We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Whitefish
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 November 2010

The Lodge is nicely situated and we were able to get out and see sites easily. We stayed in the Viking Lodge and besides having to stand on tiptoes to see out the window to get a view from the second floor the room was nice enough. We could not understand the luke warm water; commentary on this in the room booklet is so that one does not scald oneself. Well thank you very much I am adult enough to decide for myself what temperature I like my bath or shower at. The room had a soaking tub but the water was a few degrees below soaking temperature so that was a waste of time. We also battled with Internet reception in our room and reported this to the front desk the morning after arrival. We were told it would be looked at. We continued having issues in the following four day stay and in the end just opted going to the local coffee spot as they had free wifi so my husband could still attend his business daily. We did love our bed, very comfy indeed and the fireplace in the room was romantic. The little bear on the bed was hugged and cuddled and appreciated too. We found it a bit noisy in the Lodge once the weekend came and woke up to the sounds of neighbours and people walking up and down the passage talking loudly – something I think is pretty hard to avoid in this sort of a setting. Another little annoyance was the only laundry working in the hotel was across the way at the main lodge so it was back wards and forwards all the time to check on it. We ate at the Yacht club and loved it. Brilliant service and some really good food and a nice wine list. Another evening we went down the road to Latitude for dinner and I was really satisfied with quality of food and service. I am a bit of a foodie so not so easy to please. It was a mediocre experience for us at best and although we did not hate it we did not love it either. I think this would really appeal to families and young groups of people.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pawsandclaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,090)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,018 - 1,024 of 1,090 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2010

We travel as much as we can, several times a year, and stay all over the place. The Lodge at Whitefish Lake is one of the nicer places we've ever stayed. We were in the Viking Lodge, which is only a few years old, and it is wonderful. The room is not large, but large enough. It has a fireplace, large TV mounted above the mantel, a large bathroom with a tub and very nice shower, and beautiful tile work and decor. There are robes for the trip to the hot tub, and yellow striped towels too. There was even a cute stuffed bear on the bed when we arrived, and the bed and linens were wonderful.

If you set the heater to about 72, the air conditioner won't freeze you out at night. We found that the air conditioner blows directly on the bed, and if you set it too cold, you will be too cold. It was a small nuisance that we learned how to overcome.

Our view was only of the parking lot, but that's what you get when you book online trying to get the lowest price. No problem. In fact, we kind of liked the seclusion the room offered. The place was a ghost town while we were there, which we also liked. The season is not summer or winter, and nobody is thinking about lodges in October.

Stay here. You won't regret it. Be sure to take your picture with the bear in the lobby.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GRShafer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2010

Perfect location between center of the charming town of Whitefish (1 mile away) and ski resort (Whitefish mountain - about 6 miles away). Best part is extremely large rooms the can easily accommodate a family, complete with gas fireplace. In the summer, enjoy the pool and jacuzzi overlooking the lake, or lunch on the outside terrace overlooking the lake. We loved the restaurant as well (rated best in Whitefish), but still went into town to enjoy other numerous restaurants including Buffalo Cafe (brunch) and Wasabi (excellent Sushi - believe it or not)

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank familyoffour50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2010

We came to The Lodge sight unseen and only on the advice of family living in the area and their recommendations. To our delight it was everything we had heard of and MORE! We were a small group (6) that came planning a small wedding out on their dock. Even though they were not receiving any fees from us...as we were so small of a group...they bent over backwards to make sure everything was PERFECT. The weather was not on our side the day of the wedding and were amazed at the help of their sales and catering staff. They allowed us to use one of their BEAUTIFUL suites (At NO extra cost) and the event was beautiful...If this is what they do for something as small as that… I can only imagine how they handle a large event! My husband and I stayed in one their loft suites for 6 days and everyday the room was taken care of and their service was wonderful. We had some of our family staying in the newer part … and their rooms were incredible for the rate. My husband and I used the spa for a few services and were more than pleased. By the end of our stay we had gotten to know so much of the staff… we felt we said goodbye to friends. I look forward to many years of returning to this INCREDIBLE lodge!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeAreHappyAtLast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2010

Beautiful Hotel and Staff, My wife and I went for our Anniversary. We were treated like Gold. Read the other reviews with regard to the location of the TV and the location and size of the shower controls. I was sitting on the balcony when I heard a scream and crying only to find my wife on the floor of the shower due to hitting her head on the shower controls, others have made comment to this and I almost hit mine as well.
The “Spa” was nice my wife booked both of us pedicures (very nice and professional service), she had a facial (that according to her was ok then we had a couples massage (it was so bad its humorous, we travel quite often and have never experienced anything as poorly done as the massages we received, in my opinion the masseuse’s had no professional training whatsoever and our 10 year old would have done better and not cost $290.00). Our Spa bill for three hours was over $500.00. I may as well have just pulled out a lighter and burnt the money.
Enough of my griping, the overall experience was very good just stay out of the Spa.
Thank you to the Valet staff, Chappy at the lounge, and the Restaurant manager and her staff. She even came to our table and thanked us for dining with them.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trishandjohn7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

My husband and I drove up to Whitefish Lake from Missoula. The drive along Flathead Lake is beautiful. Upon arriving at the Lodge, we were shown to a beautiful room facing the pool and lake. We'd gone up to hike in Glacier only to find that Going to the Sun Road was closed at the higher elevations for construction. The Lodge staff helped us with maps, directions and hiking recommendations. The dining room with outdoor seating had a marvelous menu. We've traveled alot in our 29+ years together, and haven't had the kind of service and accomodations elsewhere like we had at the Lodge. Whitefish is a neat town and this is worth a return trip for us. We highly recommend this property!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tattoowcliberty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2010

We are native Montanans that return regularly to the Flathead/Glacier Park area, We have stayed in most all of the areas Motels and Lodges..Our stay last Friday night could not have been any better. The customer service and accommodations were excellent. A few of the employees to be commended are Stace, Kayla, and Kaile.. We will be back soon....
Thank you.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Montanaman_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitefish
1.5 mi away
The Firebrand Hotel
The Firebrand Hotel
#7 of 17 in Whitefish
171 reviews
3.5 mi away
Kandahar Lodge
Kandahar Lodge
#8 of 17 in Whitefish
325 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Whitefish
17.3 mi away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
371 reviews
2.0 mi away
Pine Lodge
Pine Lodge
#5 of 17 in Whitefish
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge at Whitefish Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge at Whitefish Lake

Address: 1380 Wisconsin Ave, Whitefish, MT 59937-3338
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Whitefish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Whitefish
#2 Romantic Hotel in Whitefish
Price Range: £80 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodge at Whitefish Lake 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge at Whitefish Lake is a mile from downtown Whitefish between Whitefish Lake and the Viking Creek Wetland Preserve. Offering classic hotel rooms in our Viking Lodge, suites in our main Lodge, Lakefront condominiums, and the Viking Creek Luxury Homes, The Lodge at Whitefish Lake has the perfect lodging accommodation for a wide variety of guests! On-site amenities and services include the Boat Club Lounge & Restaurant, the Spa at Whitefish Lake offering full day spa services, the Coffee Dock Cafe, (seasonal) Lakefront Tiki Bar, the full-service Marina at Whitefish Lake, Viking Falls indoor pool & hot tub, Lakefront hot tub and seasonal outdoor pool, concierge services, the Mercantile at the Lodge, airport, downtown & ski shuttle service, complimentary valet service, and free parking. As Montana's only AAA Four-Diamond rated property, we look forward to having you as our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lodge at Whitefish Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge At Whitefish Lake Hotel Whitefish
Hotel Whitefish Lake
Resort Whitefish Lake
Lodge At Whitefish Lake Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing