We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfect winter retreat” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kandahar Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kandahar Lodge
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Whitefish
Certificate of Excellence
Fernie, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“perfect winter retreat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

Great location on the hill at whitefish - ski back to the lodge across the car park to pick up the runs or grab a free courtesy shuttle in the mornings
Nice continental breakfast roaring fires - hot tub and a real rustic mountain lodge feel and a perfect snug bar add to the charm and oh the restaurant you must try as a treat

Only issue for us was our room was over the front of the lodge and the sound proofing was not great from the noise from reception areas and the snow clearing in the morning - but if they are clearing snow that's the reason we are there !
Friendly staff too - recommended

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeyj2xs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    88
    51
    19
    6
See reviews for
106
106
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

My wife and I were really looking forward to staying at Kandahar Lodge, although, on reflection, not that much because our first choice of hotel in Whitefish was The Lodge, which was full. But it seemed - from 4,000 miles away - to be an adequate substitute. Not so. The hotel is 5 miles up a mountain road which would be fine if there were any views from its windows; there are not - except for trees - because it is located in a dip. In our case, the panorama was of another accommodation block! The room itself was curious - with dim lights and a double bed so high, we had to stand on a settee to get into it. Honestly! The hotel looks what it is: a ski lodge in a ski village. At the beginning of July, the 'village' is a ghost town. The only place we could find open - of any kind, let alone in which to eat - was the Hell Roaring Restaurant (not as scary as it sounds) which does have a view - but down the valley not of Whitefish itself or its beautiful lake. The pub-like meal was OK. But it just as well that it was there because the much-vaunted Cafe Kandahar was closed on the night we arrived (July 3) AND on July 4! Can you believe that? To add to our dining woes, the bar meal service closed at 7pm on July 3 (we arrived at past 6 o'clock) and the bar was shut on the evening of July 4. We had dinner on July 4 at The Lodge at Whitefish - big party atmosphere and fireworks over the lake - and the whole experience was lovely but it only served to prove how much happier we would have been staying in this lovely lakeside hotel and not halfway up a lonely mountain in a deserted ski village. A disappointing start to our 5,000 mile road odyssey of the north west USA.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stourbridgeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

This is a beautiful place, near the top of the ski mountain in Whitefish. We were there in mid-summer, and did the zip line trail available at the ski area.

The lodge itself is very attractive, and our room was beautiful. Very comfortable bed. The restaurant is very high-end, but the food matched the price. The continental breakfast in the morning is quite reasonable.

Whitefish is a great town, and the lodge is about a 10-15 minute pleasant drive away.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barry j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

First: Kandahar Lodge is located in the Mountain resort area of White fish, about 15 minutes drive from downtown White fish. The kitchen loft that this lodge offers is very small. They sell it as suitable for a family of 5. It is very tight. I don't know what is the situation in the winter, but for summer - you can get very nice and spacey condominiums at the ski area, right next door to Kandahar, for less money. And btw- they don't have milk and cereals in breakfast (!!!)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hidey_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

If you've ever seen Hot Tub Time Machine then you should stay here....and I mean that in the best way possible.
Keep in mind we visited in June on our way to Glacier, not during ski season. The hotel is at base camp up the mountain from Whitefish. Driving up the road gives you some great views of town, the lake and wildlife (deer!).
We arrived and were greeted by a very nice man who explained everything we needed to know about the hotel including the fact there was no elevator, there was free wifi, and the location of the outdoor hot tub (Amazing!!)
We stayed in the Garrett room which is a small but less expensive room than the others. I was surprised at the fact that it still had plenty of room for the two of us and the bed was very comfortable! The bathroom shower was a stall shower but there was good water pressure so I was happy.
The bar was humming at night and it is nice that you can take our drinks out into the lobby - which was quite large with a fireplace, multiple couches and comfy leather chairs. We heard the restaurant was great but decided to eat in town.
If we come back through this way I would totally consider staying here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Garrett room which is a smaller room but a cheaper price - if there are only two of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kateypdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013 via mobile

The lodge is a bit dated and needs an update. The rooms needed a good cleaning. The beds were comfortable and the breakfast was very good. The staff was friendly and helpful. The restaurant is great for dinner.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

We stayed here for three nights, in what is effectively a mini suite/studio with a good sized kitchen (cooker, fridge, microwave, cupboards, everything you might need to cook a meal) and comfy sofa from which you could watch the quality TV (the equipment, not the programmes).

Excellent bed, lots of space and air con that worked well.

The only slight downside was that we were there out of season, so the highly recommended and favourably reviewed cafe was not open yet. However, our buffet breakfast was more than adequate, and we were very well looked after by Ross and Mark on reception. Good value for money, a fantastic location, and everything good quality. The wellness centre looked good as well, but we only used the hot tub which was generously sized and very hot! Highly recommended and a great experience for us.

Oh, one thing I should mention; it's a small point but shows attention to detail. The bed had a thick quilt which was too hot so we took it off and substituted a blanket. When we came back after our trip out the next day, the bed was made the way we liked it, with the blanket. So many hotels we have stayed in feel that the is only one way to make the bed, so whatever you do, they revert to the standard format. Full marks to the team at Kandahar.

Room Tip: We had room 214 which was very convenient for the hot tub, but any rooms from 211 to maybe 220 would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1nv1ctaH0g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitefish
5.0 mi away
The Firebrand Hotel
The Firebrand Hotel
#7 of 16 in Whitefish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
5.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rocky Mountain Lodge
17.5 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
3.5 mi away
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
#2 of 16 in Whitefish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
9.4 mi away
Meadow Lake Resort
Meadow Lake Resort
#1 of 4 in Columbia Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kandahar Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kandahar Lodge

Property: Kandahar Lodge
Address: 3824 Big Mountain Rd, P.O. Box 278, Whitefish, MT 59937
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Whitefish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Whitefish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kandahar Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kandahar Lodge is a rustic, yet elegant lodge located at Whitefish Mountain Resort, 7 miles north of Whitefish and 32 miles from the west entrance of Glacier National Park. The Lodge has 50 rooms, a fully licensed bar and a gourmet restaurant that serves dinner only. A continental breakfast is included in the rates. The lovely lobby has a wood burning fireplace, free WIFI and comfortable couches and chairs. Other amenities include a large outdoor hot tub, steam room, exercise room and massage treatment room. The rooms all have queen beds, down comforters, microwaves, small refrigerators and a/c. Kandahar is open from the first week of December to the first week of April (ski season) and June 1 through September 30. The Lodge opens to prearranged groups of 20 or more in the spring and fall ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Kandahar Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kandahar Hotel Whitefish
Kandahar Lodge Whitefish, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing