We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not so Romantic Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Whitefish
Certificate of Excellence
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not so Romantic Getaway”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2011

Checking In:
Booked a Viking room with a King Sized bed and a view of the wildlife preserve through Expedia but when we entered our room it had a great view of, the parking lot. I mean we were right up against the lot with only a small strip of grass and sidewalk between our window and the concrete. When I called the front desk they informed me that because I booked on-line they did not have to honor the view request. When I reviewed my on-line reservation print out I was surprised to find out that they were right, my reservation stated that our request will be sent to the hotel but that it may not be honored. Why did they even give me a view option then? This just seems like a great way to set guests up for disappointment. Since we did not know if this was the hotel’s booking issue or Expedia’s we just closed the curtains the whole time we were there and moved on.
Room:
The room was not very large but was well appointed and quite nice with a fireplace and flat screen TV. The bed was comfortable and the linens were top of the line. The bathroom was quite large almost the same size as the rest of the room. There was a large bath tub and separate granite shower stall with lots of towels. The room was not the cleanest with dust on the baseboards and sills and the last occupant’s toenails still in the carpet. My husband was disappointed that he couldn’t get the fireplace to kick on, but that may have just been user error (grin).
Facilities:
The main section of the hotel (over the sky bridge) had a nice atmosphere and some great views of Whitefish Lake. In the morning we found a quiet section of the hotel next to the coffee bar with comfy chairs overlooking the lake and once we were the only ones left, we turned off the TV and spent the rest of our morning there.
The Viking section of the hotel really had nothing more to offer other than a main commons area with a large TV, a hot tub and the individual guest rooms.
The biggest disappointment of the whole trip was that the hot tub in the Viking section was down for “maintenance/cleaning” the entire time we were staying at the hotel. This was a real disappointment in April when there really was not much else to do at the hotel and/or Whitefish in the evenings. To make matters worse, when we changed into our suits to hot tub in our section of the hotel and saw that it was unavailable we hiked all the way to the other side of the hotel to use their hot tub and couldn’t believe that it was also down for “maintenance/cleaning”. We called the front desk on multiple occasions throughout our stay to ask when the hot tub would be up and running only to hear that it will be ready in “a few hours” each time. Unfortunately, the tub was not running until the last night of our stay but by 9pm the water still hadn’t warmed up enough for us to soak in (the hot tub facility is outside so it must take quite a while to heat up).
Overall: Overall I think the rooms at this hotel are nice but the facilities and the staff definitely kept me from feeling like I got my money’s worth. I don’t think we will be staying here again and I would definitely recommend that unless you need to stay in Whitefish that you choose another hotel in Woods Bay or Kalispell.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Mtnbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    658
    216
    48
    31
    14
See reviews for
255
422
24
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2011

When we arrived by air and were greeted by the owners at the airport I knew we were in for a great week and they sure did spoil us all week long. Our condos and hotel rooms were first class and the same for the breakfast and dinners. We all really enjoyed the hot tub after a day of skiing. The bar was a lot of fun, with great drinks and top notch service. Our bartender Chappy was a gem! The shuttle service to the mountain and downtown was excellent and always on time. The locals were so friendly and always smiling. The prices on the mountain and in town for food and drinks were very reasonable. We will be back very soon! Thanks for a great trip.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NationwideFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2011

Was here with the Skiwi Ski Club from Detroit and we had an awesome week! The Lodge is great, we stayed in the Viking rooms which were some of the best I have ever stayed at in 20 years of Western skiing. The bed was very comfortable and service was great. Our main valet guy was Sean and he was the best! Our hosts, Brian and Fabienne (sp?) were the very best, very accommodating and pleasant. Slopeside is nice (actually very nice) but if you are not going to stay there then stay at the Lodge which is half way between the mt. and town. Town was fun, the Country bar, Great Northern and the Bulldog (check out the bathroom! best burger too!) are must visits. Everyone in town was very friendly on the bus and all over. Big Mountain itself has lifts that allow expert and intermediate skiers to use the same lift and ski different terrain and still meet up with each other. My only regret was not doing Bighorn, especially when I met an 11 year old on the plane ride back who did it! We had awesome weather, 3 sunny days out of 6 and 10" of powder (1 dump was 5-6" and then a few other snowfalls) for the week.

But back to the lodge, very nice, actually excellent! We had the breakfast option and the buffet was a great deal with great food! The restaurant is top notch and the food is worth the money with good sized portions and plenty of flavor! They have 2 hot tubs, the large one is HUGE and with a GREAT view of the lake and mt. in the background, we watched deer crossing the frozen lake nightly from the big tub. The Viking has it's own hot tub and a stone gas fire ring which is a lot of fun to sit around at night. The Viking also had an annex area where we had a trip party, very nice!

I highly recommend the Lodge at Whitefish Lake. The stay at the Lodge and the great mountain skiing will definitely bring me back to Whitefish MT!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RickyRAKoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasper, Ga
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2011

This hotel offers it all. Set on the side of the lake you can wake up in the morning and see a beautiful landscape around you. The restaurant in the hotel was nice, but I would recommend exploring the town around you! My favorite memory of this hotel is definitely the bathroom! At the end of a long day out in nature you can come home to a soaker tub filled with bubbles! Definitely a wonderful retreat.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kbmartie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2011

February 6th, 2011 47 members of Mt. Spokane Prime Timers Ski Club arrived and were greeted by the outstanding staff and the owners of the Lodge at Whitefish Lake, Fabienne and Brian Averill. They allowed plenty of time to guide us through the registration process and show us the amenities of this beautiful facility.
Our planning process was carried out by the owners and staff who reserved perfect rooms in the Viking Lodge and organized delicious breakfasts to awesome buffet dinners with ease.
A meet and greet provided the evening of our arrival included a Kokanee Kegger , chips and salsa. Snow Ambassadors filled us in on The Mountain and we learned about all the activities available in addition to skiing! A perfect start to a great week of skiing and seeing the sights of Whitefish.
Equipment storage, shuttles to the mountain and to town, great gym, hot tub and spa facility, restaurants, bars and grills…all outstanding! Every member of our group was impressed by the friendly staff and great service from the top chefs to housekeeping….always available….always helpful. You cannot go wrong taking your group or your best friend to the Lodge at Whitefish Lake…Five Star, locally owned, family operated, affordable and then some! We will return!! Mary Crane and Jill Williams….Group Organizers!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryC03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Park, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2011

Was impressed withe the entire staff, always friendly helpful and witha pleasant greeting. Handled minor issues promptly and efficiently. And Owners/operators interacted with guests at every opportunity.. I would go back and for sure recommend it to my friends.. And the large rooms with the fireplaces and large baths, what a pleasure ....

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dwmski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nassau, New Providence Island
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2011

Having skied all over the US, in Europe, Canada and Chile, I've had the pleasure of staying at many beautiful resorts and condos. Outside of not having the convenience of being slopeside (ski in/ski out), The Lodge at Whitefish Lake is an excellent place to stay. They easily made up for not being slopeside by providing a private shuttle to and from the ski area. The owners are ever present and as friendly and helpful as can possibly be imagined, and the entire staff were great too. I would highly recommend this lodge to anyone looking for an awesome ski experience, and I would love to return in the summe to check out the gorgeous lake and water sports as well. On a scale of 1 to 10, this place is a 12!!!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank farriscapes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitefish
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Whitefish
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rocky Mountain Lodge
3.5 mi away
Kandahar Lodge
Kandahar Lodge
#8 of 16 in Whitefish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Firebrand Hotel
The Firebrand Hotel
#7 of 16 in Whitefish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
17.3 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
6.8 mi away
Meadow Lake Resort
Meadow Lake Resort
#1 of 4 in Columbia Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge at Whitefish Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge at Whitefish Lake

Property: Lodge at Whitefish Lake
Address: 1380 Wisconsin Ave, Whitefish, MT 59937-3338
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Whitefish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Whitefish
#2 Romantic Hotel in Whitefish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodge at Whitefish Lake 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge at Whitefish Lake is a mile from downtown Whitefish between Whitefish Lake and the Viking Creek Wetland Preserve. Offering classic hotel rooms in our Viking Lodge, suites in our main Lodge, Lakefront condominiums, and the Viking Creek Luxury Homes, The Lodge at Whitefish Lake has the perfect lodging accommodation for a wide variety of guests! On-site amenities and services include the Boat Club Lounge & Restaurant, the Spa at Whitefish Lake offering full day spa services, the Coffee Dock Cafe, (seasonal) Lakefront Tiki Bar, the full-service Marina at Whitefish Lake, Viking Falls indoor pool & hot tub, Lakefront hot tub and seasonal outdoor pool, concierge services, the Mercantile at the Lodge, airport, downtown & ski shuttle service, complimentary valet service, and free parking. As Montana's only AAA Four-Diamond rated property, we look forward to having you as our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lodge at Whitefish Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge At Whitefish Lake Hotel Whitefish
Hotel Whitefish Lake
Resort Whitefish Lake
Lodge At Whitefish Lake Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing