We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room is so bad and over price!!”
Review of Big Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Big Mountain Lodge
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Whitefish
1 review
“Room is so bad and over price!!”
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We stayed there with my family for 3 nights, we can't find the motel because there sign is so small. There room is so bad worst at all they don't vacum and I think they don't change the comforter. Breakfast is ok not to many choices the guy works there is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenlafa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    46
    31
    16
    9
See reviews for
41
34
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
BIG RAPIDS
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2011

AMTRAK came in late. Our two grandsons were really tired. The motel down the street had lost our reservation. We were rescued by the excellent staff at the Big Mountain Lodge. To quote our seven year old grandson, "The best thing that happened was those other guys lost our reservation and we got to stay at the Big Mountain Lodge!" We loved the pool and the kids thought that waterslide was the BEST! Our special thanks to your kind and friendly staff. If we return to Whitefish, we KNOW where to stay. The Big Mountain Lodge is great!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nancy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

We stayed in the Big Mountain Lodge in late July for two nights while we were visitng Glacier National Park and found it to be anything but a "lodge". It was hard to find because it is set back off of the road and the signage is small. The best I can say about the rooms are that they are adequate and clean. The lighting in the room was poor however the lighting in the bathroom was adequate. The security doors did not work at all; we found we could enter at any time without using our key card even though the signage indicated you needed the card after certain hours. Our room key card was temperamental also. During our two nights there I had to go to the front desk three times to get a new card so I could get in the room. The rooms are on the ground floor so you might get your wakeup call from someone packing up and starting their car at an early hour.

We found their breakfast to be very disappointing and low quality. Again, the dining area was clean and the staff kept things stocked.

The staff was friendly and minimally helpful. They explained that the property had been sold and the new owners had plans to upgrade and refurbish.

We booked the hotel because it was less expensive than other "lodges" in the area. Fortunately we didn't spend much time in the room so a clean shower and bed were enough. If all you are looking for is adequate then this will fill the bill but I would recommend shopping the other hotels in the area before booking this one.

Room Tip: If you decide to stay there make sure you are clear about your needs or desires when you make your r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Westolytravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Whitefish hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

I am really glad that i got the business rate on this 'establishment'. Where to begin? Let's start with the pool...that was one of the features that wasnt renovated. Waterslide is a rickety thing from the 60'ies...oh, and watch your head if you are taller than 5 feet. Good news, they have two newer hot tubs outside. Back to the bad, they have no elevators!!! Overall, this facility looks like it used to be a cheap motel that got a basic facelift.

Our room was supposed to be a family suite. Well, maybe I had the wrong idea, but I wasn't thinking of one room with no divider to where the kids were sleeping. Oh, nice surprise was the missing shower curtain...

Breakfast was rather standard and reminded me a lot of Holiday Inn Express, just a bit less offering. Overall, I saw many touches of Holiday Inn everywhere.

I want to finish with some good news: the staff is great; very friendly and always ready to help.

My take: go and book yourself in another hotel, if there is availability!

Room Tip: book with corporate credit card to get discount then pay with personal card;
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbug1canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, Il
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Our family stayed here for 4 days in July. We had a great stay at this clean hotel. The staff was very nice and accommodating to our needs. Our children loved the pool with the slide, and spent many nights in it! My husband and I enjoyed the two hot tubs outside! We would defiantly recommend this hotel and are planning on going back soon and staying here again!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eshes246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Big Mountain Lodge for 2 nights during our 7 day trip to Glacier National Park. The hotel had a continental breakfast that offered coffee, juice, cereal, various mini muffins, and toast. The breakfast also had scrambled eggs and pork sausage patties. The staff was very friendly but the guests staying in the hotel were. . .lets just say . . . interesting. Although the hotel is a nonsmoking hotel, we noticed that the guests staying in the room next to us were smoking. We were on our way out so we didn't bring this matter to the attention of the hotel staff and by the time we got back from a long day of hiking the smoke smell had gone away. The hotel has a big water slide and swimming pool that children seemed to be enjoying. The beds were comfortable but nothing special. The hotel is in a good location, about a 5-10 minute drive from downtown Whitefish. Its about 35-40 minutes from the West Glacier Park entrance.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PNB1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Falls, Montana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2011

This hotel is about as low quality as they come. Do not be fooled by the nice pictures, its a dump. This place charges the same as the higher ends resorts in town, but I'd bet the Hotel 6 in town was nicer. I would give them zero stars if I could. This place also scams money. They gave me 4 different room rates and has now charged me $36 more than the rate that the room was advertised for, and that doesn't include room tax. STAY ANYPLACE IN TOWN OTHER THAN THIS!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jsmith1147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitefish hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Whitefish
0.3 mi away
Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge
1.3 mi away
The Firebrand Hotel
The Firebrand Hotel
#7 of 17 in Whitefish
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Kandahar Lodge
Kandahar Lodge
#8 of 17 in Whitefish
313 reviews
0.8 mi away
Stumptown Inn of Whitefish
Stumptown Inn of Whitefish
#14 of 17 in Whitefish
98 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pine Lodge
Pine Lodge
#5 of 17 in Whitefish
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Mountain Lodge

Property: Big Mountain Lodge
Address: 6390 US Highway 93 S, Whitefish, MT 59937-8235
Region: United States > Montana > Whitefish
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Whitefish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Big Mountain Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Big Mountain lodge Whitefish Hotel is a 100% non-smoking hotel. Whitefish, Montana is the perfect vacation destination for your visit to Glacier National Park or Whitefish Mountain Resort. For the family, we have our indoor pool, and two outdoor hot tubs, and a variety of restaurants, and shopping within walking distance. Free high-speed internet access in all guest rooms (DSL and wireless internet access). Also, a business computer in the lobby with access to printers, copier, and fax. Generous breakfast bar with, fresh fruit, bagels, yogurt and lots more! We also offer shuttle service for pick up and drop off at the airport for a small fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Big Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Mountain Hotel Whitefish
Holiday Inn Whitefish
Whitefish Holiday Inn Express
Big Mountain Lodge Whitefish, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing