We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap Sleep Motel for the Huckleberry Fest” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cheap Sleep Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cheap Sleep Motel
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Whitefish
Stevensville
Level Contributor
110 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Cheap Sleep Motel for the Huckleberry Fest”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Older motel, away main from highway. Well lit, outlets not strong enough to hold the plugs, double bed, Good shower power, not enough hot water for 2. Unit next door was running there shower, it sounded like it was in our room. Name fit!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DandME88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    63
    47
    15
    12
See reviews for
31
88
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ocean shores
Level Contributor
94 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

After splurging in the park we wanted just a clean place to flop for the night in town so we could hit the airport in the morning. Tripadvisor to the rescue -This place came up and seemed to have good reviews.

Pros- It is not in Kalispell but still only minutes from the airport so it is a very reasonable consideration for those flying in and out to Glacier National Park or any of the surrounding fun spots. We were able to make reservations well in advance and even though we got in a little on the late side our room was waiting. The room was clean and the bed was comfy. The shower was great and the location was quiet as was the room. There was a nice little continental breakfast and Starbucks at a Safeway just down the street. With a name like Sleep Cheap one might expect something on the shabby side…not only was this not shabby at all, it was nice…simple and no frills but nice…real nice…like if I am in the area I wouldn’t think about anywhere else nice. Why would I…great place, great location, great price, great staff…

Cons- Yeah…It’s basic…no frills, no foo foo…just the room, the bed, a good shower, etc. On entering our room had a little musty smell (from the A.C.) but it went away quickly and was not a problem. Our room(as were a lot if not all) faced the parking lot so when all the motorcyclists got up early for their trip…well…let’s just say we didn’t need our alarm. I didn’t hear any cars…

Bottom line – This is the kind of place I look for when traveling: Clean, basic, comfy, quiet and reasonably priced. All too often I find I have to compromise on one or the other nowadays…not here…Loved it. If you plan on spending a lot of time in the room or want the fancy stuff…keep looking.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ducklakedaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Rapids, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

The Cheap Sleep is a solid choice if you want a good night's sleep in a quiet location at a fair price. Whitefish tends to be rather pricey to visit, but we found very friendly people all around town as well as the staff we met at Cheap Sleep. We stayed a few days in July while exploring Glacier. The rooms are basic and some things a bit worn, but we found everything quite clean and comfortable. The location is a little harder to find but, being set back from the road, it was very quiet. The lobby closes around 11 pm. However, if you have a late arrival they are happy to make arrangements for you as long as you notify them in advance. Breakfast is quite basic with some cereals, wrapped pastries, fruit and milk. It would be nicer if they had a bit more space and added orange juice. The staff we met were all very friendly and helpful. That included those at the desk and the cleaning crew. If we have the good fortune to be back in Whitefish, we'd definitely stay at the Cheap Sleep again. We'd rather spend money on doing things than a place you rest your head for a few hours in between all the fun. It's refreshing to find a non-chain motel with good staff and reasonable prices. However, if you're looking for a big 24-hour lobby, upscale furnishings and inflated rates, you'll want to go elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
106 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

True to the name, they were the best priced motel in Whitefish and I booked well in advance for a midsummer stay. The young man at the desk when we arrived was busy with phone calls and other guests, but multitasked well and we were checked in pretty quickly. The room was very clean, and the A/C was running when we entered the room so there was no wait for it to cool down. Furnishings were worn but in good repair and the mattress was new.

I was feeling very good about my choice of hotel until I tried to get to my car and bring in more luggage. I stood at the exit door trying to open it without success. I pushed harder, looked for a jammed mechanism, and finally noticed a small white button next to the door frame. By pushing the button the latch released in the same manner as using a room key to enter from the outside. I would not want to encounter this door for the first time while trying to exit the building in a fire, and for this reason I can't recommend the Cheap Sleep or rate it better than 2 stars..

Back in the room I ran into another issue: when using the shower, water sprayed in all directions from a bad pipe joint.at the showerhead. It soaked the bathroom floor by shooting over the shower curtain. I couldn't get out of the bathroom at first because the door knob only worked when turned to the left.

Settling in to sleep I noticed there was no chain lock on the door. Noise was quite noticeable from next door, but the other guests had quieted down by the time we went to bed.

We didn't use the pool, but breakfast was an adventure: they had coffee but no decaf or juice. 4 cereal choices, pop tarts, and a refrigerator with milk and a can of beer. An older couple came in while we were eating, saw the beer in the fridge and left. I hope they were able to get out the door.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CorpsofDiscovery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Whitefish hotels

Eureka, Montana
Level Contributor
192 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Stayed one night after Glacier Going to the Sun. Remember it is behind Subway on the west side of the road, well hidden. BUT no traffic from the road and quiet. Small pool and hot tub. Good A/C and clean room. Its not a new motel so remember that when you book. It is clean and quiet and has a continental breakfast, 3 cold cereals and waffles (eggo) of course. Good place to crash and would stay there again as it is half the price of the big chains. WiFi worked well too..
Also a BBq for guests if u want to use it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Unckebuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

carpets dirty, penis stain on sheets but clean, breakfasts are frozen waffles, fruit, and cereal...no hard boiled or other eggs or protein, tiny pool.

friendly staff
A.C. works well but loud and forceful wind.
ice bucket did not fit in dispenser
minimal free wall outlets

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TKfromOakland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level Contributor
253 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

Reserved through booking.com, the cheapest motel in Whitefish ($100 per night) in the high season. Standard motel room and small bathroom but it has the best shower head this side of home with lots of water pressure! Probably the best I've seen in a hotel! The swimming pool was too cold for us old folks but children seemed to enjoy it. The hot tub is in doors (prefer under the stars) but the water was hot and they did supply additional towels. The breakfast is a bit skimpy (cereal, frozen waffles, pastries, apples and bananas) but did last till lunch. Our room was clean, the beds comfortable, Wi-Fi worked fine. The walls are concrete block so provide good sound insulation. The drive to West Glacier is right pretty and several good restaurants on the way. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitefish hotels
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rocky Mountain Lodge
0.8 mi away
Stumptown Inn of Whitefish
Stumptown Inn of Whitefish
#13 of 16 in Whitefish
3.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Firebrand Hotel
The Firebrand Hotel
#7 of 16 in Whitefish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Big Mountain Lodge
Big Mountain Lodge
#12 of 16 in Whitefish
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pine Lodge
Pine Lodge
#5 of 16 in Whitefish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chalet Motel
Chalet Motel
#9 of 16 in Whitefish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheap Sleep Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheap Sleep Motel

Property: Cheap Sleep Motel
Address: 6400 US Highway 93 S, Whitefish, MT 59937-8237
Region: United States > Montana > Whitefish
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Whitefish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Cheap Sleep Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Cheap Sleep Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Cheap Hotel Whitefish
Cheap Sleep Motel Whitefish, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing