We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor value in summer”
Review of Kandahar Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kandahar Lodge
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Whitefish
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Our family of 5 stayed here in mid June to access Glacier's West side. To the positive, the room had 3 beds so no one had to use a pull out. There were negatives, though. First, if you are not there for skiing, the lodge is located 7 miles up the mountain and away from all the restaurants and shopping. The breakfast was meager and the staff not very friendly. The room was small and the shower was weak. The kicker for me was after spending $300 per night including taxes and "fees", they don't even make the beds for you. They did give us new towels, but that was about it. For much less, I am sure, you could stay in one of the many lodges in town and have a better experience.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Appletonkents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (332)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 332 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2013

The Kandahar Lodge is a good news/bad news sort of place.

First the bad news; The walls are pretty thin, fortunately the children in the next room went to sleep pretty early. The breakfast was barely adequate, most of the items could have been obtained at a local convenience store.

Now the good news; The bed was very comfortable, we slept well. The location is excellent, close to lift with easy access. The lobby has a beautiful fire place and is a great place to relax. Cafe Kandahar is a great restaurant. The hotel was very clean.

Overall Kandahar Lodge is a good place to enjoy a ski trip to Whitefish. By upgrading breakfast the overall experience could be significantly improved.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grizfamily1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We stayed 3 nights here during Spring Break week. This is a great place to stay for a ski vacation at Whitefish Mountain. We really enjoyed the spacious, well decorated lobby. Service was good. We were in a 3rd floor loft room, which was very spacious and we did not have any problems with noise. The downside was that it was quite a climb to our room, which was not the best after a day on the slopes. Breakfast was nothing fancy, but quite adequate for us. The place was showing its' age a bit, but overall it was a good experience! Would stay here again.

Room Tip: If you don't need a loft room (which are all on the 3rd floor), then request a first floor room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

I stayed in February, 2013. The lodge is located very close to the 'village' and is an easy walk for dinner. I never ate in the restaurant but had few drinks in the bar and found that to be very enjoyable. (Dillon is one of the most knowledgeable bartenders I have ever met) Everyone at the resort was very friendly and exceedingly helpful.
You can buy your ski passes at the front desk and the morning shuttle is very easy to use. No problem with the hotel being situated a little off the slopes. The hotel can be reached from the slopes on skis at the end of the day, so it is more convenient than I expected.
i would definitely stay here again, if I return to Whitefish.

Room Tip: The hot tub and gym are on the East side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gregrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We are very pleased with our well-equipped suite and helpful staff, BUT the room is sooooooo noisy. The first night young men were on the front porch (directly under our window) smoking cigars and having a very loud conversation, both of which drifted through the window air conditioner as though the window were wide open, until my husband spoke with them. Again two extremely loud groups hung out on the front porch at 12:30 am and again at 3:00 am. Around 6:00 am the staff use a service garage door several times. Maybe the lodge needs to issue ear plugs to guests.

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs for sleeping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kath_y7915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

This was my second stay at the Fabulous Kandahar Lodge. Loved the room, the slope side accommodation (ski in/ski out) and the oversized hot tub. This year and last the staff was so low key, so helpful and accommodating, that My ski buddy and I will come back again.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

5 of us stayed for 4 nights at the end of January 2013. The hotel is in a good location, you can ski to the door & has a shuttle van that will take you & pick you up from pretty much anywhere at the resort. Everyone at the hotel was super friendly & helpful - this applies to everywhere we went in Whitefish - & couldn't do enough to help.
The complimentary breakfast was very good, the muffins & cakes were really fresh & delicious - even for breakfast!
The lobby has a roaring log fire to relax in front of after a day on the slopes & there is a small bar.
All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay & were sad to leave

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitefish
5.9 mi away
Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge
5 mi away
The Firebrand Hotel
The Firebrand Hotel
#7 of 17 in Whitefish
176 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Whitefish
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
336 reviews
17.5 mi away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
372 reviews
3.5 mi away
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
#3 of 17 in Whitefish
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kandahar Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kandahar Lodge

Address: 3824 Big Mountain Rd, P.O. Box 278, Whitefish, MT 59937-8624
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Whitefish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Whitefish
Price Range: £103 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kandahar Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kandahar Lodge is a rustic, yet elegant lodge located at Whitefish Mountain Resort, 7 miles north of Whitefish and 32 miles from the west entrance of Glacier National Park. The Lodge has 50 rooms, a fully licensed bar and a gourmet restaurant that serves dinner only. A continental breakfast is included in the rates. The lovely lobby has a wood burning fireplace, free WIFI and comfortable couches and chairs. Other amenities include a large outdoor hot tub, steam room, exercise room and massage treatment room. The rooms all have queen beds, down comforters, microwaves, small refrigerators and a/c. Kandahar is open from the first week of December to the first week of April (ski season) and June 1 through September 30. The Lodge opens to prearranged groups of 20 or more in the spring and fall ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Kandahar Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kandahar Hotel Whitefish
Kandahar Lodge Whitefish, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing