We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay for a very reasonable price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Whitefish
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 October 2010

Stayed for three nights as base for seeing Glacier National Park. Rooms very very clean, helpful staff and large room with King bed. Free Breakfast is nominal but is not out of the ordinary for this price accomodations. The area has great restuarants and location is convient for travel to Glacier and stores near by. Short drive or long walk to many excellent resturants downtown. Paid two or three times the price in Canada for some rooms a whole lot less comfortable. Enjoyed seeing deer walking across parking lot early in the morning.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dalette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (853)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

782 - 788 of 854 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2010

Calkled in unannounced late in the day and they fitted us in, nice people on the desk, great room, spotless. Breakfast was well laid out and pleny of room. Would stay there again most definitely

Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank GordonWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2010

The hotel was very nice & we enjoyed the town very much!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Retired_Teacher_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2010

We stayed at the Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge for four nights in early July while visiting Glacier National Park, and were generally pleased with the experience. The hotel has attractive and well-configured common spaces, and our room was nicely appointed and comfortable. The hotel also offers a "maxi-Continental" breakfast, with make-your-own waffles and microwavable eggs -- a very nice touch.

In addition to being an entirely decent place to stay, the Rocky Mountain Lodge is 30 real-world minutes from the West Glacier entrance to Glacier National Park -- an acceptable commute and an easy drive to the start of the Going-to-the-Sun Road. We "commuted" back and forth across Going-to-the-Sun (and twice down and around) to see most of the park over a five-day period -- and Whitefish was a good base of operations. In fact, if I went back, I might leave more time just to enjoy Whitefish itself, which has a very happening restaurant and bar scene.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrewKnightWV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2010

We stayed here for a visit to Glacier NP and the entire facility was beyond our expectations. The staff was professional and efficient. Our room was ready on time and thoroughly cleaned in a very timely manner. The room was over sized which allowed us to really stretch out and relax after the long drive from Yellowstone and after the long day at Glacier. The lodge is centrally located in Whitefish with all that one would need within a short drive or casual walk.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimbo1058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2010

I reserved 3 nights at this motel for a getaway for my husband and myself - "upgrading" to a "suite". When we checked into the room, it was not what was described/pictured on the website. There was no separate sitting area and/or couch as shown both on the website and in the motel brochure - basically, we had a large room with a very uncomfortable (and dingy looking) upholstered chair in the corner - pretty dysfunctional for reading or relaxing, since there was no light near it. There was a fireplace in the room (not a high priority in Aug.) and the bathroom had a small Jacuzzi tub. When I questioned the desk clerk about the room, I was told that the motel was full and nothing could be done. So just a word of warning to be sure that you understand what you're reserving. "Suites" seems to come in several different varieties here!

As the motel is on the main highway, I had requested a room on the back side of the motel, but that request was not honored. If you stay here, I would still suggest trying to get a room on the back side of the property - it may be quieter than the one we had overlooking the parking lot and highway - very noisy, unless you kept the window closed and ran the A/C to muffle the sound of the traffic.

On the plus side, the employees are all very friendly and try to be as helpful as they can. There is free WiFi, and also a public use computer in the lobby. Our room had a microwave and a small fridge, which was nice. However, you have to request them and pay an additional fee for these in the standard rooms.

There is a complimentary continental breakfast, with the usual offerings - cereal, muffins, bagels. precooked eggs, and waffles. If you get there early enough, there is also fresh fruit.

The property itself is quite dated and could use a fair amount of "sprucing up". Overall, we did not have an enjoyable stay - in fact, we left a day early. For the prices charged, I would choose a different location if we visit this area again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heypaula717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2010

We've stayed at this hotel before and wanted to check it out again for an event next year. The hotel is well-maintained and comfortable. It gives access to both Glacier Park (about 30 miles) the shopping and restaurants of Whitefish. For the price it's a great choice. Our only issue was that we arrived a bit early and were told we could not check in until 3 pm. I travel often, and hotels will usually at least check to see if the room is ready for you. In this case, the desk clerk made no attempt to check and told us to return at 3. We also found that in the large room we had, there were no plugs near the table for our computers. We had to move the table against a far wall to be able to plus in.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BabyZoomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitefishreddog, Manager at Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2010

Thank you for staying at the Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge. I appreciate your comments. Regarding checking into a room before the 3 pm checkin time - we will check in early arriving guests as soon as we possibly can, but on the night before your arrivival all of our rooms were sold so the staff had to clean the entire hotel. We start cleaning the first rooms that check out. Most likely the reason we didn't have a room available early is that we did not have the room type that you reserved cleaned until close to 3 pm. It is definitely to our benefit as well as yours to check you in early if we can so that we don't have an entire lobby of guests checking in at the same time.
All of our rooms have very good high speed wireless internet service. We have 12 rooms that are also hard-wired. I sincerely apologize if you were unable to get a good connection. The Front Desk can sometimes help with that, and we also have a support number that can help.
I hope you will stay with us again.
Dennis Drumheller
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitefish
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Whitefish
0.9 mi away
The Firebrand Hotel
The Firebrand Hotel
#7 of 17 in Whitefish
169 reviews
5.9 mi away
Kandahar Lodge
Kandahar Lodge
#8 of 17 in Whitefish
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Flathead Lake Inn and Suites
11.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Kalispell, MT
17.8 mi away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge

Address: 6510 Highway 93 South, Whitefish, MT 59937
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Whitefish
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Whitefish
#3 Romantic Hotel in Whitefish
Price Range: £71 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose this comfortable and convenient hotel in Whitefish near many of northern Montana's great outdoor attractions.For travelers looking for quality hotel lodging accommodations near Whitefish Mountain Ski and Summer Resort, Glacier National Park, Flathead Lake, and Glacier International Airport, the Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge offers the ideal lodging location and experience. Guests can enjoy mountain views and the hotel's pleasant and relaxing mountain lodge atmosphere. Located in beautiful Whitefish in Montana's Flathead Valley the Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge also gives guests convenient access to outdoor sports and activities year-round, including: skiing, golfing, fishing, hiking, boating, whitewater rafting, kayaking, hunting and biking.The Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge offers guestrooms with king or queen size beds. Suites, featuring a fire place, jetted tub, and wet bar, are also available. This pet-friendly hotel has specially designated rooms available for guests who wish to travel with their dogs and/or cats. All rooms come fully equipped with cable satellite television and high speed internet access. A complimentary hot breakfast is served daily. Additional hotel amenities include an outdoor swimming pool, hot tub, fitness center, and a business center.Meeting rooms, banquet space, and conference services make this Montana retreat the perfect location for business activities and other small group events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rocky Mountain Hotel Whitefish
Best Western Whitefish
Whitefish Best Western
Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge Whitefish, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing