We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“0/5 Stars”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Downtowner Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Downtowner Inn
Ranked #8 of 11 Whitefish B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“0/5 Stars”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed here in July for a wedding. From the moment we walked in the door the staff was rude. Every time we entered the lobby the staff would look at us but then quickly act as though we weren't even there. The breakfast selection was very minimal. When we checked out we had determined a discrepancy in check-in dates and when we tried to have a reasonable conversation with the woman at the front desk, she immediately became defensive. Then another staff member jumped into the conversation very rudely and told us we were completely in the wrong. Even though we had gotten email confirmation of our dates, they wouldn't budge in their position or attitude. I have worked in retail for 20 years and have never been treated so poorly. In this establishment the customer is never right. All they cared about was getting their money for their extremely overpriced hotel!! They may be located in a great place but there are taxi and other services to take you to your hotel further away after a night out. Because of this experience I will probably never visit Whitefish again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Americawidetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    20
    18
    5
    11
See reviews for
15
20
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Weston,
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

Donna and I had a splendid stay at the Downtowner Inn, Whitefish, MT. Would recommend to anyone traveling to the area to stay there.. The room was clean, roomy, along very friendly helpful staff. It is a block distance to all downtown restaurants and shopping stores. We enjoyed our stay and will look forward to another visit. A++++++++++++++

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DowntownerInn, Front Office Manager at Downtowner Inn, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
Thank you taking the time to post your review. We are very pleased that you were comfortable and enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to you staying next time you are in Whitefish!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

I stayed here for one night, having arrived via the Empire Builder at 7.30 in the morning. We were so pleased to have a room made available for us immediately which meant we could drop our luggage and embark on a trip to the magnificent Glacier National Park.
The room was large with twin double beds, and a clean bathroom. We were upstairs and there weren't too many other guests when we stayed so noise was minimal. A continental breakfast was available in the morning and while nothing fancy, it filled a gap and we were grateful for it as our train out of Whitefish was late in arriving.
All in all, an extremely convenient lodging in Whitefish, especially if arriving by train, very good value and with friendly, helpful front of house staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

We chose this hotel based on other reviews and the convenient location. It WAS convenient - I caught an early morning train, and the walk to the station was great. We enjoyed the location, but that was the only positive.

The woman behind the counter was unhelpful and cold. The room was dark, smelled musty and everything was old and in some state of disrepair. The temperature unit was horribly noisy. There was a party outside our window in the middle of the night. The next morning there were beer cans and other trash all over the parking lot. We complained of the noise and the mess to the young woman at the counter, and she shrugged and said that they were hotel guests - golfers.

Room Tip: Don't stay here unless you NEED to be in downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Happy_go_lucky_too
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Whitefish hotels

Meridian, Idaho
Level Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

When you book a room at the Downtowner you have to understand that its the only hotel located in downtown Whitefish and within walking distance to the action. It is a budget motel but is very clean and an overall great value. They have a bunk/hostel type room available as well as standard 2 queen type rooms. The lobby is cozy with a couch, love seat and usually has a fire going during the Winter months. Breakfast is mini bagels, juice and some fruit which suited us just fine but don't expect much more. There's internet access in the lobby and some basic toiletries for purchase if you happen to forget something and need it right away. Otherwise just down the street is a grocery store and drug store where you can pick anthying up. Some of the rooms do have a mini fridge and micro which comes in handy after a late evening at the pubs. This is a great place for a guys or girls home base for a weekend annual trip which is what we use it for and it works out great every year. I would also recommend to anyone traveling solo or with a family. We've always felt safe here although at times it can be a bit noisy when people return from the pubs.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the 2nd floor facing North. That way you'll have a view of the mountains...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013 via mobile

Warning do not stay here if your expecting a warm welcome or even acknowledge !The Check in girl (early 20s) is very rude . First day in whitefish ( infact 1st day in the u.s.a ) and no welcome Whatsoever , not even a friendly smile .We did however get plenty of cold half assed responses and plenty of scowls. We were trying to figure out what we had done to offend her right off the bat ! Perhaps because we were from overseas?! Really put us off staying here , it took all of ourcontrol not to tell her to shove it !


The good :location to town , room size , high ceilings , lots of towels , good lighting , warms rooms once heater boots up ( it does work , however very load like a fright train and can't sleep with it on)

The bad: we had to remove all bedding from the other bed and place it on one for warmth , another day we had to change the re-made bed's terrible plastic bed protector as you sweat something shocking with it on.
The 5-6 am wake up from the garbage truck out sound our room every morning ( our room was the far room overlooking ...the back carpark / ally way ) even when asked specifically not to look overlook a carpark !!! Young lady said rudely nothing was specified when booked , even though it was on our booking print out !

The ugly : Rude rude rude !!! From the check in girl to the mother and daughter cleaning folk . No friendly smiles or good days from these two just more scowls. We did arrive back around lunch time after skiing the slops to find both ladies in the room with the tv on load and we said we needed to quickly change .... They wouldn't leave ! We got changed in front of them !! As they said they would still be 15 minutes ! I felt like saying "please leave !!"

On whole : I would not stay here again due to the utterly rude run ins .

Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Drlil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siberian District, Russia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013

It's the first time my wife and I stayed at the hotel where every room has an entrance directly from the street, even if you are on the second or third floor. No lobby, no corridor, the room, the door and the street. There is nothing wrong with it, but mind a wooden ladder outside and if your room is next to this ladder you will hear every neighbour coming up and down.
When we arrived to this hotel it was rather late, because the Amtrak train delayed. An interesting experience was waiting for us: the reception was closed. How to get inside? We noticed a phone on the wall near the entrance and called. A voice on the other end of the line told us that we should not worry. We were given a room number and told that the key was under the door mat. It's really an unusual way of checking-in... Next morning we successfully checked-in as it usually happens in hotels.
Another interesting fact about this hotel is a Jacuzzi on the third floor in the open air. It is not too spacious; up to 6 people can accommodate it simultaneously. We were one couple out of two who dared and took the bath in the end on December. It's so cool after a cross-country skiing to rest in warm bubbling water and to watch the snow falling next to you.
A location of this hotel is contradictory. One of hand it's only couple blocks from the Amtrak station, on the other hand it's quite far from mountain ski amenities.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Begemoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitefish hotels
0.0 mi away
The Firebrand Hotel
The Firebrand Hotel
#7 of 16 in Whitefish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rocky Mountain Lodge
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Whitefish
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Stumptown Inn of Whitefish
Stumptown Inn of Whitefish
#13 of 16 in Whitefish
3.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
5.0 mi away
Kandahar Lodge
Kandahar Lodge
#8 of 16 in Whitefish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pine Lodge
Pine Lodge
#5 of 16 in Whitefish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downtowner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downtowner Inn

Property: Downtowner Inn
Address: 224 Spokane Ave, Whitefish, MT 59937-2652
Region: United States > Montana > Whitefish
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Whitefish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Downtowner Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Downtowner Inn is the only accommodation in the heart of Beautiful Downtown Whitefish, MT.If you are arriving by Amtrak we are only two blocks from the Train Depot. Shopping, dining, and night life are only a short stroll away. Come visit us in the winter for skiing and snowboarding at Whitefish Mountain Resort and in the summer for rafting, boating, hiking in Glacier National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Downtowner Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtowner Hotel Whitefish
Downtowner Inn Whitefish, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing