We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crowded pool not due to guests !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Whitefish
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We just stayed 3 nites at this lodge and while it has a great location with a pool that is lakeside we could not find any open lounge chairs poolside !! It was very crowded with "out of control" children and my husband and I wondered " where are the parents of these children" ? Well we finally did find chairs by 5 sweet little girls and after talking to them they confided their secret with us that they were not staying at the hotel but had waited for someone to open the gate and they walked in to the pool area. In fact she explained everyone does it !! So no wonder there are no chairs for guests paying 350 to 450 a nite as all the neighborhood children are considering the lodge pool as theirs !!! How difficult is it for staff to notice this as the same kids were there 2 days in a row while we were there !! The 3rd day it was finally "normal" and the children that were there were under their parents supervision so it was enjoyable and there were plenty of deck chairs and pool towels !!! Imagine that !!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank awcjaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSkoczek, Executive Assistant at Lodge at Whitefish Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about this situation - I have already forwarded your comment to the proper management to review our policies with our pool attendants. We strive to keep the pool and hot tub area to guests only as you are who the amenity is intended for and I'm sorry to hear that this wasn't the case while you were with us. Thank you again for the constructive feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,090)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

640 - 646 of 1,090 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

We came to stay at Whitefish lodge as are first family trip out west. We r originally from TN so seeing out west was new.. We love the lodge and pool area. We rented a pontoon boat... A little pricey. (Just like everything else) but it was worth it we had a blast. We came here to see Glacier National Park a very pretty park. There were a few problems with r air condition. Since we r staying here in July it is hotter in the day. As soon as we got in the room it was hot so we turned the air on. Then we left the room for a bit, when we came back it was very hit again. When it happened for a second and third time we were frustrated. So we called the front desk and they sent someone up to fix it. Turns out there is a button u can push so it won't do that. It was frustrating though and the maintenance man said they get a lot of complaints about that. They should really fix that. Also the food is pricey but we love r room. It is very spacious and has a flat screen, a little sitting area with a fireplace, a medium sized kitchen, and a big bathroom. Also a small porch with a little lake view. It was nice and we didn't stay in a suite. On the porch it was a little Loud because there was a machine (I think an AC unit) really loud. Overall pretty great stay. A nice beach area and not too far from Glaicer National Park. Also about 3-5 min away from whitefish town. Really fun and a lot of things to do. Zipline and other things. Really nice but there are snacks in the room that cost a lot. And a cute black bear stuffed animal on the bed. That u can only use while u stay here. U have to return it before u go..... Otherwise u pay 29.00$ a little pricey for a cute bear. But overall a great stay and I would stay again.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Oceanwaves108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSkoczek, Executive Assistant at Lodge at Whitefish Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your family vacation to Northwest Montana! It is a beautiful area that we feel everyone should experience. We can't wait to have you as our guests again for more Montana fun in the sun!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed in one of their 2 bedroom condos with a view of the lake. The condo was clean, spacious and well-appointed. It consisted of 2 bathrooms, 2 bedrooms (one w/ Queen and the other a King bedroom w/ private bathroom), Living room, dining area w/ large table, full kitchen and a balcony. The view was beautiful. The housekeeping was perfect. We had them do our laundry ($1.50 per pound) although we would have preferred laundry in our condo (there was also access to a shared laundry room but the price was right for them doing it for us). The food at the restaurant sitting out over the lake was very good and a real surprise. We rented a boat at the marina right outside the restaurant and spun around the lake for 2 hours (highly recommended!!). We used the hotel as our home base for trips into Glacier National Park -- took about 25 minutes to get to the park and was a very nice drive. We also went up to Whitefish Mountain (about 10 minutes away) and did the Alpine slide there which was tons of fun. Its a quick 5 minute drive to downtown whitefish. Overall, the location was perfect, the food was good, the staff was friendly. If we are ever back to visit Glacier National Park, we'll make a point of staying here again.

Oh yeah, one other thing - they have a "kids club" on Friday and Saturday nights. There were 2 excellent staff guiding activities for just 5 kids total. OUr 3 kids (ages 5-8) had a blast and begged to go back for the 2nd night. It was a welcome relief for us bone-tired parents;->!!

Room Tip: The condos with lake view was worth the price and highly recommended!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deirdre b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSkoczek, Executive Assistant at Lodge at Whitefish Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Deirdre - what a great family vacation; I am glad that you were able to enjoy not only the Lodge and Marina at Whitefish Lake but explored Glacier National Park and Whitefish Mountain Resort as well! Our area has so much to offer in the way of adventure.

We look forward to having you and your family as our guests again should you visit Glacier National Park or Northwest Montana again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I had the pleasure of coming to the Whitefish Lodge for a business trip w/ my husband the weekend of June 27-29, 2014. Everyone from the van driver to the concierge was friendly, helpful and accomodating. Upon entering the lobby you're greeted by an 8ft Black Bear, as well as high beam ceilings surrounded by glass. We stayed in room 239.which was absolutely beautiful. The deep dark tiles complimented the rustic decor. A beatiful glass gas fireplace set the tone. We went on the 3-hr. Glacier Park Red Bus Tours of Galacier National Park with Benny our Tour Guide which was was alot of fun. We happened to be there for the 3rd Annual Woody Whitefish Weekend featuring 40 classic boats from all over the Pacific Northwest and Canada. We were able to watch the boats either outside or right from the patio of the restaurant. The weather as well as our short stay prevented us from indulging in more activities. The views are simply breathtaking! I would return in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cheri63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSkoczek, Executive Assistant at Lodge at Whitefish Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Cheri - thank you for joining us for Whitefish Woody Weekend III! It was such a fun event, even with a little rain. I'm also glad to hear that you enjoyed the Lodge as well as the event. We look forward to seeing you next year for Whitefish Woody Weekend IV!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed here for one weekday night in May. This is probably shoulder season for the lodge, and the price was lower than you would expect for a luxury resort. This is the type of resort that hosts a lot of conventions, but does seem to be a nice family place also. The resort fronts the lake and is connected to a condominium complex. It's located on a main highway a mile or so north of the lively Whitefish downtown area, and 10 minutes from the ski slopes. Our two queen room was very large, with a kitchenette, a large bathroom with stone shower and a separate tub, nice fireplace and large flat screen TV. The room was very comfortable---what one would expect in a top notch resort. My only complaint on the room was that the bed pillows were way too thick for me.

There is a parking garage underneath, but it's small and was full when we were there. But there is adequate alternative parking outside. The outdoor pool overlooks the marina and lake, and has an extra large hot tub (big enough for 20 or so). Nearby on a verandah is a nice fire pit and they have a big spa complex and a better than average fitness center. We didn't try the restaurant, but it's very pricey (definitely resort prices here!). However, it's quite a pretty dining room and does have a great view of the lake. There are several good fine dining options in downtown Whitefish, which is what we did. The staff were generally very friendly. You do get a somewhat impersonal feel typical for an upscale convention-oriented resort. Overall, for just over $150 for the night, this was a bargain considering the luxury.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lchjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My room in the viking part was exceptional. Much newer and all you had to do was walk to the sky way to get to your room. There is a preserve on the property where the Viking sits as well. I would stay here again and again. It was my anniversary and they put champaign in the room. I did not ask for it, they just did it, I was touched and plan on staying here again and again...love it...the bar made the best food, don't hesitate about the price, it is worth it.

Room Tip: The snacks in room are extra, don't just start eating, look at price list...high
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnnabelleWV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSkoczek, Executive Assistan at Lodge at Whitefish Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

I am so glad to hear that you celebrated your anniversary with us, it sounds like it was all that you could hope for! The Viking Lodge is a beautiful facility that is very peaceful as it sits away from the main resort. By the next time you stay with us you should be able to enjoy the indoor pool located at the Viking Lodge as well (complete with 10ft. waterfall)!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed 7 days at the lodge. Overall it was very nice but our room faced the highway which was very noisy. The facility was very clean with nice modern touches. The staff overall was very friendly and helpful. The gas fireplace did not work in our room and sometimes our room was not made up until 4 p.m. We came here mostly to sight see at Glacier and this was a good location for reaching the park and other sites. Unfortunately the top of the Going to the Sun road was still blocked with an avalanche at the end of June, so we did not get to see everything we wanted to. The scenery at the lodge on the lake is beautiful and the pool and hot tub are also located on the lake. Food is very good also, although a little pricey. If you are going be sure to get a room on the lake.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitefish
1.5 mi away
The Firebrand Hotel
The Firebrand Hotel
#7 of 17 in Whitefish
170 reviews
3.5 mi away
Kandahar Lodge
Kandahar Lodge
#8 of 17 in Whitefish
325 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Whitefish
17.3 mi away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
371 reviews
2.0 mi away
Pine Lodge
Pine Lodge
#5 of 17 in Whitefish
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge at Whitefish Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge at Whitefish Lake

Address: 1380 Wisconsin Ave, Whitefish, MT 59937-3338
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Whitefish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Whitefish
#2 Romantic Hotel in Whitefish
Price Range: £80 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodge at Whitefish Lake 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge at Whitefish Lake is a mile from downtown Whitefish between Whitefish Lake and the Viking Creek Wetland Preserve. Offering classic hotel rooms in our Viking Lodge, suites in our main Lodge, Lakefront condominiums, and the Viking Creek Luxury Homes, The Lodge at Whitefish Lake has the perfect lodging accommodation for a wide variety of guests! On-site amenities and services include the Boat Club Lounge & Restaurant, the Spa at Whitefish Lake offering full day spa services, the Coffee Dock Cafe, (seasonal) Lakefront Tiki Bar, the full-service Marina at Whitefish Lake, Viking Falls indoor pool & hot tub, Lakefront hot tub and seasonal outdoor pool, concierge services, the Mercantile at the Lodge, airport, downtown & ski shuttle service, complimentary valet service, and free parking. As Montana's only AAA Four-Diamond rated property, we look forward to having you as our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lodge at Whitefish Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge At Whitefish Lake Hotel Whitefish
Hotel Whitefish Lake
Resort Whitefish Lake
Lodge At Whitefish Lake Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing