We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Ski Vacation Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Big Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Big Mountain Lodge
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Whitefish
Wetaskiwin, Canada
1 review
“Great Ski Vacation Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2011

My wife, 2 daughters and I stayed at the Big Mountain Lodge under their "stay and play special" ($65/night tax included) for a recent ski trip. This was incredible value given the comfortable room, hot tubs, pool with water slide and the very good hot breakfast. The staff were friendly, accomodating and courteous. This hotel exceeded our expectations. We will be recommending the Big Mountain Lodge to others and we will be returning.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seize_Today13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    43
    31
    16
    9
See reviews for
40
33
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cody, Wyoming
Level Contributor
190 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2011

We really enjoyed our stay. We booked it mainly for the waterslide and pool but the water slide was down due to a pump failure (they told us up front when booking) but it was great anyway. We were able to have friends over and their kids swam with our kids and we were able to use the breakfast room and prepare our own dinner and have a nice evening visiting! :) The rooms were nice and clean, updated and comfy! Breakfast was nice, lots of choices and nice touches.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bonniebo40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2011

I expected a run-down beat-up motel from some of the reviews I saw here. We were very pleasantly surprised. We had a bit of difficulty finding it late at night because it's up the hill off of the road, but the nice person at the front desk directed us right to it. Even though it was late when we got there, my husband had some business to take care of and was able to get everything taken care of using the guest computer, printer, and fax. Breakfast was fine and we had no problem with any of the staff.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GwenG28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modesto, California
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2011

Don't stay here if you want basic customer service. The owner/staff is rude and there are other places to stay in the area. We left!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank urdrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Whitefish hotels

San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2010

My husband and I stayed here for two nights. We didn't know what to expect and were pleasantly surprised. The pool, which is the warmest pool I've ever been in, has a water slide, and it's the fastest water slide I've even been on for the length! It was so much fun! When we wanted to use it, it was turned off, but the staff was quick to turn it on for us so we could get a few rides in. The pool is super warm, so probably not great if you want to swim laps, but great if you just want to hang out and play. There's also two outdoor hot tubs, which was nice. They are in the parking lot on a built-up platform, but I'd rather be able to sit in a hot tub under the stars than inside the building any day. The beds were really comfy and our room, on the second floor, was very quiet. This hotel doesn't have an elevator, so it was a little inconvenient to carry our big heavy suitcases up the stairs (we were in town for a week), but not a huge deal. The hotel is just a 5 minute drive to the heart of Whitefish with all the great restaurants and cute stores. We didn't eat the included breakfast either day, but it looked like a pretty good variety. The staff here was really friendly and helpful the whole stay. The one negative we encountered was the free wi-fi. Every time we tried to use it, it was REALLY slow and we sometimes couldn't connect. If we called down to the front desk, they would reset the modem and once it worked just fine, but a couple of other times it was just too slow to be worth it. So don't plan on getting a lot of internet-based work done due to slow speeds.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaMaLiPi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2010

So it's cheap, and that's what you get. For a short stop for limited budget it's fine.we don't have kids but I can imagine that the old waterslide and pool keeps them busy. One big complaint, breakfast area is way too small, crowded and too hot. We ended up bringing breakfast to our room; Just grab a tray and bring it with you (tip)
Place is Located near the higway, which is convenient. Great that they have jacuzzi's but why stick them in the parking lot

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whatever1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2010

If you have kids and you're passing through Whitefish, MT---this is the budget hotel for you. Free breakfast, free internet, and the only hotel in the area with a huge water slide at the indoor pool. Room was clean, staff friendly---when we went to use the pool the pump for the water slide was turned off-they immediately restarted it for us. They dropped their affiliation with Holiday Inn back in June, but that has no effect on quality.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank like_national_parks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitefish hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Whitefish
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rocky Mountain Lodge
1.3 mi away
The Firebrand Hotel
The Firebrand Hotel
#7 of 16 in Whitefish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Kandahar Lodge
Kandahar Lodge
#8 of 16 in Whitefish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pine Lodge
Pine Lodge
#5 of 16 in Whitefish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
#2 of 16 in Whitefish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Mountain Lodge

Property: Big Mountain Lodge
Address: 6390 US Highway 93 S, Whitefish, MT 59937-8235
Region: United States > Montana > Whitefish
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Whitefish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Big Mountain Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Big Mountain lodge Whitefish Hotel is a 100% non-smoking hotel. Whitefish, Montana is the perfect vacation destination for your visit to Glacier National Park or Whitefish Mountain Resort. For the family, we have our indoor pool, and two outdoor hot tubs, and a variety of restaurants, and shopping within walking distance. Free high-speed internet access in all guest rooms (DSL and wireless internet access). Also, a business computer in the lobby with access to printers, copier, and fax. Generous breakfast bar with, fresh fruit, bagels, yogurt and lots more! We also offer shuttle service for pick up and drop off at the airport for a small fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Big Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Mountain Hotel Whitefish
Holiday Inn Whitefish
Whitefish Holiday Inn Express
Big Mountain Lodge Whitefish, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing