We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Birthday to Us”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Whitefish
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Lovely resort - we were on a girls weekend and stayed in the Viking Lodge across from the main lodge and actually liked it better because it was so peaceful with a firepit and hot tub right out our back door. - no view of the lake but for us it was perfect. Rooms and bathrooms are huge. Staff was excellent. Food in the boathouse amazing- Staff in the restaurant are snooty but it didn't keep us from having a wonderful meal with a terrific view. Will recommend to my clients as I am a travel agent. Something I did not mention ahead of time, I like being treated as my clients would be. Well done!

Room Tip: If you want to be next to the fire pit and hot tub ask for ground floor facing the reserve
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haptrav12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,067)
There are newer reviews for Lodge at Whitefish Lake
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

871 - 877 of 1,067 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2012

This is a beautiful lodge, lake and town. Our stay was a double in the Viking building next to the nature preserve. It was large with a wonderful fireplace and the bathroom was outstanding in size and amenities. Great workout room, dining on the lake, pool, boat dock, evening entertainment. Well worth the visit this this lodge and town. I'd wait until July to August to fully enjoy the outdoor activities as June the winter snow and rains had the rivers running high and fast to enjoy fly fishing. Lakes were great though.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raffaele8019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Absolutely gorgeous hotel! Amazing service! Loved the hot tub at the Viking Lodge! The room we stayed in was absolutely beautiful, and I can't wait to go back!

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Robyncicle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

We booked this trip without knowing what room we were getting and it turned out we were across the street with a view of the road and parking lot. Fortunately an upgrade was available with a fantastic lake view. I'm sure we got the lock off room of a larger unit as there was a connecting door to a room with a balcony. We were in room 331, a corner room with a window facing south and a window facing west. The large room had a king bed a nice gas fireplace, two great chairs and a very nice 42 inch TV. The entry way was a mini kitchenette with a small fridge a microwave and a coffee maker. (Good coffee and REAL half and half.) The large bathroom had a large tub and a separate shower. Nice copper sinks to remind you of Montana's rich mining history. Overall great room with fantastic views. The one negative would be the bed, it wasn't terrible, but with the greatness of this place I thought they should have a pillow top mattress. The sheets are fitted, just make sure they are pulled all the way under the mattress so you don't wake up on the mattress it's self.

Room Tip: Corner rooms ofer the best views, and be sure to get lake view.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RWells5733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

If you're in Whitefish you've GOT to stay here! Hands down one of the best places I've stayed! For the same price of a Best Western in town, you can have incrediable views with 5 star service. They've got a coffee shop and bar that over looks the lake. Also, up to date fitness center, spa, and free wifi! You will truly miss out if you come to Whitefish and don't stay here!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sawickied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

By and large, this is a lovely hotel in Whitefish with very well appointed rooms, decor, and atmosphere. We were here off season, that is between winter skiing and summer high season, so it wasn't crowed. I was on a much needed vacation with my spouse and Whitefish is a great place to really get away from it all (there is cell service however for those of you who cannot disconnect without having a heart attack). We stayed in the Viking Lodge which is across the street which is very nice- we had a beautiful room with a fireplace, huge bathroom with soaking tub and separate shower, and microwave and fridge- but lower priced than the main lodge and sort of like the low rent annex of the place. It's connected by a skywalk over the road, which I suppose comes in handy in the middle of winter. Viking Lodge has its own fire pit outside and a hot tub in the back. We noticed cameras everywhere and you have to use your keycard to get in to practically everything, even the hot tub which had a fence around it. Someone must have been hot tub hopping in the middle of the night for them to have to gate it in.

Whitefish is starting to become a destination and with that comes lots of espresso stands, million dollar vacation homes, upscale places like the Lodge at Whitefish Lake, and lots of student, ski bum, and young seasonal workers. This was one reason why I did not give this place 5 stars. From check in to check out we didn't see anyone working there who appeared to be over age 25, other than the fabulous massage therapist I had at the hotel spa. Staff were friendly but it was somewhat run like a summer camp-- when we tried to check in our room was not ready until after 3:00 pm and they didn't have it cleaned from the night before yet. Wonder what went on in there? At the spa one receptionist could not run the computer, and the other (I felt sorry for her) couldn't print anything as she had probably only worked there for a week or so. There seemed to be college aged students, aka friends of employees, roaming everywhere around the hotel. Our room wasn't cleaned until late afternoon. Where was the management?

It was quiet at least where we were, with some road noise from traffic. We did not eat in the restaurant as it was overpriced and overall, I felt the hotel was a little too overpriced for the area. Plus they take a deposit on your room, I've always found that places do that to make themselves appear more hard-to-get-into. The pool was not open when we were there so didn't try that. I did have a very good massage at the Spa. The hotel has live music certain nights of the week in the bar area. Whitefish has a lot of good and cheap restaurants, tons of pizza places, neat bars, and its proximity to Glacier National Park-- a marvel of nature-- makes the town worth a visit.

Would I recommend the Lodge at Whitefish Lake to friends? Yes, especially if they want to feel pampered with valet parking and the like, and feel they're being catered to. Would I stay here again? Maybe if I got a bargain basement summer camp room rate.

Room Tip: Get one facing the lake if you want to dish out the dough for that. In the viking lodge get one tha...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lady911Driver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

My wife and I stayed at this lodge in early June, 2012 for 5 nights. We were in a lakeview studio with 2 queen beds. The room was very spacious with two very comfortable overstuffed chairs, gas fireplace, small refrigerator, and microwave. If you like peace and quiet you will love this facility. We had three very rambunctious young boys in the adjoining room and never heard a sound. The room had a partial view of the lake and included a small balcony. The bathroom included a separate shower and bathtub and had double sinks with generous counter space. This facility has two restaurants, where the food was delicious and the service was extraordinary. All the staff we interacted with at this lodge were very friendly and competent. The lodge itself is very beautiful and spacious, with several wood burning fireplaces. It was very rainy during out stay in early June, giving us a good excuse to spend extra time in this beautiful lodge. Parking at the main lodge is limited, but the valet service was efficient. There is a very large gas fireplace outside near the valet parking stand where you could enjoy the warmth while waiting the brief interval for your car. This fireplace seemingly runs all night, as we returned one night after midnight and it was burning. The lodge is on the west side of Glacier Park and will require about a 25 minute drive to the park's west entrance. The nearby town of Whitefish is delightful, with several interesting shops and excellent restaurants. Overall, our stay at this lodge was a wonderful experience and is highly recommended. We have seldom experienced such friendly and competent staff. Everything about the facility was first rate and guests are treated like royalty.Rates during the offseason are reasonable but increase appreciably during high season.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PsyProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitefish
1.5 mi away
The Firebrand Hotel
The Firebrand Hotel
#7 of 17 in Whitefish
159 reviews
3.5 mi away
Kandahar Lodge
Kandahar Lodge
#8 of 17 in Whitefish
316 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Whitefish
17.3 mi away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
363 reviews
2.0 mi away
Pine Lodge
Pine Lodge
#5 of 17 in Whitefish
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge at Whitefish Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge at Whitefish Lake

Address: 1380 Wisconsin Ave, Whitefish, MT 59937-3338
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Whitefish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Whitefish
#2 Romantic Hotel in Whitefish
Price Range: £85 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodge at Whitefish Lake 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge at Whitefish Lake is a mile from downtown Whitefish between Whitefish Lake and the Viking Creek Wetland Preserve. Offering classic hotel rooms in our Viking Lodge, suites in our main Lodge, Lakefront condominiums, and the Viking Creek Luxury Homes, The Lodge at Whitefish Lake has the perfect lodging accommodation for a wide variety of guests! On-site amenities and services include the Boat Club Lounge & Restaurant, the Spa at Whitefish Lake offering full day spa services, the Coffee Dock Cafe, (seasonal) Lakefront Tiki Bar, the full-service Marina at Whitefish Lake, Viking Falls indoor pool & hot tub, Lakefront hot tub and seasonal outdoor pool, concierge services, the Mercantile at the Lodge, airport, downtown & ski shuttle service, complimentary valet service, and free parking. As Montana's only AAA Four-Diamond rated property, we look forward to having you as our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Lodge at Whitefish Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge At Whitefish Lake Hotel Whitefish
Hotel Whitefish Lake
Resort Whitefish Lake
Lodge At Whitefish Lake Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing