We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Lodge at Whitefish Lake - Montana” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lodge at Whitefish Lake

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Whitefish
Certificate of Excellence
Evans, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Lodge at Whitefish Lake - Montana”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

this place was pretty much all you could ask for in a beautiful area near a beautiful lake. Our room had a king size bed, several overstuffed chairs, a fireplace,a kitchenette,a large bathroom with both tub and Separate shower, a large closet and easy access to the lobby. The atmosphere was that of a high end Mountain lodge that was built many years ago, but has mostly kept up with the times. The Dining facilities were done well with both outside Lake-view dining, and inside Lakeview dining. Food was well prepared,and looked quite gourmet. A large pool with huge hot-tub were available and large Marina were available right in front of the Lakeside part of the Lodge. we loved the stuffed bear, Bison, and Moose in the lobby

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Lake, and try to make reservations for dinner as it is crowded early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 101Michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSkoczek, Executive Assistant at Lodge at Whitefish Lake, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your Lodge experience with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the accommodations, Lodge decor, and lake front amenities offered at the resort. We hope to have you as our guest again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    652
    213
    48
    31
    13
See reviews for
253
416
24
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Billings, Montana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

We arrived early for check in to The LODGE. We had an event to attend at 4:30. Called ahead to be put on list for early check in. When we arrived at 1:00; at 4:00 we were still waiting. Employees were not concerned for our dilemma. We would ask periodically with simply smile and a comment at one point " I have no way of checking until the post". I walked up to see where the maid was and ask if we could get our room done. At that point they entered the room. After a long drive to get to Whitefish Montana this was not the hospitality I expected. I have traveled a lot and would never recommend this establishment!!!! Just on staff alone.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Pkanderson5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSkoczek, Executive Assistant at Lodge at Whitefish Lake, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Mr. Anderson, I am sorry we weren't able to accommodate your early check in request. Given the size of the resort and popularity during summer season we are not able to honor all of our early arrival requests. We strive to provide our guests with the best service possible and I am sorry that was not your experience. Our Resort Manager is familiar with your situation, having assisted you during your stay, and will contact you personally to discuss your stay in more detail.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, WA
Level Contributor
116 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in first floor condo. Huge master suite with King bed, two vanities, lots of closet space and big shower. Two twin beds in one bedroom and queen in other. Laundry room, bathroom and another hall closet. Large family room, dining room and 4 bar stools. Full size kitchen, pantry and all necessary kitchen items. Property had lots of rentals, boats, wave runners and bikes among other options. Tiki bar with fire pit and more fire pits along the beach. Pool and huge hot tub. Not impressed with Boat House food or service
but hotel was very attentive to any issues and our comfort.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dbqgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSkoczek, Executive Assistant at Lodge at Whitefish Lake, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your lakefront condominium! Those units do offer a perfect home away from home while exploring beautiful Whitefish and Glacier National Park. We look forward to having you as our guest again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We booked this room late so that may go some way to explain the room issue.
I had been really looking forward to staying here because it's web site shows an idyllic hotel on a lake which it is at the front but that doesn't show that a busy road effectively runs through the middle of the hotel.
Unfortunately our room was right beside the road overlooking a couple of car parks and also over the function suite where the boom from the band at a wedding kept us awake on the Saturday.
Thankfully American weddings seem to end earlier than in Britain.
Their air conditioning is also extremely noisy.
The worst feature is that in our opinion the hotel was not that clean with crumbs on carpets in lots of public areas and paper and dust in our room.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank covenanter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSkoczek, Executive Assistant at Lodge at Whitefish Lake, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Lodge; we truly value the opinions of our guests and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. The Lodge is located on Wisconsin Avenue and we do not typically receive complaints about road noise; I am sorry that was not your experience. We also have regulations on when functions must end so as not to disturb our guests. I have shared your comments regarding cleanliness with our housekeeping department who will utilize the information to improve upon their services. Thank you again for taking time to share your experience with us; we hope to have the opportunity to share our hospitality with you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sparta, New Jersey
Level Contributor
139 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

After spending 4 days at Glacier we were looking forward to having a change of scenery only to be disappointed at check in. We checked in on a Friday , and although I thought I was getting a lake front view room, I am in the building across the way with a newer room that faces a parking lot view. The pool in the Viking lodge is closed due to construction-not good for kids! Ok -Prime time season -you think that would be fixed ?) then went over to the main pool to find it crowded and the hot tub area filled with small children? You would think a resort like this would discourage /restrict small children in the hot tub.
I am hoping the next 24 hours get better but so far my impression of this place is not a 4-5 Star resort . It's making Our "3 Star" stay at Alpine Village (Glacier Nat Park) a "5 "Star .

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank SO194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSkoczek, Executive Assistant at Lodge at Whitefish Lake, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback, I hope that the rest of your stay was more enjoyable. Unfortunately the indoor pool in the Viking Lodge is currently being built and has not yet been opened. We hope the Viking Falls indoor pool and hot tub will be a new addition that our guests can enjoy beginning this fall. Please do let us know how the rest of your stay went!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bismarck, North Dakota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

My husband had stayed at the Lodge some years back but there was never time. I wanted a quite 25th Anniversary Celebration in the mountains; just the two of us. The Lodge at Whitefish was the perfect place.

From the moment you drive in and throughout the check-in process the staff were so friendly. The room was perfect. We loved sitting by the fireplace talking about the adventure we had been on for 25 years.

The spa is definitely worth spending time in. If your looking for an incredible meal try The Boat
Club.

Thank you everyone for a great weekend!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSkoczek, Executive Assistant at Lodge at Whitefish Lake, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Congratulations from us all on your 25th Anniversary! We are so happy to help create memories that will be cherished for a lifetime. We hope to share more memory making moments with you and yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
164 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed at the Lodge at Whitefish Lake for 4 nights this past July and it was wonderful. We stayed in the Viking Lodge that seemed brand new - in fact they were still working on the indoor pool (sadly we didn't get to use it) and it smelled a little like fresh paint. Our room was huge, the beds were super comfortable, and the layout of the room and bathroom was unlike any hotel I have ever stayed at. My only complaint is that the bathroom floors were really cold - it would have been awesome if the floors were heated! Oh, and don't park in the garage...it was really creepy.

We look forward to staying here again! This is a great place to stay if you are visiting Glacier National Park!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank CC B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitefish
3.5 mi away
Kandahar Lodge
Kandahar Lodge
#8 of 16 in Whitefish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Firebrand Hotel
The Firebrand Hotel
#7 of 16 in Whitefish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rocky Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
17.3 mi away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grouse Mountain Lodge
Grouse Mountain Lodge
#6 of 16 in Whitefish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge at Whitefish Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge at Whitefish Lake

Property: Lodge at Whitefish Lake
Address: 1380 Wisconsin Ave, Whitefish, MT 59937-3338
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Whitefish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Whitefish
#2 Romantic Hotel in Whitefish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodge at Whitefish Lake 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge at Whitefish Lake is situated just over 1 mile from downtown Whitefish between Whitefish Lake and the Viking Creek Wetland Preserve. Offering classic hotel rooms in our Viking Lodge, suites in our main Lodge, Lakefront condominiums, and the Viking Creek Luxury Homes, The Lodge at Whitefish Lake has the perfect lodging accommodation for a wide variety of guests! On-site amenities and services include the Boat Club Lounge & Restaurant, the Spa at Whitefish Lake offer full day spa services, the Coffee Dock Cafe, (seasonal) Lakefront Tiki Bar, the full-service Marina at Whitefish Lake, Viking Falls indoor pool & hot tub, Lakefront hot tub and seasonal outdoor pool, concierge services, the Mercantile at the Lodge, airport, downtown & ski shuttle service, complimentary valet service, and free parking. As Montana's only AAA Four-Diamond rated property, we look forward to having you as our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Lodge at Whitefish Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge At Whitefish Lake Hotel Whitefish
Hotel Whitefish Lake
Resort Whitefish Lake
Lodge At Whitefish Lake Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing