MT 59937-3322
Region: United States > Montana > Whitefish
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Whitefish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hidden Moose Lodge was designed and built with the guest in mind. The lodge features a great room with a massive stone fireplace, picture windows and cozy seating areas. Each room has its own deck or balcony, as well as a unique decor with subtle themes, full private bath, TV/DVD players, mini fridge, and telephone. The lodge has wireless internet access throughout and a hot tub located on the back deck. The lodge has a spectacular setting built into a hillside with terraced gardens and waterfalls. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hidden Moose Hotel Whitefish
Hidden Moose Lodge Whitefish, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing