We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very fresh, very good....an exception to the 300 mile rule.”

Stillwater Fish House
Ranked #8 of 90 Restaurants in Whitefish
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$37
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Recently voted by the community as the "Best New Restaurant" in Whitefish as well as the "Best New Restaurant in the Flathead Valley. Featuring fresh flown in and an incredible seafood selection and Oyster Bar in the region. 20 Wines by the glass and hand selected 10 craft beers on Tap. Located 3 miles north of Whitefish on Hwy 93 West. Open from 5:00pm to 9:00pm daily. Foodie, Canadian and Family friendly!
Whitefish, Montana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very fresh, very good....an exception to the 300 mile rule.”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I have long believed that seafood restaurants, by and large, which are more than 300 miles from the ocean, are generally questionable. This restaurant is an exception. The fish (black cod and halibut, in our case) were both very fresh, very tasty. We visited on a busy Saturday night, and the staff seemed a bit overwhelmed, but the food was very good, well prepared, well seasoned.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MJL1061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    61
    21
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
california
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Whoops, maybe we waited too long”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Poor service, mediocre food, small portions, and Overpriced ! We had been looking forward to dining here ever since it opened and went there to celebrate a special event. There are many other better choices, with much better food and attitudes. We won't return.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sam088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Happy anniversary”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We went to Stillwater Fish House in Whitefish mt. As usual we weren't disappointed.From the minute we walked in we were treated like family. Our waitress Laurie was exceptional. We noticed that she was so friendly with everyone she waited on. The food was once again top notch. This is such a great place for everything from family get togethers to intimate date night.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank loventhelife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chanhassen, Minnesota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A must in WF!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Every time we're in WF we make sure we go to Stillwater Fish House. It has always been excellent. Although not in the easy downtown area, it's only 5 minutes west out of town (not a walk). Charming atmosphere, excellent service, interesting menu. Because it's fresh seafood, and they don't bring in an over abundance of seafood, they may run out of specials. No worries, there are other great choices. Beer and wine, no mixed drinks. Family friendly. Outdoor seating (could get dusty).

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marv D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Good food and service.”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Had a nice dinner at the Stillwater. Food was very good but we were disappointed with smaller portions. The service was attentive and friendly even though we had what we assumed to be a new server who was not sure of the menu.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stillwater Fish House also viewed

 

Been to Stillwater Fish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing